Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Stripes (Extended Cut) [Blu-ray]
Amazon Vehicles Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$12.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 7, 2005
Nope! It's NOT just the same movie - simply put:
You haven't actually seen Bill Murray's 'STRIPES' until you obtain this 2005 re-release DVD!

The bonus scenes featured DOES INDEED answer various inquiries we once had re this comedy:
e.g. - why are those 2 guys ALONE sitting against the EM-50 in Italy before they take it for a spin?....and when in Germany Russell flat-out refuses to rescue the captured troops with the other three in the EM-50, what made him change his mind? - (to mention a few)..

Another one of the deleted scenes is the (talked-about) 7-minute "South America" segment
where we DO see another side of Harold Ramis - while Murray is truly hilarious!

A BETTER print with superior STEREO 5.1 dolby sound now vs the previous mono DVD, including a great feature in two parts -"Stars & Stripes" - that will leave you dazzled in understanding this entire film: how it was made, rare image stills, and how the actors (a good number of them)
felt in doing the film along with Murray himself, being interviewed from of all places - TOKYO!

This new DVD gives you 2 movie options:
1.) the EXTENDED version featuring the deleted scenes-
(with added option of audio commentary from the director and head writer)
2.) the ORIGINAL theatrical version-
*BOTH WS*

There's also the option of seeing all SIX bonus scenes - one after the other -

The EXTENDED version does a fine editing job inserting the deleted scenes at the right places,
- even indicating (via small permanent text) where these bonus scenes START and END -
-an extremely smooth flow minus any pauses or audio dropouts...

However on this strange ORIGINAL version, there ARE crude pauses/slight audio drops only at the marks where the deleted scenes were MEANT to be placed (or were previously removed),
it's as if they didn't (wouldn't or couldn't) simply EMPLOY the main original print for this DVD -
-unsmooth/choppy at these marks, esp when the guys drive to Germany and meet the girls -

e.g. - Murray hugs P.J. Soles with the line: "I Brought The Magic Suitcase"..
- That very scene literally disappears - thus disappoints on this ORG version -

One Major Blunder:
A bonus scene w/P.J. Soles (there's MORE of her) & Murray in a hotel bedroom from Germany
is in fact the EXACT same bedroom set in a PREVIOUS short scene where she pulls Bill out of the trunk at General Barnacy's house; When you compare the two you'll believe they intended this to be START of the 'Barnacy Bedroom' segment..

But overall (the pauses & blunder notwithstanding), they did a great job
in christening this DVD as: "The ULTIMATE Stripes"
- definately worth forking over (at best) a Hamilton and an Abe for...
22 comments| 67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2003
This is one of my favorite films of all time. I saw it with a boatload of fellow geology students at the end of a gruelling summer field camp in Montana and when Harold Ramis made his crack about passing 2 semesters of geology in one night it brought the house down. You don't have to be a geologist to appreciate this flick though, it's got laughs galore. Great stuff.
My objective in writing the review is to beef about the DVD. The big fat mono soundtrack is pretty dismal. I have to crank the volume to the max to watch it, then it sounds distorted and hissy. My biggest beef is with the "widescreen" version of the film. It appears to be just the fullscreen version with black bars at the top and bottom of the screen. I discovered this by examining the shower scene that Captain Sillman watches through his telescope. On the fullscreen side you can see the one of the girls' head and legs down to the knees. On the "widescreen" version you have extactly the same width of view and her head and buns are cut off by the black bars. Boo-hiss.
A classic flick like this deserves a much better DVD!
11 comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2000
Absolutely one of the funniest movies ever made. It would definitely have to be highly ranked, if only for the fact that it is possibly the most quoted movie of all time. Who among us has never said "Lighten up, Francis" or "You can't leave, all the plant are gonna die! ". Bill Murray is at his best, and Harold Ramis is the perfect straight man for him. Add in a supporting cast that includes John Candy, Judge Rheinhold, John Laroquette and Sean Young, and you have something pretty special. Also, gains points for the fact that it doesn't start to fade out at the end, like many comedies do when the decide to get "message-y". It just keeps up the energy and humor right up to (and including) the credits. To this day, the only movie I have ever enjoyed so much that I went right back to see it the very next night.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2016
If your looking at this then chances are you know what it's about so I don't need to go on and on about what it is or how good/bad it is (That's why we have Rotten Tomato) But for me I had fond memories of this movie from my youth and today it just didn't age well at all. Most of the funny parts I remembered just wasn't very funny anymore and half way through my 2 oldest daughters abandoned me for Pokemon lol. I was still entertained for the most part but it took a lot just for even me to get to the credits. I kind of wished I would of not bought it and just remembered it how it was. I'm saddened...!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2012
Below is a review of this product: Stripes (Extended Cut) (BLU-RAY). Amazon may display this review on the page of another version of this product, for which this review may not apply. After reading this review, please click on the link so that you can be assured that the product this review applies to is the same one you thought it was for.
--------------------------------------------------

This review is specifically intended for all of those unfortunate souls who purchased the Stripes "Extended Cut" DVD. Chances are, if you own that DVD, you are royally annoyed by some of the poor choices Sony made in authoring that disc. Those of you who don't own that disc, let me give you a little insight into the problems with it...

The disc claims to have the theatrical version of the film, in addition to the new extended version. That is a lie. The "Theatrical Version" presented on the disc is not that what was shown in the theaters back in 1981. It's simply the extended version with the added footage skipped over. A lot of DVD players will need to pause for a second or two at six spots while it skips ahead in the video to the spot after the added footage was placed. This is NOT "seamless branching", as evident by the fact that the pause creates a seam. There are many examples of DVDs that properly create multiple versions using seamless branching, such as the Alien Vs. Predator Unrated DVD. Stripes isn't one of them. Furthermore, portions of the movie get edited out when the player has to crudely jump over the added footage to create the supposed "Theatrical Version". That means that you're not seeing the real original theatrical version. Only the first Stripes DVD release from 1998 (cover shows the "I Want You" poster) contains the true theatrical version. It also contains the theatrical trailer (left off the Blu-ray), and the original mono audio track. That's as true to the original as you can get!

Also, the extended version on the DVD has an annoying "added footage marker" at the start and end of the newly-added footage. This "start/end of bonus scene" text is provided via a subtitle stream, which Sony does not allow to be turned off, even though subtitle streams provide that functionality. Check out the aforementioned Alien Vs. Predator Unrated DVD for an example of how it's done right (again via subtitle, but one which the user can turn on and off).

So with all that in mind, people who own Blu-ray players might be wondering if any of these problems were fixed in the new Blu-ray release of Stripes. The short answer is "YES". The "added footage marker" that is included is completely OPTIONAL! It's a star/badge that will be displayed in the corner of the screen during the entire duration of a piece of newly-added footage. The only downside is that you can't turn it on and off while watching the movie. You have to use the "Play Movie" option on the main menu in order to get the choice to turn it on or off.

The Blu-ray also does not have the false pretense of containing a "theatrical version" of the film. You get the extended version of the film in 1080p (1.85:1 aspect ratio), along with the commentary track and the two-part hour-long "Stars & Stripes" documentary from the Extended Cut DVD. The only thing the Blu-ray leaves out is the theatrical trailer, though that can be found on numerous other DVDs, such as the Stripes DVD from 1998 (which contains the true theatrical version) and the Ghostbusters and Ghostbusters II DVDs that were released in 1999 (the green slime cover DVDs released in 2005 don't contain any trailers). The Blu-ray also doesn't present the added footage in a separate "Deleted Scenes" section, but since they're now part of the film, they don't really need to be included separately, anyway.

If you're a die-hard Stripes fan and MUST have both versions of the film, I suggest you pick up this Blu-ray and the original 1998 DVD release, and you'll have all versions and extras. Just avoid the Extended Cut DVD.
review image review image
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2016
Don't even know why I ordered this movie, but then I started to watch it and remembered. Its a great escape movie, a way to enjoy Bill Murray at his funniest. Just like a man, loses everything and thinks joining the Army is going to fix his life. Bill Murray makes a spoof of WWIII, and he army, he makes you laugh and forget about the outside world for a while. Never a wrong time to watch Bill Murray.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2015
Mehh... I don't find Bill Murray's character in this movie to be very likable. In fact I find him really annoying. Once they enter into the army nothing remotely realistic happens in this movie. Every single female character is there for only one purpose- to be a sexual object. Even the female soldiers wear uniforms that were way too tight for regulation. The cast has a lot of great supporting comedians in it, but we don't get to see most of them much so they're wasted in the film. John Larroquette (Captain Stillman) however was well used and he does his character really well. He is the best part of this movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2014
I was disappointed that the extended edition is not optional. You can turn on a feature that marks which scenes were originally cut, so that you know when you're watching one of the reinserted scenes, but I'm not sure that was necessary since most of them were not that interesting and it seems like they were cut for a pretty good reason. There are a few bits here and there that seem to add a little character development, but for the most part it's just unnecessary and I'm irritated I couldn't choose to not watch them.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2016
One of my all time favorite Bill Murray movies. Very true to life (I was a drill SGT during the Vietnam war so I saw the same type of recrues first hand.) Not for the younger crowd as it does have a few moments of racy humor. If you ever served in the military you will love this movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
On my way to the Toronto Film Festival 2014 where they have declared Sept 5th as Bill Murray day so I wanted to watch this one in preparation for Bill Murray excitement. It was funny. It was worth watching, and it had at least two extremely funny parts that had me busting out laughing ... but the rest was just enjoyable and good. It wasn't AS funny as I had expected, nothing like The Birdcage by Robin Williams which I'd sit down and watch any day of the week. Overall: watch it once. Relaxing, funny and some great really funny parts. Plus John Candy is in there and it was lovely seeing him!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse