Industrial Deals HPC Trade in your textbooks Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. STEM Limited time offer Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TNF TNF TNF  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on December 12, 2017
very interesting to read, although not so helpful in self-improvements, still fun!
While reading I just keep thinking to myself, a lot of these conclusions were based on the law of large numbers, so a lot of more likely/less likely in there(if you know what I mean). I mean even if the percentage of occurrence of one thing is 1% higher than the other, you can say that's more likely to happen. But I personally think sometimes that's not anything worth concluding.
The author of the black swan will probably oppose a lot of the conclusions made in this book since they don't count outliers..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 19, 2017
I liked it. I think a little below the first one. In a few areas it kind of moves off in a tangent but brings itself back by the end of the chapter..... if a little abruptly.

Overall another good one from Dubner and Levitt, especially if you like this kind of material.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 11, 2017
Love love love this book. It is engaging and funny. I've recommended it to several folks. I keep it on my desk for loaning out. If folks would just open their minds to the possibilities of what actual data will reveal they might find what they believe to be true because of gut feelings is really false thinking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 18, 2017
It contains a few pieces data now discredited, but it is a fountain of thought provoking data. Children's seats. AIDS prevention. It's got it all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 8, 2017
The reasons people act as they do in activities is interesting. Part of the reason is that "common sense" is not always in play.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 29, 2017
A new insight to how societies interact. Superbly & simply written to be read by everyone 3 to any age.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 24, 2017
He's done it again. Good perspective on things. HE makes it interesting to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 27, 2010
So, the front cover of my first conquest of 2010 already almost broke the only rule I'd set for myself. It's a shiny white cover with the authors' names in slightly raised lettering. However, it's also hardcover and doesn't have any glossy color photos (unless that's a real picture of an exploding fruit on the bottom of the cover, but I'm 84% certain it's not), so I think I'm safe.

On the other hand, it has a laughably long subtitle: Global Cooling, Patriotic Prostitutes and Why Suicide Bombers Should Buy Life Insurance. Hmm, a shiny hardcover with an exploding fruit, long subtitle, and raised lettering. Not exactly a recipe for success, right? Well, I suppose this is why one should never judge a book by its cover, because this is going into the record as a Recommended Reading.

Actually, let me take that back. You can judge a book by its cover, somewhat. As if the graphic design doesn't scream "Please Pay Attention" loudly enough, the content itself immediately continues the theme. The first two sentences of the book proclaim, "The time has come to admit that in our first book [Freakonomics], we lied. Twice." Pages later, we read that "as you leave your friend's party [in an intoxicated state], the decision should be clear: driving is safer than walking." (One wonders if that last line will eventually provoke a second admission of lying in the next installment, which must inevitably be titled SuperDuperFreakonomics: Funny Wars, Political PMS, and Why Rapists Make the Best Babysitters.)

But don't let the hyperbole fool you: authors Steven Levitt (a professor at the University of Chicago) and Stephen Dubner (a former editor for The New York Times Magazine) are no lightweights, and they pack plenty of legitimate punches to keep readers scratching their heads for a considerably long time. (I'm still scratching mine.) For example, did you know that a Chicago prostitute is statistically more likely to have sex with a police officer than to be arrested by one? (The undercover beat is just brutal.) Or that many hospital infections could be prevented by doctors washing their hands? Alright, alright, so you already knew that one. But what you probably didn't know -- unless you happen to work at a hospital -- is that, amidst a sea of failed attempts to compel doctors to comply with basic hygienic standards, simply installing a computer screensaver at one hospital depicting the swarms of bacteria on a human hand brought health compliance up to an almost perfect score.

As does its predecessor, SuperFreakonomics deals in human behavior and how various incentives, executed intelligently, can pretty much get human beings to do anything. Hence, the 1961 Milgram Experiment -- except that Levitt and Dubner wave breezily at this landmark psychological study, deeming it a prime exemplar in the crowded field of How to Make Any Experiment Confirm Your Findings by Conducting it in a Lab. And somehow, this actually makes sense (the experiment's mild repudiation, not the study itself). You see, the authors gently intone, human beings are little more than self-interested machines; remove the carrot and stick, and you've got yourself a rabbit with nowhere to go.

This pleasantly short 216-page book is replete with observations, projections, and muses that will gnaw at you. They will make you wonder how you didn't think of these ideas first, even while mentally flogging yourself for allowing a modicum of gullibility to seep into your otherwise cynical worldview. Combating hurricanes with a small army of large rings centered around pipes leading into the depths? Kissing global warming goodbye by shooting sulfur dioxide eighteen miles into the air? Yes, Levitt and Dubner respond gleely, yes, we can.

What was perhaps most fascinating in this book were the many ways in which data was collected on unpredictable and uncontrollable events. In economics, as well as in politics and other social science fields, it is quite difficult to achieve exactness in the same sense as the other, "hard" sciences (i.e. chemistry, physics, etc.). This is primarily because, unlike those other areas of study, economists and political scientists are not able to conduct controlled experiments comparing one set to another.

However, these limitations can be mitigated to near-miraculous degrees at times. For example, in a section on global warming, Dubner and Levitt note that in the first several days following September 11th in the U.S. (when all civilian flights were grounded), the ground temperature increased fairly dramatically due to less sun shielding from aircraft exhaust trails. Using the aftermath of a domestic tragedy to produce quantifiable research that would never have been available via testing, the authors make it quite clear that virtually anything can be studied scientifically if you dig deeply enough.

Of course, the digging of Dubner and Levitt is accompanied by their own giggling soundtrack, as the machinations of their own nerdiness are readily translated into annoyingly cute barbs at fellow economists and so forth. And now that I'm a little older and wiser than when I'd read the prequel, I'm more than a little shocked that I had never before caught on to Levitt and Dubner's obvious ideological leanings bubbling beneath these pages' surfaces. (Hint: Chicago school of economics.) That said, readers from both sides of the aisle will have no problem enjoying this idiosyncratic tour through the intersection of the human mind and the free market.

[...]
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 17, 2010
Gonzo Economist Stephen Levitt and co-author Stephen Dubner provide a second-helping of their offbeat behavioral analysis. As in Freakonomics, these readable authors explain more human economic decision-making. Here they examine such subjects as street prostitution, the banking habits of suicide bombers, hospital survival rates, global warming, the effectiveness of child safety seats, etc. Some of their facts seem obvious, while others range from astonishing, to thought-provoking, to trivial. Readers again gain improved understanding of economic and behavioral micro-analysis, the need for imaginative approaches, and why laws and actions sometimes bring unintended consequences. There are even trivia tidbits like how kangaroo farts are methane-free (sparing the environment), clients tend to request more expensive services from hookers on Saturday nights, and television's arrival brought higher crime to some places but decreased spousal abuse in India. As with the first book, some of the authors' conclusions seem debatable (like their doubts about global warming). Also, the authors sometimes fail to follow up on interesting facts they uncover. For example, if sex-selected abortion and female infanticide in traditional societies have created shortages of females, might not the value of young ladies increase at marraige time, thus reducing the need for dowries? Still, this is a fun read, one that should inspire many discussions and debates.

Like its predecessor, this edition is thought-provoking, enjoyable, and superbly readable. Still, it lacks some of the bite found in FREAKONOMICS, and it could use more than 216 pages - maybe the authors will put those pages in the next edition. I know several economics students from the University of Chicago (with its 10 Nobel Laureates in Economics, most in the world), and they describe Professor Levitt as clearly offbeat. Maybe that's why these books are so much fun.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 18, 2017
Great follow up to Freakonomics. Section on climate change great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse