Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Amazon's Choice Computers Starting at $39.99 STEM Handmade Mother's Day Gifts STEM Book House Cleaning siliconvalley siliconvalley siliconvalley  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
44
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$19.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 26 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 44 reviews
on April 18, 2017
Liked the book, would recommend it .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2000
This book would seem to be an indispensible starting point for anyone looking into the straw bale home concept. If the thought of a poorly-insulated, energy-guzzling, expensive, bland, mass-produced, contractor-built home doesn't quite appeal to you, this book is essential, for it shows that inexpensive doesn't have to mean low quality nor unattractive. In fact, bales and other "natural", low-cost building materials can yield attractively individual results in part because they are easy and fun to work with, enfranchising the future owner to be his or her own designer and builder. The inspiring photos included in the book help make the case for the aesthetic advantages. Of course, the most important function is to show how to build the straw bale home. In this respect, the book succeeds admirably, giving diagrams to illustrate the major techniques being used and showing how simple straw bale building is. Incidentally, this would make an attractive book for your coffee table even if you are just mildly interested in the subject. One warning though: even including the index and other back-of-the-book sections, there are only 297 pages, not 336!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2013
Could be the best book I've read on sustainable construction methods. The writing is excellent, and the authors' light use of narrative storytelling gives insight to their revelation of suggestions and best practices. The technical jargon is minimal and easily understood thanks to the abundance of photos that follow the process. If you have even the slightest interest in straw bale construction, this is the first book you should buy. If you already have others, it's likely this will be your last as it is so comprehensive in nature. Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2013
Several years ago we became interested in straw bale houses and began doing a lot of research. Almost 100% of the articles referenced this book as a guide. It covers any and all questions that could come up in the construction. There is more than one style and the book addresses each of them. A word advice, be sure and check local and state codes before you get too involved. As time goes by and more are being built there is finally some uniformity. This book is a must have if you are about to build one, or if you are just curious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2014
I enjoy all of Bill and Athena Steen's books on building. This one is lovely and full of personal, practical advice on various aspects of strawbale building, adobe and plastering. I especially enjoy knowing about how Athena's experience growing up has contributed so much to her involvement in these types on construction techniques. She and Bill make a great team. I find their information very inspirational.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2014
This book is phenomenal, and the Athena and her husband are beautiful people to guide you on this journey on how
we all can live in comfort, beauty, and sustainable surroundings the way it's suppose to be, so that we are kind to
all of our surroundings here on earth. Thank You In The Deepest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2014
This is a fast read, and I learned alot. I am trying to decide between cob and strawbale, and I appreciate the less-philosophic, more-factual information available in this book than you typically find in alternative building method instruction books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2010
I am happy to have purchased the paperback version of "The Straw Bale House Book," and found it extremely helpful. It would be nice to see the Steens do a book like
this especailly for the Midwest, where winters can be rough. I have already started on a "one room experiment" though, thanks to the authors.
Anna Marie Fritz, [...]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2012
I haven't gotten as far as I would have liked in the book, but that is because it is packed with a lot of information I had not considered. Very good info for anyone one considering building green.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2013
Surprisingly detailed information about one of the most natural home choices available. If you're serious about building your own straw bale home, this is one book you can't live without.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse