Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Wonder Woman now available on Blu-ray, 3D, and 4K Tailgating FFII_gno

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 603 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 971 reviews
on September 7, 2016
This has an authentic feeling of real space travel and the astronauts decisions are heroic and based on logic. It's refreshing to see some science in science fiction. Yes the third act deviates from the great astrophysics and science but this is an intriguing film. The mission it posits is one that could be a far future reality, adding to the realism. There is tension throughout the film. it is a known fact that our sun will burn out at some point. It is more likely that we will face an extinction event long before that however. Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2016
I purchased this disc when I was on an Indie Sci-Fi kick. I had just watched a few "discovered footage" flicks. But this is different. The effects are magnificent. The actors aren't the actors that you'll see in the big studio block-busters, but their performances are brilliant. The story line is a bit of a stretch, but still seems believable to me. That may be because I'm not a physicist, I don't know. All in all, a great movie.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2016
This was probably meant to be a story of a heroic team on a mission to save the mankind. However, something went wrong and it turned to be a story of bad luck and unprofessionalism. As a result, one misfortunate crew member dies after another in stupid situations almost like in that famous Agatha Christie story "Ten little soldiers".
"Two little Soldier Boys sitting in the sun;
One got frizzled up and then there was one.
One little Soldier Boy left all alone;
He went out and hanged himself and then there were none".
However, I liked Cillian Murphy and his character was sympathetic. That was the only reason why I finished watching. What I did not like, was the scene where the crew decides whom to kill to save the oxygen. During the whole movie, they were so ready to sacrifice each other or themselves instead of trying to work out a plan and survive together. At leat, that was the impression that I got.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2017
This was a surprisingly good film. As a premise alone, I did not find it all too interesting, but it was superbly acted, well-cast, well-written, and the visuals effects are incredibly haunting. This is a film that really shows the quality of work and creativity that was invested in it. Its a quite a remarkable film and deserves a place in the lexicon of sci-fi classics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2014
Fun concept. The sun is burning out but amidst all the nuclear fusion still taking place, it will only take the biggest nuclear bomb little ole earth can generate to get 'er going once again. Never mind that the most humongous explosion humanity could muster would amount to a teeny puff in an object the size of our nearest star. A million earths would fit inside the sun . . . neatly. More than 1000 earths would fit into Jupiter. You would be crushed under your own weight if you were on a planet the size of Jupiter because it's size means it's gravity is many times that of earth's. Now imagine your weight on an object the size of the sun. So scientifically, unbearable heat is just one problem of flying into the sun. The astronauts and their payload would be flat as a pancake before entering a sunspot. Not to mention fried to a crackly crunch.

Needless to say, the endings of these kinds of movies are never realistic. They end up reflecting our overpowering desire for immortality and usually venture off the road of reality and into some facet of religion. The masses approve and the movie is over.

I won't tell you how this one ends. Maybe it's unique. Maybe not. See for yourself. But I did enjoy it and I've added it to my collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2015
This is one of those movies where after watching it you only think, "Hmm" and forget about it. After about a day, it suddenly hits you just how powerful of a movie this is. Overall I think this movie is just perfect. When I first watched it, I thought the story was a bit silly. I pointed out all the various impossible scenarios and other inaccuracies within the movie. Then after thinking about it for a while, it suddenly dawned on me that regardless of what non factual errors they may have made, that isn't as important as the overall movie. That about sums up the plot of this movie as well: in the end, nothing really mattered, only the the singular fact. All the pain, hardship, all the emotions felt, all the desires, everything in the end didn't mattered. All that mattered was the overall mission.

The movie Sunshine is a rather unique space movie. I say that because it's one of few movies that doesn't involve going from planet to planet, or anything of that kind. There's no aliens, no war, nothing. It's about a small crew trying to get to the sun to hopefully save the world. The sun is dying from some disaster and a scientific team is attempting to remedy that. In the end, you get a very small cast of characters and they all fit well. One thing this movie done well is show you that everyone is human, they have pain, fear, and emotion. At the same time, they have fear of their own immortality and therefore act out against the others in a way to preserve themselves. Yet, regardless of what their feelings are, the mission to save the world is far more important. The name Icarus fits the name of the space ship well. Those of you who don't know the story of Icarus, it's about a boy who tried to escape prison after his father made him wings from feathers and wax. His father told him not to fly close to the sun as the wax would melt, but not to go into the sea as the feathers would become wet and heavy. What happened was Icarus loved flight and kept going higher and higher closer to the sun only for the wax to melt, and he fell into the sea, where his feathers became wet and heavy. The story of Icarus fits the overall movie well enough.

I highly recommend picking up the soundtrack to the movie as well.The song Adagio in D Minor is flat out one of the best musical orchestra I heard in a while. It goes well with the overall theme of the movie.

Overall a must see for anyone. My thought is watch this movie picking up all the wrong things. You'll eventually think about it and in the end you'll realize this is one of the best movies you could watch in the past decade.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2013
It's funny reading negative remarks about the questionable physics presented in this movie. Cars immediately exploding when shot in key areas with a handgun is okay, easily unattainable girls having sudden awakenings falling in love with complete dorks is okay, and yet suddenly they're astrophysicists when it comes to this movie? This is a cinematic experience, not a physics lesson.

If you can get over the unmerited sense of superior mental intellect that you think you harbor, Sunshine is one of the most underrated and relatively unknown movies of my lifetime. On what is clearly a relatively low budget, Danny Boyle presents one of the most visually-striking and audibly-pleasing works I've seen in a while. My advice is to watch the movie in the dark, with a good surround sound system.

There is a bit of a weird twist in the movie's overall theme/genre near the end, which is a bit unexpected and weird, but it doesn't detract from the experience.

Without going into too much detail and ruining it, I'd say that Captain Kaneda's big moment is one of the most epic scenes in all movie-going history.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2016
I enjoyed this movie a lot up until about 2/3 of the way through it. Then out of nowhere it has the most random and bizarre genre switch I think I've ever seen in a movie. All of the sudden there's a magical undying monster running around killing everyone? Was hurtling towards the sun strapped to bomb the size of a city where you can die from basically anything around you not interesting enough? It almost feels like this movie was intentionally ruined at the end. Giving it 3 stars because a good amount of the movie is worth watching, just uh.. make up your own ending and you'll be happier.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2015
This movie is essentially at its core, another scifi slasher film. Only the slasher bits are honestly the absolute worst part of the movie. I think the slasher bits detract dramatically from the movies overall impact. That said the slasher bits are actually a minimal part of the end of the film. Don't go into this expecting a friday the thirteenth slasher. While a case can be made for a higher body count the slasher in at least screen time only really manages to kill one person. Not your norm for a slasher flick. That's because this film is more about the characters than the slasher.

The end of the movie feels a bit drawn out in places with the director trying to increase tension but going over the line and making things get a little annoying. However over all this is an interesting film that manages to mix elements of 2001 a space odyssey, Event Horizon and even a little Alien to create its own unique atmosphere and story. Don't get me wrong this film isn't trying to be any of those films it just evokes similar atmosphere and emotion in some scenes.

Summery: One of the better space slashers I've ever seen.
The good: Characters get a chance to grow and breath in the course of the film.
The bad: Slasher is essentially only there to push the film to its desired conclusion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2017
This should've been a really good movie but it got really messed up and just snowballed into a giant mess.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here