Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

With Strings / An Image Import

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, July 23, 2007
"Please retry"

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Get Started with Amazon Prime Stream millions of songs anytime, anywhere, included with an Amazon Prime membership. Get started

Editorial Reviews

Japanese Limited Edition Issue of the Album Classic in a Deluxe, Miniaturized LP Sleeve Replica of the Original Vinyl Album Artwork.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. 'round Midnight
  2. Daffodil's Smile
  3. I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
  4. Music For Alto Saxophone & Strings Part 1
  5. Music For Alto Saxophone & Strings Part 2
  6. Music For Alto Saxophone & Strings Part 3
  7. What's New?
  8. Blues For Our Children
  9. Image Of Man (Parts 1 Through 7)

Product Details

  • Audio CD (July 23, 2007)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Universal Japan
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,450,056 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Amazon's Lee Konitz Store

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By Mike Tarrani HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWER on August 16, 2015
Format: Audio CD
My opinion, of course, is subjective, but to my ear this is one of my favorite Konitz albums. Normally any jazz album with strings is a gamble for me, but this is among a handful that is so well done that I find myself listening to it over and over.

Unfortunately there are no sound samples, so I will try to give an idea of the music. This is NOT anything like Bird's Charlie Parker With Strings. I view that album as another jazz masterpiece. This one is more along the lines of what Chico Hamilton was doing on the west coast during the same time period with interesting arrangements, and less traditional instruments. If you are familiar with Bird's album, this one is different in that Konitz is integrated into the ensemble, interacting with the strings whereas Bird's arrangements used a lush string ensemble as a foundation across which his alto sax notes would float.

There is a full orchestra backing Konitz, but there is also a core ensemble that is comprised of Konitz on alto sax, Gene Orloff on violin, Alan Shulman on cello, Lou Stein on piano and Billy Bauer on guitar. In particular, there are moments on this album where Konitz and Bauer are 'in the zone' that, alone, make this album worth owning. Bill Russo's arrangements (and conducting) also add a lot to the music.

This album was recorded for Verve in NYC on February 6 and 8, 1958 and released the same year. If you are leery of jazz with strings and are a Konitz fan, give this one a chance because Lee's alto sax is simply beautiful in this ensemble.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


Look for Similar Items by Category