Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 11-20 of 603 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 971 reviews
on February 14, 2014
Sunshine is one of those movies where it is best to know the bare minimum about the plot when you see it for the first time so I won't say too much to that end. What you should know though is that it is incredible. In fact, everyone who I have ever spoken to about this movie agrees that it is amazing in so many ways. Sadly, it slipped under most peoples radar.

The basics of it is that the sun is dying and a team have been sent to re-ignite it. On their long journey to complete their mission they encounter, shall we say, complications. It is the most tense sic-fi space thriller I have seen since Alien and sits in my all time top 10 between Alien and Moon.

Another great movie by Danny Boyle with an excellent cast, a truly interesting story, perfect special effects, and an epic soundtrack - well worth your time and money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2014
After gathering half of the world's fission able material onto one ship, a mission is sent to the sun to attempt to reignite it's dying core, and save Earth from destruction. When this ship is lost before arriving at the Sun, a desperate last effort is launched to accomplish what the first mission could not.
The effects are beautiful, and the acting is well done. Truly, the cast lends buoyancy to what otherwise could have been a great concept that was simply not handled to any of its true potential.
As with most Saving The Planet movies, the science is far from plausible and some things are a bit too contrived, but in a genre known for constant explosions and non-stop action, the pacing and storyline of Sunshine was refreshing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2013
I watched "Sunshine" with high hopes, as it has been compared often to "2001: A Space Odyssey," which certainly is an acquired taste, but once that taste is acquired, that movie becomes meditative and even transformative--it uses speculative science as a means by which to explore philosophy and the meaning of life. And somehow it pulls it off. "Sunshine" does not.

But most movies don't, so what's the problem? Well, "Sunshine" was directed in such a way that it looks like a cinematic cousin to "2001," and in the beginning, its premise suggests that the astronauts aboard the sun-bound space ship are as much on personal spiritual journeys as they are literally hoping to hurtle close enough to the sun to launch a nuclear device into it. I don't have a problem with suspending scientific sense if there is an authentic philosophical payoff--but once the journey is sent off course to investigate a ship that disappeared years earlier, the story doesn't only fall apart, but it becomes shreds of different stories that the writer and director never find a way to piece together. I won't go into the specifics, but in the end, the movie becomes a laughable, groanable mess. I had to remind myself to enjoy the stunning visual effects (They really deserve to envelop a better movie.) toward the end, but I was able to do so because they are so well conceived.

I'm sure a lot of people would argue that comparing this to another iconic space movie is pointless and bound to be fruitless, but it's impossible for this viewer not to do so; the director obviously (and overtly) borrows a great deal of direction from Stanley Kubrick, perhaps as an homage, and the premise seems comparable enough to warrant comparisons. But where the mysteries of space and human beings' place in it drives 2001, and that mystery is solved, in a way, by Kubrick forcing his viewer to go on a hard-won visual journey, Sunshine starts off exploring the final frontier, drops in Freddy Kreuger halfway through, and then just throws the whole thing into the incinerator.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2014
I don't know much about the science behind the ideas in this film, but how one of the characters can apparently run, do pushups and function well despite having their skin burnt off; to me that seems lacking a bit in credulity. Apparently 7 years of radiation only slows you down in the looks department. Despite this cheesy b-movie decision, The acting in this film is great and I liked how the women looked like they could be real scientists rather than models. Same for most of the male crew. It gave a very realistic feel to the movie. The dialogue was also natural and I liked the story-line. It will keep you on the edge of your seat. I found some of the film making confusing, but overall I enjoyed myself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2017
This is a great sci-fi thriller. I don't like horror films at all, but this does a great job of creating suspense and a bit of terror without crossing the line.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2015
This was a decent idea. It actually started well but I felt that much of it ended up being non-sensical. I really like Sci-Fi flicks but they must be believable and certain key elements towards the end of this movie simply were not.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2017
It some ways well done, but sort of boring and a bit predictable. 2001 and 2010 were a lot better if you like this sort of stuff, which I do:)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2017
Such a crazy, brilliant, stunning movie to watch. Everyone is so scared of the dark that they never considered to be scared of the light too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2013
As the headline suggests Sunshine is quite different from other movies of its kind. All space travel movies have a mission as the foundation of their story. What sets Sunshine apart is this mission is not about exploration nor answering the ominous (but almost always predictable) distress call. The crew is charged with reigniting a dying sun to save life on earth. However impractical, the mission calls for them to do this by detonating a bomb the size of a small state.

Like any other Sci-Fi film you must dismiss some degree of reality and logic. This is all a part of the fun. With a harmonious cast of actors, their performances breath life into the roles of the typically-unlikely, yet always-necessary group of experts with the burden of saving mankind resting squarely on their shoulders. Facing obvious obstacles, the group is met by its greatest challenge when it comes in contact with the last ship to attempt the exact same mission.

Fans of movies like Event Horizon, Mission To Mars, Red Planet and Alien will probably concede that Sunshine's strengths in pace, casting and story make it a very likeable picture. Though it never reached wide release it offers an engaging and tense experience for viewers who, in my opinion, will be quite pleasantly surprised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2012
I know some people nitpick at some of the details in this movie..but, it didn't phase me.
Danny Boyle does a fantastic job of creating tension, and the feel of what it must be like for 8 people to be confined in a ship for, what I'll guess would be years. Extreme Big Brother!
The buildup is great. Lots of problems arise as they approach the sun. Both in the ship and out. And it kept me on the edge of my seat.
Unfortunately, the end kind of took a weird turn. Someone pops up in the climax, and even after rewatching the scene a few times, I was still a little clueless. And even after I figured it out...I was still perplexed. It's like most of the script was written, then they hired someone else to write the end.
Oh well..the first 3/4 of the movie is great. Acting is phenomonal. I was especially impressed with Chris Evans. Didn't think he could pull off something like this. But, everyone else is good too.
As for some of the bonus material...the commentary by Boyle is excellent. The guy is talented, and you get some great insight on his vision for this movie.
I would recommend this movie...just pay close attention, especially at the end.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here