Kindle Price: $9.99

Save $7.00 (41%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group. Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time. Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity:
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Kindle App Ad
The Subway Girls: A Novel by [Schnall, Susie Orman]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

The Subway Girls: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 140 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$9.99

Kindle Feature Spotlight

CLOSE

Length: 305 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $11.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

Review

"The Subway Girls intertwines two distinct narratives in a tale highlighting the unexpected commonalities between us all." ―InStyle.com

"Schnall unites the women in a shared struggle to achieve balance in ambition, happiness, and love." ―Refinery29 in the Best New Books Out This July Round-up

"[A] clever idea and relatable protagonists...a fun read." ―Booklist

"As Olivia observes in the book, she'd always assumed women in the 1940s only aspired to be housewives and mothers, not careerwomen. Schnall nicely shows that women have always wanted balance family and a career and that it's never been easy." ―Library Journal

"[A] warm, intelligent historical novel." ―Refinery29 in the Brilliant Books To Bring To The Beach This Summer Round-up

"This novel is perfect for fans of both historical and contemporary fiction." ―Ms.CareerGirl.com in The Best Beach Reads for Your Summer Vacation Round-up

"A fascinating story of two women living a generation apart and their connection to the real historic Miss Subways campaign, Schnall’s new novel is a captivating read for anyone who loved Fiona Davis’s The Dollhouse, and will be the perfect addition to your summer reading beach bag." ―Brit+Co in the 10 Hot New Books for Your 2018 #TBR Pile Round-up

"If you love historical fiction... In Susie Orman Schnall's latest fiction read, two successful women, decades apart, find an important tie to the 1949 Miss Subways beauty contest." ―PopSugar.com in This Summer's Hottest New Books For Every Type of Reader Round-up

"[One of the] top 25 must-reads every book lover needs to get his or her hands on this summer." ―Parade.com in their Summer Round-up

"[One of] the Best Beach Reads of Summer 2018." ―PureWow.com

"[The Subway Girls is 1 of] 24 Great Historical Fiction Books Coming Out This Summer." ―BookBub in their Summer Round-up

"Schnall debuts with an inspiring, feminist, timely story of two women, 70 years apart, who both fight for the right to have a career, independence and love. This enjoyable, poignant tale will certainly resonate with readers of any generation." ―RT Reviews

"A charming, inspiring tale, crossing two generations of ambitious young women, striving against the odds to make their mark, find happiness―and figure out, decades apart, if it’s ever possible to do both." ―Nicola Kraus, co-author of the #1 New York Times bestseller The Nanny Diaries

"The Subway Girls is a joyous romp through New York City, with a magnetic cast of characters you’ll root for from page one. Dazzling and delicious." ―Fiona Davis, bestselling author of The Address and The Dollhouse

"This novel is feminist at heart and it's true to the time period, which at times means things don't always go the way the characters (or we!) wish they'd go. The story twists in unexpected ways which delighted me. Schnall never takes the easy way out. Fans of Taylor Jenkins Reid and Camille Di Maio will adore this book. A great story of Miss Subways, New York, and women making their ways in a cutthroat business." ―Jennifer S. Brown, bestselling author of Modern Girls

"Schnall has written a book that is smart and timely, offering an incisive take on the changing opportunities for women in the workplace with a number of satisfying surprises. Feels perfect for fans of Beatriz Williams and Liza Klaussmann." ―Taylor Jenkins Reid, author of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

"The intriguing stories of two formidable women, Charlotte and Olivia, intertwine in Susie Orman Schnall’s latest, a fast-paced, clever novel filled with romantic possibilities, high-stakes decisions, and harsh realities. Perfect for fans of Fiona Davis’s The Dollhouse, this engrossing tale highlights the role that ambition, sexism, and true love will forever play in women’s lives." ―Amy Poeppel, author of Small Admissions

"This is a must read for fans of modern-day fiction and historical fiction alike. There is so much to love in this story – all the satisfying nostalgia of the post-war advertising world, and all the excitement of present-day New York." ―Lynda Cohen Loigman, author of The Two-Family House

"This page-turner is finely balanced by a heartwarming journey that spans decades. I couldn’t put it down." ―Amy Sue Nathan, author of Left to Chance

"Schnall effortlessly weaves past and present in a tale of two women striving for their dreams in the cutthroat NYC advertising world. With a fascinating concept and characters you'll root for, The Subway Girls had me racing to its satisfying conclusion." ―Kristin Contino, author of Legacy of Us

"Susie Orman Schnall seamlessly moves between the present and past, weaving together the stories of two different women facing the timeless decisions of love, career, and happiness." ―Orly Konig-Lopez, author of The Distance Home

"The Subway Girls is an enchanting story of two women separated by decades, and brought together by fate. Olivia and Charlotte are two of the most lovable literary heroines I’ve met in ages, I was rooting for both of them from the first page to the last. A charming, thoughtful story that illuminates how much has changed for women over the past few generations, and how much has not." ―Andrea Dunlop, author of
Losing the Light and She Regrets Nothing

About the Author

Susie Orman Schnall grew up in Los Angeles and graduated from the University of Pennsylvania. Her writing has appeared in publications including The New York Times, The Huffington Post, POPSUGAR, Writer’s Digest, andGlamour. She is also the author of the award-winning novels On Grace and The Balance Project. Susie has spoken extensively on work-life balance and is the founder of The Balance Project interview series. She lives in Purchase, NY, with her husband and their three sons.

Product details

  • File Size: 3040 KB
  • Print Length: 305 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1250169763
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin (July 10, 2018)
  • Publication Date: July 10, 2018
  • Sold by: Macmillan
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0763SH828
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #37,657 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


140 customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Showing 1-8 of 140 reviews

July 16, 2018
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
review image
4 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
September 18, 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
July 26, 2018
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
August 28, 2018
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
September 12, 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
September 15, 2018
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
August 10, 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
September 21, 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Subway Girls: A Novel
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Subway Girls: A Novel

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?