Digital List Price: $0.99
Kindle Price: $0.00

Save $12.95 (100%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Sea of Storms (Sci-Fi Adventure) (Lodestone Book 1) by [Whiteway, Mark]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

The Sea of Storms (Sci-Fi Adventure) (Lodestone Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 185 customer reviews
Book 1 of 6 in Lodestone (6 Book Series)
See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$0.00

Escape with a great book this Labor Day
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Review

The weight of many voices...
By Tim Greaton on November 2, 2012
"It seems almost silly to add yet another sterling review to this introductory novel in the Lodestone series. However, sometimes a book is just so overwhelmingly deserving of the time and attention that it just can't be helped...
In the tradition of Larry Niven, Ben Bova and JRR Tolkien, Mark Whiteway has created a huge, series-worthy plot that carries his readers breathlessly toward a conclusion that is satisfying... but not quite complete. For that epic conclusion, we all gladly move on to Book Two.
A wonderful novel. I give it my highest recommendation."

From the Author

Rising from the remnants of a shattered civilization, the native people of the planet Kelanni begin to discover the technology left behind by their ancient forebears. So begins the epic adventure of the award winning Lodestone Series...

The science in Lodestone is based on the concept of 'negative matter', as theorised by Dr Robert Forward,  Hermann Bondi and others. 
  
Those interested in the science aspects behind the story may wish to check out the following papers, as well as the article 'The Power of Negative Matter' by Robert Forward in the 17 March 1990 issue of New Scientist. 
Bondi, H. "Negative Mass in General Relativity," Reviews of Modern Physics, Vol. 29, No.3, July 1957, pp. 423-428.
Winterberg, F. "On Negative Mass Propulsion," International Astronautical Federation, Paper 89-668, 40th Congress of the International Astronautical Federation, Malaga, Spain, Oct., 1989.
Forward, R. L. "Negative Matter Propulsion", Journal of Propulsion and Power (AIAA), Vol. 6, No. 1, Jan.-Feb. 1990, pp. 28-37.

Product Details

  • File Size: 1041 KB
  • Print Length: 282 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1477646507
  • Publisher: Mark Whiteway; 1 edition (December 18, 2013)
  • Publication Date: December 18, 2013
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B005BU9KJ6
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #23,565 Free in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Free in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
As an indie book reviewer, I come across a lot of, um, less than stellar fiction. Then, once in a while, I come across a self-published book like The Sea of Storms and I am reminded of why I do this in the first place. Planet Kelanni has three suns: a white and yellow that move across the sky much like our own Sun, and a large, dim, red sun that never moves, in much the same way as the Earth doesn't when viewed from the Moon. The inhabitants of this planet, though never described in detail, are (presumably) humanoid creatures ruled by a mysterious Prophet and his Keltar emissaries who routinely collect citizens as "tributes," never to be seen again. A young girl named Shann joins two men - Lyall and Alondo - in their quest to overthrow the Prophet and free the tributes. Meanwhile, forbidding Keltar Keris receives shocking information from the strange, somewhat beetle-like creatures known as Chandara, information that turns her world completely upside-down. Woven throughout the drama is a mysterious and precious mineral known as lodestone.

Though the book's title is somewhat misleading - the Sea of Storms is not actually reached until the last few pages - the story itself is quite good. The action is well-paced and the world is solidly constructed. I especially liked that while there were creatures clearly meant to stand in for familiar animals such as dogs and horses, nothing was described in comparison with Earth since, obviously, the Kelanni know nothing of Earth. Shann, Keris, Lyall, and Alondo are engaging characters, easily distinguishable without relying on stereotypes. Oliah came out of left-field, making her relationship with the leads rather unbelievable, but her appearance is so brief I can almost ignore it.
Read more ›
5 Comments 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
Concept/World
This is a complex world both physically and culturally. Physically it has three suns, mysterious lodestones and a variety of alien creatures. Culturally it is almost medieval in feel, dominated by a tyrannical religion. The concept of the book is almost more fantasy than science fiction. I would have been perfectly happy to accept the lodestones as magical and wasn't entirely convinced by the scientific explanation of the lodestones or by the science underlying the "storm barrier". It is a mark of the quality of the writing, however, that I didn't start to question the scientific feasibility of the storm barrier until I was reading it for the second time, analytically, for review.

Story
The plot moves along at a good pace. There are surprises and mysteries that kept me reading late into the night to find out what was going to happen. There was one inconsistency that poked me in the eye - Shann is described as riding a graylesh early in the story and then later has to learn to ride one because it says she's never ridden one before. That did stop me reading as I had to go back then and check that I'd read it right the first time.

Characters
The characters are a great strength of this book. The Kelanni are not human but think and behave like humans. I really liked Shann to begin with though she became a rather whiny adolescent in her rivalry with Keris, a tormented soul with fierce combat skills. Lyall reminded me of Don Quixote, a would-be hero who just doesn't quite have the skills to pull it off. I liked Alonso and his dry humour. My favourite, however, was Boxx, truly alien in the way that he/it thinks. I loved his/its cryptic pronouncements, baffling the heck out of everyone else.
Read more ›
2 Comments 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I commend the author on creating a unique world with imaginative characters that aren't human, although they might as well be -- their basic social interaction is similar to other adventure novels peopled with humans. Other reviewers have given good summaries of the characters and the events, so I won't. I wanted to give this book four stars, but I had difficulty immersing myself in the story because of some writing issues.

My first problem was with too many passive sentences: The door was locked. The light was dimmed. I also had a problem with the point of view. In an early scene, a main character is in a room by herself, her back to the door, when suddenly (an overused term) two figures burst in with weapons raised. She takes one of them out with her elbow without turning around. But, I asked myself, if her back is turned, how does she know there are two enemies, and not three cleaning women with mops raised? The POV changes often, but that can be forgiven.

The use of italics was a real problem for me. They were used, and overused, for three purposes: to reveal thoughts (Should I be doing this?), to reveal significant events (Suddenly she heard footsteps), and when characters spoke loudly or emphatically (I will not tell you again!). Because italics normally reveals thoughts from the POV character, when I read four straight paragraphs of characters conversing in italics to each other, I began to feel as though they were communicating telepathically. I'm not sure I will go on to the next book, but I hope the author improves his craft.

A fun read, but it could have used some workshopping.
Comment 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews