Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

  • List Price: $17.99
  • Save: $4.59 (26%)
FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Suck It, Wonder Woman!: T... has been added to your Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $25.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Solid used copy with visible wear.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

Suck It, Wonder Woman!: The Misadventures of a Hollywood Geek Paperback – January 18, 2011

3.7 out of 5 stars 101 customer reviews

See all 12 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$13.40
$6.00 $0.01

A Little Thing Called Life: On Loving Elvis Presley, Bruce Jenner, and Songs in Between by Linda Thompson
A Little Thing Called Life
The upcoming release from Linda Thompson. Learn more
$13.40 FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Frequently Bought Together

  • Suck It, Wonder Woman!: The Misadventures of a Hollywood Geek
  • +
  • Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)
Total price: $21.45
Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

Review

“Turn to page 92 now!” ―Garry Shandling

A book only Olivia Munn could write. Better read it now; everyone'll be talking about it tomorrow.” ―Stan Lee

“This book so good. You buy now. Okay, bye.” ―Olivia’s mom

“If Citizen Kane were a book, this would be it.” ―Jon Favreau

“She's part Asian! And I like sushi.” ―Masi Oka

“This book confirms why Olivia has garnered a massive supportive following--she's fearless, honest, relatable, and truly funny.” ―Elijah Wood

About the Author

Olivia Munn is an actress and comedian. She has an ucoming role on Aaron Sorkin's HBO dramady The Newsroom and is a correspondent on Comedy Central's The Daily Show with Jon Stewart. Rolling Stone named Olivia one of the "Best Characters on TV" in 2010, saying she's "sarcastic and fearless ... with razor-sharp self-awareness." GQ named her one of the "113 Funniest in America." She has been voted to the #2 spot two years in a row on Maxim's Hot 100. Vanity Fair said, "It was damn near impossible not to be charmed by her... instantly likable." She was anointed the "Queen of Comic-Con." The Washington Post has said that Olivia "cultivated this... with dry wit and a wink...swift and sharp with her improvised lines... Olivia was never at a loss for her place -- or for a one-liner." The New York Times, LA Times, Wall Street Journal, New York Magazine and USA Today have all shown their support of her sardonic humor. Known for going above and beyond to show her appreciation to fans, who she calls "more like friends than fans," Olivia says, "They've given me this amazing opportunity and life and I am beyond grateful." Raised between Oklahoma and Tokyo, Japan, she now resides in LA.

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The latest book club pick from Oprah
"The Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead is a magnificent novel chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. See more

Product Details

  • Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin (January 18, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0312583761
  • ISBN-13: 978-0312583767
  • Product Dimensions: 5.5 x 0.7 x 8.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 9.6 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (101 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #311,900 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I have always enjoyed G4's "Attack of the Show", and the extremely beautiful Olivia Munn has always been a big reason. I bought this book hoping it would be a collection of humorous essays in the vein of Sarah Silverman or Chelsea Handler. What a disappointment. I won't go to great lengths comparing the three women; I'll just say those two women are comics, and Olivia Munn is not. Olivia is primarily known for wearing sexy costumes and claiming to be a hot female geek.

Olivia goes to great lengths to make us feel sorry for her exclusion for different cliques starting in kindergarten. She comes off as completely self centered and unaware that this is a normal part of childhood. She also needs someone to tell her that nobody feels sorry for the ugly duckling once it has become a well paid, famous, frequently lusted after swan. Not exactly the tear jerker she seemed to think it would be. Revealing that she was a cheerleader and model during her school years also takes a lot of the sting out of her self pity.

Another annoying habit Olivia gives in to is revealing the ugliest traits of the nameless high powered Hollywood directors and producers she tried to court favors from in her early career. It astonishes me when a girl who jumps into giant pies in a French maid uniform for a very comfortable living whines about being pursued by the very men she has gone to great lengths to meet in hopes of having them forward her career. It's the natural order of things for her to take things from them, but offensive if they try to take things from her.
Read more ›
12 Comments 209 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
To be honest, I didn't give two figs about Olivia Munn either way when I sat down and read this book. Sure, I was aware of her co-hosting "Attack of the Show", she was on some sitcom for awhile (until it was cancelled) and I think I saw her on The Daily Show once or twice. Why would I read this book if my knowledge of her was so limited? Well, basically, it's because I get a guilty pleasure out of reading books written by celebrities (or ghost-written by other people with celebrities or vaguely looked at before a celebrity slaps their name on it) and, usually, the more useless a celebrity, the more unintentionally amusing the book. This book seemed like a prime candidate because it seemed like it would fit this last category so well. Olivia is a celebrity that is celebrated by geek culture, but for reasons that completely baffle me (maybe it's because I'm older and cool - which is not the target demographic for "Attack of the Show" and, ostensibly, Munn herself.)

From the first sentence of the introduction ("Yeah, so, I wrote a book.") to the closing line of the introduction ("f--- everybody who was ever mean to me"), I knew I was in for a treat because this was going to be a book with absolutely nothing to say for the next 288 pages. I got excited... and maybe even peed a little. Essentially, the book is broken up into three types of chapters: ones that are little anecdotes from Olivia's life, ones that pander to the geek crowd and ones that are total BS designed to waste paper. It would seem to me that most people would be interested in the first type, mildly amused by the second and totally baffled by the third.
Read more ›
Comment 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This book is in desperate need of an editor.
Olivia puts chapters together in seemingly random fashion. Talking about the industry in one chapter (which she is painfully unaware that she is somewhere near the bottom) and then jumping to her childhood in another. Then talking about random boyfriends etc. It's not really "bad" just jarring and really ordinary. Painfully ordinary in fact. It's clear that SHE really cared about all of the stories and anecdotes but never asked herself why other people would care.

She tells a story some sleazy "show biz guy" eating at a restaurant and how badly he is treating one of the girls at his table (which I feel I should point out Olivia is also sitting at.)
This girl/struggling actress (Stacy I'll call her) is implied to be sleeping with sleazy guy, in exchange for a part or something. Olivia eventually has had enough with the man's horrible insults to this poor girl and puts her foot down...by calling Stacy out on her submissive behavior.

"Why do you to let him talk to you like that?" to which sleazy guy smirks and responds with "Yea, why do you let me talk to you like that?"

The witless banter goes on until Stacy demands money from the sleazy guy to get her car from the vallet. She states that she doesn't have to take this kind of abuse as she went to an Ivy League school. Munn then describes the community college bumper sticker on Stacy's car while lamenting "Oh honey..."

Two things that stuck out at me from this story:

1. WTF? Olivia attacks this girl for her doormat behavior, when she should be attacking the douchebag guy on his douchebag behavior. Also why is she eating at the table of a man like this? Is it possible Olivia Munn could ALSO be fishing for a role?

2.
Read more ›
Comment 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Suck It, Wonder Woman!: The Misadventures of a Hollywood Geek
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Suck It, Wonder Woman!: The Misadventures of a Hollywood Geek

Pages with Related Products. See and discover other items: memoir