Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 220 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 379 reviews
on March 15, 2016
This is my second favourite movie of all time. That being said, beating my first favourite movie of all time would take something close to an act of God, because "The Thing" will never, ever be beaten. Ever. But I digress...

This an amazing buy. I'd only ever seen it on my father's VHS copy a long time ago, and the difference is quite phenomenal when watching it on a 4K TV with a remastered Blu-ray copy. Kudos to Amazon for finally allowing me to find this film again after all this time. It's a rare and difficult find here in Australia. I'm not quite sure what more to add. I'd ramble on about the plot and how much of an underrated Hitchcock movie this is, but there are probably thousands of reviews on IMDb where you can read all about that. This is simply to review the product in HD as it is being sold here and you are considering for purchase. I will say, though, that if ever there was a man capable of putting to film extremely awkward and dysfunctional relationships between a mother and son, it was Alfred Hitchcock. It makes me cringe every time I watch it. As far as buying it goes, If you're a hitchcock fan, don't even hesitate. If you're not a Hitchcock fan, well, still don't even hesitate unless you are aggressively biased against black and white cinema. A worthy buy for any movie afficiando, in my humble opinion.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2016
This movie is brilliant. It is nail-biting and one of Hitchcock's best. The acting is great and the plot is great too. This movie, like most Hitchcock movies, is not very violent but still manages to keep you at the edge of your seat. Guy Haines, a tennis player wants to divorce is wife. His wife doesn't like him but doesn't want to divorce him. When Guy is on a train, a man named Bruno sits next to him. Bruno has a crazy proposition: Bruno will kill Guy's wife and Guy will kill Bruno's father and no one will suspect. Guy thinks he's crazy and leaves. But then, Bruno kills Guy's wife and expects Guy to kill Bruno's father. And, Guy is the number one suspect of his wife's murder.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2016
A classic Hitchcock thriller. Tennis chap Guy Haines meets dissipated playboy bruno antony on a train and they get to talking about their troubles.
Seems Bruno knows a good bit about Guys woes with his wife wanting to dump him for another beau and his new attraction to another woman. Bruno too has his dismay with his demanding father. He puts out a suggestion that they swap murders so neither one of them look suspicious because there would be no motive for them wanting to kill a perfect stranger they did not know. Guy thinks Bruno is not serious and dismisses him thinking he will never see him again after the little train ride. But he is wrong. He does visit and trail the wife around and strangles her in a park. He then comes to Guy expecting him to oblige him with the murder of his father. Guy thinks he is insane and tries to get him out of his life, but Bruno is sticking to his wishes and begans to approach the people he knows showing up in uninvited places to put pressure on Guy. Bruno, Robert Walker, is especially memorable as a psychopath who doesn't understand why annoying people shouldn't be murdered. There is also a great merry-go-round crash scene.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2016
I purchased this after seeing that Aunt Clara from bewitched was in this movie. I love older movies and this one is a keeper. I have watched this twice and hope to get to watch it again this weekend. If you enjoy a mystery type of movie and don't mind the old black and white movies then grab this and see if this is not better than some of the garbage on tv now days.

I have a good collection of old movies and shows and this one is good enough to sit and watch with my dad. I don't have to worry of language and that is a plus for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2011
As a movie buff and ardent fan of Alfred Hitchcock and his movies, I see "Strangers on a Train" as a defining moment in the first level of Hitchcock's great movie making career. Here is Hitchcock as he wanted to be in previous works such as "The Lady Vanishes", and "39 Steps", "Saboteur", and "The Man who Knew Too Much (1934)."

When two strangers meet on a train, it can not be a simple matter to create dialogue that moves the conversation to murder, yet Hitchcock does just that. Bruno (Robert Walker) discovers the mutual need (for murder) and suggests doing each others murder, but Guy Haines, a tennis star (Farley Granger), simply humors the demented Bruno. As Guy shrugs off the idea, Bruno swallows the thought that Guy Haines is willing.

All of the above occurs in the opening eight or nine minutes.

Masterfully dialogued!!

With the plot set, the suspense is bound to flow.

Pat Hitchcock plays a supporting role as the daughter of a prominent senator (Leo G. Carroll) and sister to gorgeous Ruth Roman. This is the lady that Guy Haines is in love with and set to marry, as soon as he is able to get a divorce. However, the wife is reluctant to let him go, even though she is pregnant with another man's child. Guy Haines certainly has a motive to divorce her, maybe even strangle her.

This film is a must see for Alfred Hitchcock lovers and worth viewing over and over.

Put it in the DVD library.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2017
Another Hitchcock classic, with drama leading up to a surprising conclusion, holding suspense to its end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2017
One of Hitchcock's best! Great story and acting, especially by Robert Walker!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2017
Who doesn't love strangers on a train? Although I would love to have had MORE extras!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2017
Seen the movie before and still love it now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2017
GREAT - ONE OF THE HITCHCOCK FILMS EVER
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$3.99
$3.99

Need customer service? Click here