Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Studiohut Hot Shoe Three Axis Double Bubble Level

3.7 out of 5 stars 115 customer reviews

Price: $8.41 & FREE Shipping on orders over $49. Details
Only 3 left in stock.
Sold by Studiohut and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
    This fits your .
  • Enter your model number to make sure this fits.
  • Spirit level / bubble level for camera's hot shoe
  • Crystal clear housing slips on a camera shoe mount
  • Triple axis provides precise leveling
2 new from $8.41
$8.41 & FREE Shipping on orders over $49. Details Only 3 left in stock. Sold by Studiohut and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

  • Studiohut Hot Shoe Three Axis Double Bubble Level
  • +
  • VONOTO 2PCS Camera Flashlight Hot Shoe hotshoe cover with bubble Spirit Level for Canon Nikon Panasonic Fujifilm Olympus Pentax Sigma DSLR/SLR/EVIL Camera
  • +
  • Altura Photo Professional Rain Cover for Large DSLR Cameras
Total price: $28.39
Buy the selected items together


Product Description

A triple axis spirit level that mounts effortlessly to the hot shoe of any standard 35mm SLR camera to help achieve a finer degree of accuracy in capturing image content.

Product Information

Product Dimensions 10 x 7 x 1 inches
Item Weight 0.5 ounces
Shipping Weight 0.5 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
ASIN B002C76W4C
Item model number SH-FB-CBSL103-FBA
Customer Reviews
3.7 out of 5 stars 115 customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
Best Sellers Rank #128 in Camera & Photo > Camera & Photo Accessories > Flash Accessories > Shoe Mounts
Date first available at Amazon.com June 5, 2009

Feedback

Would you like to tell us about a lower price?

Customer Questions & Answers

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

By S. Lbck on November 13, 2009
Verified Purchase
This small bubble level proved to be a useful tool while photographing multiple images for panoramic stitching.

PROS...
brighter and easier to read than the 2-axis bubble level on my tripod's ball head;
its 3-axes yield more information than two;
small and easy to transport in camera bag;
snug and effortless attachment to my digital SLR's flash connection.
CON...
due to its small size, I expect to loose it sooner or later.

It is worth its modest cost via Amazon. (If lost I would immediately replace it.)
1 Comment 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Verified Purchase
I bought two of these things. One for my camera and another which I attached to my telescope. They work perfect. This supplier consistently has good prices. The very reasonably priced green laser pointer I bought from them also turned out to be a great deal.
Comment 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Verified Purchase
I had high hopes for this 3-way level replacing the 2-way level that I currently use and have to change orientation from horizontal to vertical. However, this level isn't even close to being accurate. In fact, I can eyeball things more accurately. I purchased two of these and they don't even match each other.

I'm an architectural photographer and rely heavily on an accurate level to keep my shots perfectly aligned. Sadly this product doesn't do the job. Save your money and buy the more expensive, but infinitely more accurate 2-way level.
1 Comment 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Verified Purchase
Not much to say about this thing. It's very cheap and does it's job very well. I can't imagine why someone would spend $25+ on similar bubble levels. This thing is great. Highly recommend it.
Comment 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Verified Purchase
I should have heeded the other reviews that warned that this level is grossly inaccurate. This level is not even close to being accurate. You can see with the naked eye that this level is way off. It was so inaccurate that when I put it on a perfectly level surface no part of the bubble was between the lines. That's BAD!!!

You would think that after so many defective levels being sold that someone would do something about it.

I was an idiot for ordering this level because I was warned by others before me. This was probably the most disappointing item I've purchased in years.

Please don't buy this unless you feel lucky and accidentally get one that works properly. You've been warned again.

If you like returning defective merchandise then go ahead and order it. The construction is very cheap also.

I love the idea of this level, but the execution of the idea was a miserable failure.
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Verified Purchase
This item is so not worth my time, but I don't want others to get stuck with a shotty piece of merchandise.

With that said, I don't think you can really call this a level when it's about a 1/8th to a 1/4" off from being level.

I was trying to us this as a way to get accurate shots, but noticed right off the bat this was not a true level.

After further inspection of the item, I noticed the the feet that slide into the hot shoe are warped. Not wanting to believe it was messed up, I placed it on a level surface next to my own level and sure enough, it was off.

So, with that said, I will not be using it, but I'm stuck with it.
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Verified Purchase
Actually, before I got this I got two separate, very small (1" length x 3/8" or so width) bubble levels to attach to my Manfrotto ball head, thinking I might just go with that arrangement. (I got those little levels from Sinclair. They've a nice selection for anyone looking for levels to attach to something else.) I was careful to glue them straight and even to the sides of the plate on which the camera sits by way of a quick-release plate--one on the front, the other to the short side--where the camera doesn't overhang. I didn't bother with vertical.

Now I have this Studiohut level and so am in a unique position to do some testing. Given prices for these things (less than $2.00 ea. at Sinclair), I have to say all of them are pretty good. I've got all five (three in the Studiohut and 2 ea. Sinclair) about as lined up as one could reasonably expect for less than $50.00, and even at that price I doubt perfection would result. I'm fairly sure that were I to take some shots of buildings or just the ocean horizon, all would be level.

Although there is some variation between the side-mounted Sinclair and front-to-back (bottom level) Studiohut. Not much, but a little bit. Side to side is a match and the vertical on the Studiohut is almost dead center, certainly within the circle line.

I bought this knowing that it's intended for DSLRs or SLRs, while I have a Lumix LX3. The hotshoe on the LX3 will take it but not all the way in, just as I expected. Clips under the flanges of the hotshoe on each side seem to be preventing sliding the level in all the way, and I'm not about to force it. But it slides in far enough without forcing it. There could be just the slightest tilt, which would account for slight difference (referred to above) from front to back.
Read more ›
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Verified Purchase
I did not think the level was accurate on the front-to-back axis. Consequently I am not using it. The side-to-side and vertical levels seemed to be okay. I tested it against a long carpenter's level. I also set the cube on known level sufaces and then when taking picutes I tested it again for accuracy. The front-to-back was just seemingly not accurate.
1 Comment 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews