Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 23 reviews(3 star, Verified Purchases). See all 451 reviews
on December 10, 2016
This book contains two short stories. The first one is where Dr. Watson (narrator) and Sherlock Holmes meet and work their first case together. The story isn't very good, but other reviews indicate this may not be the complete version and may have been butchered into a version that is not the equal of the original. The second story, about an old man and child who are found on the prairie is exceptionally good. Holmes and Watson do not appear until the end where a manhunt that began in the American west ends on a London street. The two stories off set to a medium rating. This kindle version has the first story in its table of contents, the second story is not recognized.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2017
Don't recall having read any Sherlock Holmes before but it was well worth starting at the beginning of the Holmes Watson partnership. The mystery component was well done and it was a while before I had any idea as to who the culprit might be.

Enjoyed the atmosphere of a seedy, fog ridden London and the two main characters were well presented. The actor that comes closest to having depicted Sherlock Holmes in this novel to my mind would be Benedict Cumberbatch, his mannerisms and persona.

For a free edition I really can't complain over the quality. Well worth a look at.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2016
This classic novel is certainly well written, but is somewhat antiquated in its structure and story telling. While it is impossible to ignore the influence Arthur Conan Doyle has had on the mystery genre, I could not help but draw comparison at times to Scooby-Doo and Murder She Wrote. Overall, A Study in Scarlet can still be entertaining, but it would not have been met with commercial success if it were published today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2015
Although Sherlock's problem solving skills are one of a kind, I felt the mystery was a little lacking in originality. Yes this murder story is unique, but there was nothing that compelled me to keep reading the way a great mystery novel should. For the most part, I was just trying to finish this book. There's one shocking ah-ha moment, other than that, there aren't any big surprises.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2016
I'm so happy that I finally got around to reading this! Though the middle bit confused me for awhile, I really enjoyed this quick story! I can't wait to read more!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2016
I think Sir Arthur Conan is a great writer. I enjoyed the first half of this book. The second half was historically inaccurate about the Mormons. I am excited to read more of his stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2017
This was a decent mystery, but the main story revolves around a ridiculous portrayal of Mormons, having no basis in fact and misconstruing them in a terrible way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2016
This was a good story and typical of the Sherlock Holmes figure. The story is filled with the deductive reasoning that Sherlock is so well known.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2016
Haven't finished. Slow start but after intro getting better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2017
An interesting "classical" read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here