Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Wall Street Journal. Guide to Starting Your Financial Life
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Shop Now STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 19, 2010
Great book for someone out of college, starting their career and learning how to manage their new found income properly and efficiently to invest in their future. Easy read, explanations are simple and easy to follow. Gave this book as gift but read it prior to giving.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2014
Awesome book for anyone 15-20. Every thing from opening a savings account to investing in stocks is covered by this book. Theres so many helpful tips in this book its such an easy read and covers so much its worth every penny.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2010
I would recommend this excellent (reference) book to all those who are in the process of getting out of the "pre-life" into the "real life", and by that I mean those who are leaving school and either continuing to college, armed forces, or the job market. It is a book to keep and refer to from time to time as "real life" develops from it beginnings to settlement into a career, family, and wealth-building years. I would say this book should be in the hands of all high school seniors (and it may now be used by teachers of economics or similar courses in high schools and colleges)..... this book, and a good motivating teacher, can do wonders to those kids who are interested in and paying attention to the business of life.... and even for others who are late bloomers (maturity not always come at the same time for all), it can help understand how to best go about earning and spending money.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2014
I find the WSJ's "Guide To..." series very hit or miss. This book was unfortunately a miss for me. However, I may be jaded having already read the WSJ Complete Personal Finance Guidebook. I found this book's information nice, but rather basic. A lot of it is common sense, and this book should really be given to those in high school. For people looking to upgrade their personal finance quest, I strongly suggest looking into the Complete Personal Finance Guidebook. This book isn't bad, per se. It's just very basic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2013
This book is a great gift for college graduates. It prepares them for the "real world" by showing them various tips. It really helped me with apartment leases.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2009
I bought this book for my soon-to-be-graduating from college son. Wow, Ms. Blumenthal hits everything from insurance to apartment leases to buying a car. Phil found it most helpful. This book would make a great text for a freshman-level personal finance class. I heartily recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2015
Excellent quality, super inexpensive, and fast delivery!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2016
Basic and great for new college graduates
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2010
Good but a little light and quick on subjects that should be covered with more depth - e.g. ownership and insurance are areas covered with a couple of sentences. Maybe instead of narrow catchy publishing style use conventional book style and add more meat and a good index.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2009
Wife and children are reading their personal copy of this book (which I provided). Pretty basic -- but exatly what is needed.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse