Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: StrongArm 6301 Lexus LS400 Hood Lift Support, Pack of 1
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
23
Price:$21.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 19, 2012
Have installed two of these lift rods on my 99 Lexus, LS 400. Installation was a snap, use a 12mm wrench to unscrew the two bolts on one old lift rod. Screw in the new lift rod bolts with washers, tighten with a 7/16 wrench. Unsnap the connector rings from both ends of the new lift rod. Attach the new rod to the new bolt you screwed in, snap in the connector rings on each end of the rod. Repeat for the other side and you're done. Saved a bundle over the $300 the Lexus dealer quoted me for installing these lift rods. They are sturdy and work like new. Highly recommended to others.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2015
Working very well. Not the exact same mounting method but close enough. No modifications needed, easy to install and best of all no more hood falling on my head when checking fluids. I hope they last as long as the OEM units did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2013
My 98 LS400 2nd set of OEM struts were starting to give out. My wholesale price was just under $100 ea. I think not. I did some research and came up with these StrongArms. The few reviews were all good, and for less than $50 for a pair, how could I lose? My tech just installed them, and they are a perfect replacement. Open the hood and it rises, then slows before the stops. This is about what you should pay for a set of hood struts (a prop rod would be better). Order with confidence; these work well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2012
The total time from opening the box to having them installed was about 15 minutes, honestly. The hardest part was getting the old lift supports unscrewed and out. The removable ball joints make it a breeze, screw in all 4 new ball joints, hang the top end from the hood and then have a friend lift the hood to slip the lift supports onto the ball joints in the engine bay. The amount of "lift" and the pressure to close the hood is just perfect and when opening the hood the StrongArm Supports open the hood by themselves and then slow to a stop at at the top. FYI total cost Amazon $46 for the pair, cost from Lexus, $240.00 just for the parts not including installation. After you order them, take the old cylinders while you wait for the StrongArms to be delivered to save some time in installation. We will see how long they last, the originals lasted 12 years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2012
Easy to install for even a modest DIY'er at 1/5 the dealer price. They work better than the originals too. I love Lexus as the flagship of the Toyota line of cars, but that was a rip-off price for no reason at all. Usually the Lexus dealer is surprisingly reasonable price wise and they hold customer service at a high priority. I'm thinking this is an unusual case and for me one-of-a-kind situation so far in owning our 1998 LS400.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2012
These arms, for the hood of my car worked perfectly, were cheap compared to Lexus parts, shipped FREE. So what's not to like 5 star, they work fine after nearly 1 year of heavy use here in Western Colorado.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2016
perfect fit for 1999 Lexus LS400 hood struts. 5 minute install each side. (note - if you have the factory "ball posts," that don't come out of the old struts, it is easier install the new posts into the hood and frame first, then pop the strut onto the new installed ball posts.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2015
Ordered 2 to replace OEM. One fit like a glove easy to install, the other did not include the bolt and washer needed to attach the strut to the hood and car body. Very frustrating, working through return/refund/replacement now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2011
Fit perfect on the car and was so much cheaper than the one from the dealer. It was easy to install and I really was happy to find it here.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2014
Lifts work great. I had my wife and daughter hold the hood up while I installed them. On the Lexus I had to unscrew the factory lifts and install the new bolts they give you with the lifts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here