Your Garage Luxury Beauty Killers of the Flower moon STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning billions billions billions  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$8.04+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 116 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 176 reviews
on May 18, 2016
This particular edition is not the complete novel, but a very abridged version. The description on Amazon does not state this.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2016
I downloaded a sample of this book which was a rich and beautifully written excerpt. I purchased the kindle version and noted immediately that huge portions were missing and it read like a made for TV adaptation. This IS NOT the novel as advertised. It should be removed.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2016
This an abridged version that takes all of the drama out of the story and gives you the plot twists and turns with no subtlety at all. Chopped by almost 200 pages, the bare bones feel to the story reads like I imagine the pitch for the movie might go and not like the rich, fully-developed novel Patricia Highsmith wrote. Buy the paperback or hardcover and skip the Kindle version all together.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2016
I ordered the kindle version, and noticed that it was different from the sample I got (from someplace other than Amazon). I then read the other reviews that said the Kindle version was greatly condensed. I was disappointed because I really liked the sample. I followed the steps to request a refund from Kindle and will re-order the paperback book (hopefully it's the real book!) https://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/display.html/?nodeId=201252620
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2016
Patricia Highsmith is a renowned author, but you wouldn't know it from reading this version of her book. I didn't see anything in the Amazon description about the book being abridged. I should have read previous reviews and will certainly do so in the future. The writing in this version is so poorly done that it would be considered a comedy if read aloud.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 15, 2015
A simple ride on a train and meeting with two strangers begins this tale. The scenario: a perfect murder. One man, Guy Haines, begins to discuss with another man, Charles Bruno, about topics as they ride to their destination. Bruno seems to have a way of sizing up Guy from the get go, and eventually he pushes the discussion to how much he hates his father and Guy, in turn, reveals too much about his own struggles with his wife. Bruno, laughing, comes up with the perfect plan, which he suggests to Guy: let’s bump off each other’s “problems”, murder for each other. Guy, not fully taking Bruno seriously, “agrees” with the plan, more to get away from him than anything else. However, Bruno follows through with his side of the plan, and now expects Guy to do the same…

Perhaps Strangers on a Train’s biggest strength is simply its deep psychological aspects. Once the “deed” is done, Guy’s world turns inside out and there is a sense that he, psychologically, is no match for Bruno. Charles Bruno is one of the most relentless and manipulative sociopaths one may encounter in crime fiction. While not physically imposing, Bruno emotionally breaks down the will of Guy at many points.
Another interesting angle explored is the nature of duality within the individual. There seems to be made a case from the author that duel aspects exist in individuals, as is suggested by the character of Guy Haines. Much of the novel focuses on his internally conflicted self: “The anxiety had always been within himself, a battle of himself against himself, so torturous…”

Highsmith lets you in to Guy’s mind and lets you stew around a bit, and see how the turn of events takes its toll on him. What is fascinating is that one side there is a seeming normalcy to events within Guy’s life, yet under the surface there is constant disarray and chaos.

Besides this, Strangers on the Train is just a cleverly plotted psychological thriller that builds with each chapter. As much a study in crime as it is the aftermath of a crime, Highsmith’s novel edges its way towards a tension-filled conclusion as Bruno pushes his way further and further into Guy’s life. Definitely a read for the fan of psychological thrillers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2014
A solid crime novel. I noticed many differences from the Alfred Hitchcock movie. This story is much darker than that tale and well, Guy is not the nice, innocent victim so much in this one. Both characters are believable. I must say that I liked Bruno less than in the movie. He seemed more redemptive in the movie where as in this one he seems only callous and well, possibly homosexual. All in all the book moves well, but compared to modern reads, readers should expect more retrospective scene where each has to deal with what's bee done and move forward. It is a gripping tale I would certainly describe as somewhat existential. Could be a touch of Camus in there. The premise is the same and the story essentially starts out the same as the movie but does not end the same way at all. I definitely have appreciation for both. The book provided the blueprint which books always do, but Hitchcock added a lot of great personal touches the book lacks. However, I definitely recommend this one to any crime reader. You won't be disappointed but you might be disturbed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2016
We all know you aren't hurting for money, Amazon, so selling badly abridged novels without stating that fact is just plain shady. I'm not made of cash & actually choose which Kindle books to buy very carefully, I was duped and am angry as all get out. You should be ashamed.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2014
I admit that I am an unabashed fan of Highsmith and have read much of what she has written. I started with the Ripliad and saved Strangers until now, much like eating dessert before the entree. I am glad I did as it has resulted in a bountiful and very satisfying banquet. Yes, her world is populated with politely perverse people who fall into murder and mayhem, but they do it with both inevitability and irony. Her descriptions are often poetic, precise and startling. Her strangest sociopaths and psychopaths are totally believable. She was a unique literary talent and reading her brings a bright beam of purple light into the dull darkness of most crime fiction being written today.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2017
I've never read a book quite like this. It really makes you think about how you might have some part of you capable of atrocities like guy found out through meeting Bruno. This is definitely a psychological thriller and how people can mess with your mind. Basically Bruno drove guy crazy to the point of doing something he never thought himself possible of doing. I really like the book and only gave it four stars because then of the book just seemed like guy was going through a haze, going through the motions of coping with the aftermath. This haze made me feel in a haze and I found myself skimming quickly through his melancholy thought filled pages.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here