Hill Climb Racing 2 Check out Santa's new ride Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide $24.99 for a limited time only Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Three new members of the Echo family Black Friday Deals Week: Fire tablets starting at $29.99. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



Enthusiast: Coloringon November 26, 2015
Succubus Dreams has broken my heart for the second time, even though I knew what was coming! Although I had forgotten how it came about, so I still audibly gasped when these things did happen! Life has continued on as normal for Georgina and Company, except now there's a new succubus in town. And Georgina is tasked as mentor to Tawny who is probably the most inept succubus in history. Then Georgina starts having very vivid dreams which leave her drained by morning, and things with Seth seem to be more tense than usual.

I absolute love Succubus Dreams. Again it shows us just how much Georgina longs to be human, or at least how she aches for humanity. Her dreams, while happy, torment her because they show what can never be. Not to mention that no matter how many men she sleeps with, she can't hold a charge, which makes it harder to keep her lips off of Seth. And he's not making it any easier, because he does want her. Badly. Seth finally has some reactions to everything that is going on with him and Georgina. Obviously, their relationship is far from normal, and that's okay. But they still have real problems which cannot simply be put off on the fact that she's immortal and he's not. As much as I hated their fights, everything said is 100% spot on. I still don't have to like it though.

Aside from the relationship drama, Succubus Dreams also has an engaging plot. Tawny is a pretty humorous addition to the cast, because she just sucks so badly at being a succubus! Then there's the matter of an army of angels being in town, but not saying why. Georgina of course figures that out while trying to learn why she's being drained in her sleep. Very interesting stuff. Then there's the matter with one of the angels, and it almost made me cry! I don't think that happened the first time, but just aahh! My heart.

Succubus Dreams is one of those books that just rips your heart out. It's impossible to not get caught up in these character lives, even the secondary ones. I may know what's coming next but that didn't stop me from feeling the emotional ups and downs once again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2013
"The love in his eyes was so powerful, I needed to look away. Seth had an amazing grasp of the English language, but there were days when that skill was nothing compared to what he told me in his looks."

This book put me through an emotional ringer. RM definitely pushed the emotional envelope with her characters in this installment and my heart did flip flops more than once. Georgina and Seth are desperately trying to figure out their relationship but it just seems they can't catch a break. All of Georgina's friends seem to be against her relationship, well except Carter, and she is starting to worry about Seth's mortality plus not being able to have sex with the one person you desperately love seems to be adding to the dysfunction in their relationship.

But Georgina doesn't have a ton of time to deal with that because something is zapping all her power out while she is sleeping. She is also having vivid dreams of herself and a little girl that consume her waking thoughts. Erik isn't able to help but leads her to Dante a dream expert. There is also a group of Angels about in the city looking into something and using Georgina's apartment as a type of headquarters. Also, the imp that brokered Georgina's deal is in town and is trying to cause problems too along with Tawny the new succubus on the block. When it rains it pours.

Some of the plot devices in this were predictable, that said I didn't care. I saw the ending coming and still it unraveled in a way that kept me completely engaged and emotionally on edge with a few surprises twisted in. The subplot for the entire series is still building and I have a lot of theories but none of them have been proven or dismissed yet. Even as much as I enjoy the supernatural mystery happening I'm engaged in the romance between Seth and Georgina.

"This is a, uh, friendship ring right?"
"Yeah, don't worry. If I propose, you'll know it. For one thing, I'll be hyperventilating." A sly smile--surprisingly sexy--turned up his lips. "And it'll be a ruby."
"Rubies? No diamonds? Too expensive for the old writer's salary, huh?"
He made a disparaging grunt at that. "No, I just think diamonds are common, that's all. If I get married, it'll be because something uncommon is occurring. Besides, you wear a lot of red, right? I know how important it is for your accessories to match."

This was the hardest book in the series for me to get through. Not because of the writing but because of the heartache I felt for characters. Still it this was the best book in the series so far and I will give RM some props for taking chances and possibly even going against the grain. If you have been a fan of this series so far I do not think you will be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2014
OK - this book is the turning point in the series. All along, the relationship between Seth and Georgie seems to be hanging by a thread. How can two adults continue a relationship without the physical connection? Georgie understands it and tries to keep an open mind about things, but Seth being the incredibly understanding man he is insists that they can make it work. Then something happens that turns their relationship upside down and Seth's convictions are challenged. We can sense things beginning to crack between them. All the while, Georgie is juggling work, a dream/life sucking entity, a new succubus in her charge and the appearance of her maker Niphon, who she despises. Too many balls in the air and inevitably a crash is going to come. When it does, it's devastating. The end of the book broke me up. I dove right into Succubus Heat right away!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2017
This is the third book in Richelle Mead's Succubus/Georgina Kincaid series and it's a great read. As you might expect, we have a few new divine visitors showing up in town in this book, this time a posse of angels and friends show up and make Georgina's apartment their hangout, which has its moments of humor. Georgina also gets tasked with training up Tawny, the most inept new succubus known to demon-kind.

There's also a new mystery in this novel as Georgina starts having dreams each time she gets her succubus fix that leave her waking up drained and noone seems to be able to identify why or how to stop it. Searching for some help with her dream problem, Georgina meets another new character in the cast, Dante. Georgina and Seth's romance continues its rocky course with some unexpected developments near the end of the book.

What I really love about this series and this book in particular is how morally grey the characters are. This makes the whole demonic aspect of half the cast a lot more interesting, as well as seeing how the humans who haven't sold their souls fare as well. Also, Ms. Mead writes extremely relateable, charismatic characters that you end up rooting for, even when they're definitely making some rough choices.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2015
Oh book 3... This one was something else... So much deeper than the first two books... So much more emotion...

In this one, we see Georgina and Seth in very vulnerable emotionally raw states. I almost didn't make it through the whole book. I actually had to stop reading for a few days to get back to a state where I could finish. Despite the emotional upheaval caused by this book, I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was funny, erotic, and jam packed with mystery. We also meet new characters who make the story so much more interesting:
There's Tawny: the buxom dimwitted succubus who couldn't seem to catch a man if he threw himself at her for some reason
There's Niphon: Ok, so he isn't so new since he's the imp who bought Georgina's soul once upon a long time ago, but this aggravating son of a biscuit can't seem to leave her alone (even after finishing, I still don't know why)
There's Dante: who carries a big secret, but would love nothing more than to lose himself in Georgina's pants (him being hot is besides the point)
There's Vincent, Yasmine, & Joel: let's just call these friends of Carter's (kinda sorta) the Angel Squad.
And last but not least (since she plays a pretty big part), there's Maddie: Doug's sister who has THE biggest crush on Seth...

The drama and mystery really left me scratching my head though. I'm usually pretty good at figuring out what's going on before it's revealed, but this time I couldn't for the life of me figure this one out. So when the culprit behind Georgina's missing energy was finally revealed, I was very much surprised. Plus, the mixing of the different cultures (not to mention the flashbacks to Georgina's past) make for a very interesting read.

I found myself literally laughing out loud and getting thoroughly pissed right along with Georgina (thanks to Richelle Mead's AMAZEBALLS descriptive writing). She just knows how to drag me into her stories... I just can't seem to escape... But then again, I don't think I want to... :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2017
I just can't move on from the end of this book. The author totally ruined the love these characters were suppose to share. You have to have pretty loose morals to go along with this series to begin with, but for the hero **spoiler** to sleep with a mutual friend that the heroine will have to see daily...that's just unforgivable! How does this author expect us to be okay with this. Sure the heroine sleeps around, but its always with a stranger and in a different form (I know, except for the one time...but she at least wished it was the hero). Even though I'm sure this series has a "happy ending" I will not give this author any more of my money because there is no way the hero can be redeemed in my eyes now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2017
I know it's a set up but I just can't stand Seth anymore, and I can't stand Georgina for being so stupid and centered on the unimportant to look at the grand machinations . Alas, still good enough to remain hooked.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2014
Something strange is happening to Georgina. She’s having strange dreams, and then wakes up with all of her energy drained. Human psychics, Erik and Dante, are the only ones who are taking her energy drain seriously. There is a brand new succubus in town and Georgina has been tapped to be the girl’s mentor. Unfortunately, the new succubus is amazingly bad at seduction. A pack of angels have suddenly descended on her apartment for some top secret Heavenly mission. On top of everything, things with Georgina and Seth are strained and temptation is getting increasingly difficult. Can a succubus ever catch a break?

Emotionally, this book wrecked me. Don’t worry, I won’t give anything away. In this book we see more of the downside of a succubus dating a human. She lives with the constant fear of her mortal boyfriend getting hurt or dying. He feels she keeps too many secrets of her succubus life from him. How can a happy future be possible? I want to keep rooting for Georgina and Seth, but it is easy to see this is going to hurt both of them unless some Hellish loophole can be found.

Overall, I give Succubus Dreams…

Plot – 4 ½ bookmarks
Character Development – 5 bookmarks
Love Story – 4 ½ bookmarks

Dream Cast (otherwise known as who I pictured while reading) – Same as earlier books with a couple of additions. Robert Pattinson (Seth), Sophia Bush (Georgina), Javier Bardem (Jerome), Kyle Howard (Doug), Jeremy Piven (Warren), Danny Glover (Eric), Theo Alexander (Sol), Andrew Rothenberg (Dante). And I finally figured out who Carter the grunge angel is… David Anders.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2015
Up until this point, I've more or less thought of this series as a good "fluff" series - one that's entertaining and fun to read, but doesn't require much of an emotional investment. After reading this 3rd installment, I have now changed my mind. I've always found Georgina likeable, but I've had trouble empathizing with her because of her job duties (I'd compare it to a porn star trying to have a "normal" relationship)- but this book finally gives the reader a deeper look at Georgina's character and we start to understand her choices and how those choices affect her. You feel her heartbreak, you feel her self-hatred, and you feel her loneliness - and it's done in that unique way that sticks with the reader and makes her character memorable. There aren't many writers that are able deliver powerful emotions that come across just as real in written form as they would live...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2016
As a product it's one of really good quality.
As a book, I love it and will definitelly read it again! Mead's easy to read writing style and amicable characters are unique and honestly I've had a really good time reading it. I love everything about the story and I'm already in deep waters in this fandom! Once again, Richelle Mead has managed to make my days fly by with her amazing stories! I highly recomend this book to anyone who wants a juicy story to read and can stand and enjoy the adult scenes described in it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here