Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 52 reviews
on May 22, 2008
Storm Warning is a movie about what happens when a couple stumble across a family of drug harvesting Australian redneck sociopaths.
If you like revenge movies with guts and I mean that literally..you will LOVE Storm Warning.

The previews do it no justice neither does the cover art.
You have poppy and his 2 sex crazed sons, they have an obviously worn out Blow up doll in the living room like it's something everyone has lying around .

Of course one of the brothers is more stupid than the other giving the smarter one the power to rule the roost until poppy "the father" wakes up and when Poppy wakes up all bets are off,Even the sons wince at the sound of his voice ...
Some of the scenes are so gory and well done it really earned it's Unrated status.
The redneck family lock the couple in the barn after humiliating them both in the house.
While in the barn 'Pia' the captive woman comes up with some clever ways to counter attack when they decide to come back and get her seeing as her husband is badly injured with a broken leg that was inflicted by the 2 freaks earlier.
What ensues next is a pure action packed blood drenched revenge filled explosion,full of glorious gore!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2013
As warped as this family was, in some ways, you can't help but feel sorry for these brothers. They were definitely a product of their very unfortunate upbringing. The plot was extremely tense and once the couple ends up at the farm house, things move along at a fast and furious pace. You barely have time to catch your breath, and I was squirming in my seat several times with a mixture of anxiety and fear. I wasn't impressed with Robert's character or his portrayal, but it was really refreshing to see such a strong and capable female lead in a horror movie--and David Lyons gave an absolutely stunning performance as the deranged Jimmy. Even the dog was chilling in this movie. Definitely worth watching!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2013
I must admit I didn't have high expectations for this movie but boy, was I wrong. Finally, a female lead who takes these backwoods rapist wannabees by their balls and shows them who the real victims are. The kills in this movie are so over the top & so extreme that you have to love em. The contraption she builds is so gruesome and terrorizing that I actually cheered for her! Hooray for a new breed of women in the horror genre!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2014
If you like your horror films nasty get this one. After a slow start and a Texas Chainsaw mid section, the good guys find some backbone and the film takes off into the territory of a great movie. Will the good guys have what it takes to escape from the crazed Aussie hillbillies?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 3, 2008
Storm Warning has allot going against it before you even put it in the DVD player. First off, it's directed by the man that brought us Urban Legend and Valentine, both forgettable horror dreck to be sure. Next, it was released under Dimension Extreme, the new DVD line that features horror movies deemed too... well, "extreme" for their regular label catalog and has(at least so far) been underwhelming to say the least(although with upcoming releases of Inside and Automaton Tranfusion, things are looking up). Lastly, it features an uninspired title and generic cover that thankfully aren't signs of the quality of the actual film within. The movie itself takes the oft-used(and yet always solid) formula of pitting good civilized people against a group of filthy backwood folk. With the premise set, the question is posed, "just how far will they go to survive?" There really isn't much more to go into as far as the plot is concerned, the movie is incredibly tight and moves along nicely without any drags(a perfect 82 minute runtime). Now what really sets this film apart from most of the other similiarly plotted direct-to-DVD releases(including Dimension Extremes first title Broken) is just how well the movie is put together. This film doesn't feel like a low budget B movie(don't worry though, it is!) with it's surprisingly excellent direction(including some incredibly striking location shots) and musical score. Likewise the entire cast shows up and delivers nicely, especially for this type of picture. No doubt a very polished film, but let's be realistic here... the real star of the film is the gore! It's a case of quality over quantity with only a few deaths delivered on screen, but boy are they gruesome and leave very little to the imagination(including a head bashing via hammer that was down right awe-inspiring!). Who knew the director had this in him!? If he had filled his previous efforts with this type of material he would probably already be a hero amongst the horror community... better late than never I suppose. There is one major flaw that kept this from being an instant classic though(for me at least), and that's the inability to ever deliver any real scares or even a sense of dread throughout. It just feels like the protagonists are going to get the upper hand on their captors from the very start. That probably isn't entirely the movies fault(when you've watched the same plot as many times as I have...), yet the vitims here are rather tamely exploited at best(the guy is insulted for driving a Volvo and gets his knee busted, while the female is forced to kill a baby kangaroo and show her bare butt?) so the threat of their safety never seems that high. The really great revenge films(i.e. Last House On The Left, I Spit On Your Grave, Mother's Day) have always provided a much more sinister give and take between victim and perpetrator before the tables are eventually turned. Still though, an entertaining time that's worth a watch for the finale alone(that delivers the gruesome goods). As an added bonus, if you detest men for any reason at all, you'll be happy to find that all of them here are either spineless worms or complete unmoralistic savages... women on the other hand, are smart, crafty, sexy heroes(sounds about right I guess)!
1515 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2016
love Robert taylor in all movies or shows, especially as logmire.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2008
This is a great jump-out-of-your seat horror/thriller with originality that just builds and builds up the tension until you just have to clutch something in your hands until the very end! Some great original ideas are implemented by this couple in their fight for survival! This also shows you just how easily you can get yourself into a really bad situation that's not so simple to get out of...if you can.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2010
Some sick muthas that never got many hugs from mommy and certainly don't deserve to be hugged now. They needed killing from the day they were born. This may suit your mood exactly. Sorta Aussie does Hollywood, but that aint so easy to do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 2, 2010
I was seduced to watch this movie by two factors. The first was the premise of an edgy revenge flick. The second was some of the critical acclaim here in the Amazon forum. I was able to get my talons on this exploitation flick for a good price. However, after the movie was over I felt mildly let down. This movie was directed by Jamie Blanks, who directed the original "Urban Legend". I thought "Urban Legend" sucked, so in my very, very humble opinion promoting this movie with a conduit to "Urban Legend" did nothing for me. For what it is worth, this movie is leap and bounds better than "Urban Legend".

The premise of the film isn't very original at all, but that is okay. I didn't watch this film for the ground breaking story. Basically a couple rents a boat and ends up taking refugee on an island to avoid a very nasty storm. Once on the island they discover a house and a greenhouse that is growing some "wacky tobaccy", marijuana. The proprietors of this house are a father and his two sons. Needless to say this is an extremely twisted family and they end up torturing this couple. Then the couple must fight back.

My qualms with this movie is the pace, it is dreadfully slow. Going into this film I knew what to expect so the build up really didn't do much for me. I don't mind waiting for things to develop, but I felt the development was incredibly sluggish. As for the acting, it was pretty solid. The good guys were one dimensional but believable. The bad guys were disgusting and one dimensional. For this type of movie, I am totally fine with these types of characters.

The majority of the film the couple is locked up in a barn with myriad tools and what not at their disposal. This wouldn't have been a problem if they were tied up or if one of the villains stayed with them. However, leaving the couple alone with enough time to plan their revenge was lame. It was as cliché as when a villain tells the hero his/her master plan before he/she kills them, but forgets the knot on the rope isn't tight enough. As for how Nadia Farès' character became MacGyver is still a conundrum to me.

Notwithstanding, when the action happens it is gruesome and brutal. I did find this rather gratifying and I think any horror/gore junkie would agree. There is a scene with a kangaroo that is a bit amiss. However, with only five characters and the long-winded pace of the film the action and horror wasn't enough to make this a master piece.

I think that many horror fans should watch this movie, it has some great scenes and it is entertaining. However, for people who are new to this genre I would suggest some other films before seeing this one. "I Spit On Your Grave (Millennium Edition)", "While She Was Out" and "Eden Lake" are an excellent place to start. Overall, I am sure I will give this movie a spin again, who knows maybe I will like it more the second time. I will have a blast making my girlfriend watching this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2010
The director of the teen-friendly "Urban Legend" delivers this awesomely intense, visceral, blood-soaked revenge slasher about a lost couple's encounter with a family of sadistic cretins in the Oz outback.
One of the finest slashers of the past decade.
Who'd have thought he had it in him?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$6.24

Need customer service? Click here