Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Study New Testament For Lesbians, Gays, Bi, And Transgender: With Extensive Notes On Greek Word Meaning And Context
Amazon Vehicles Back to School Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 25, 2012
The good news is that this book gives us insight into how we have been socialized to embrace biblical translations which have fallen out of lockstep with contemporary sensibilities. Many of the claims which Christians make against certain groups have no biblical basis.

I shouldn't have been surprised, but it was eye opening to learn about how certain groups influence biblical content. They shape the Bible that we see, and, by extension, the messages that we get from it. That is why gay people have so much trouble in church. That would have been good as a separate book.

The Kindle Edition has no links in its Table of Contents, and no index. It makes navigating difficult. The books of the New Testament are cluttered together, and lack introdutions. Some passages are so heavily laden with contemporary text that they are hard to recognize.

This book could have stopped at chapter two.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2016
While I have a Masters of Theology degree and am a Greek reader I found this translation interesting and helpful. I do not fully agree with all the helps, but overall it is an excellent resource. I just wish that there was a little more discussion on the passages that impact the LGBT community.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2016
The author like many of her kind starts off with some terrible presuppositions. She thinks that the Christian faith relies totally on 'the book' and that the words can be first and foremost deciphered by looking at secular Greek and trying to recompose the text. Duh...? It is far more important to see what the words meant to the early Christians who knew Greek and Hebrew far better than anyone alive today...and how THEY translated the words into their religious faith. Her desperate attempts to codify deviance is laughable. Christianity has NEVER allowed homosexual practice , abortion, infanticide, adultery, etc. The early church received these teachings from the apostles and their appointed successors and even if we had no NT it would not be allowable practice. The first Bible that the early Christians used was the Old Testament. Look at the early translations into other languages such as Latin and see how they understood it. If you believe in Greek Primacy. If there were no prohibitions on the practice then why did not the whole church adopt it as allowed since it was widespread in the culture? E.g. the Peshitta from Aramaic translates these passages as homosexuality . The canon was set by those books that taught in accordance with the traditional teachings of the church and NOT vice versus. In other words ...Christians did NOT grab all the books of the New Testament ...after they had been written and collected ...and say..now how are we going to do church...and live and what morals are we to follow. I would much better trust the ancient translators who knew the languages and the culture much better than we do than some Johness come lately, trying to tinker toy the Christian faith from scraps. What the Scriptures meant to the early church is far more important than some modern linguist trying to tell us that the church got it wrong for 2000 years. Yeah right.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2013
Contains a lot of helpful information on word meanings especially the LGBT "clobber" passages however the layout and general presentation leaves a lot to be desired.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2012
I'd been wanting a Biblical translation from the original Greek-my 30 yr old Bible recently literally fell apart-this New Testament is Great!i like having the notes on the page as I read, I purchased 2 more of these for friends.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2012
The study bible whilst not perfect (no translation is) is a very credible attempt at a secular translation and has some extremely valuable viewpoints to it. The study notes are written not based on traditional assumptions but on the latest secular knowledge. As our available texts have grown from new testament times, so have our understanding of expressions etc. (For example the laws pertaining to divorce can be understood in a better context now).Unfortunately some will focus on homosexuality but if they choose to focus on minor themes that are barely mentioned thats their choice. However, Jesus gives us many commands including love your neighbour, turn the other cheek, look after the poor and the sick, do not lie and of course do not judge and these can be studied across this and other translations because, as they are repeated time and time again...these ARE the important themes in gods word to us. This is worth using to study those major commands that Jesus gave us. (for those that want to worry about homosexuality, then skip those few verses. Jesus doesnt mention it anyway so this is a very useful study tool. Jesus does say of course whatever you do to the sick, the poor etc, you do to him... and this is a great tool for understanding the cultural co text of what he said). highly recommended and remember..anything you dont like, you can check for yourself (the mark of a good study guide rather than dogma)
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2013
A wonder piece of reconciliation literature, it is both scholarly and compassionate. Wonderful news for everyone, especially those from a faith background.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2008
This is by far the biggest perversion to the word of God I have ever seen. I am also a student of the Greek language and guarentee that Dr. Nyland's claims concerning the incorrect translations concerning homosexuality are completely FALSE! I have studied over passages such as these and found that the NASB and the ESV both have the most accurate translation of the original text. The sad thing is that because the author has a Doctorate, people assume the translation must be correct. It is only false hope for those that lead a homosexual lifestyle and refuse to change. The appearance of knowledge in this work is in fact only an illusion and is certainly the devil's work. You can live your life how you wish, but God's word cannot be changed by Dr. Nyland or anyone else.
2626 comments| 141 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2010
I am intimately familiar with the TNIV version and its many strengths and flaws, but I must say this perspective receives no support from the text. The TNIV, although easier to understand and more poetic, is an inferior translation to the NASB as proven by intense scholarship and comparisons between the earliest preserved records of the textus receptus and the Talmud. Against the Dead Sea scrolls, the NASB stands as the most accurate text.

That said, the TNIV is still highly reliable on most scriptural cases, although the final authority would go the the NASB. The TNIV would never support a homosexual-friendly reading of the Bible. It is only severe contextualization on the part of the authors that makes it somewhat palatable. To put it bluntly, they're painting over the brick of scripturally incoherent theology with a sugary posthumous shellacking of icing and begging you to take a bite.

Expect stories of how David and Jonathan were lovers (A testably false claim as the Bible goes to great length to describe their relationship as foster-brothers rather than lovers. It's only a healthy dose of implications and inferences coming from the 21st century applied to this story that could ever turn it into a gay-friendly tale.

Also, expect the argument that explicit verses condemning homosexuality such as Leviticus 18:22 as simply dealing with neighboring nations who used underage boys as sexual oracles in temples. Expect the same for Paul's upholding of this law in his letter to Corinth.

Failing to promote this understanding, the authors may attempt to circumvent by claiming this law is one of the many discarded when God declares all of the unclean clean, however this is wrong. God forbode homosexuality to all humans, not just the Isralites. God's declaration silenced all of the Israel-specific laws such as shellfish and pork. The ten commandments and other universal laws still held.

National GLBTQ scholars have declared Paul's writings incompatible with homosexuality. I wish that people could get over this need to white-wash the truth and create a religion that couldn't possibly insult anybody. If that's what you're after, be a Buddhist, or possibly a Unitarian. On second thought, you could probably be both.

There is one circumstance where I would grant this book a high rating. If you are a professor of religious studies, assign this text to your students and challenge them to dismantle it scripturally. Then maybe we will have a generation of ministers with some backbone and Biblical scholarship under their belts so they don't get swayed by every new age philosophy that appears.
66 comments| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2016
You will find lies and misconceptions in this book. If your going to read any bible, be true to yourself & read the original scriptures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse