Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 83 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 96 reviews
on July 11, 2013
Super Friends fans rejoice! Wasting no time since recently releasing Season 5 of "Super Friends" on DVD, Warner Brothers presents us with a DVD release of Season 6, entitled: "Super Friends: Legacy of Super Powers" coming to DVD on October 8th. This is the 1981-1982 season, which had only 6 half hour episodes, broken down into 18 seven minute shorts.

Here's what you get.

The 1981-1982 Shorts: (Please note that every 3 cartoons listed below make up one half hour episode)
01) Outlaws Of Orion
02) Three Wishes
03) Scorpio
04) Mxyzptlk's Flick
05) Sink Hole
06) Alien Mummy
07) Evil From Krypton
08) The Creature From The Dump
09) Aircraft Terror
10) Lava Men
11) Bazarowurld
12) The Warlord's Amulet
13) The Iron Cyclops
14) Palette's Perils
15) Colossus
16) Stowaways From Space
17) The Staraghosta Sea
18) The Witch's Arcade

(1 disc) Total running time: Approximately 2 hours & 12 minutes

At last! Now every season of Super Friends is finally available on DVD for fans to enjoy for years to come. After almost a whole decade of waiting (since "Challenge of the Super Friends" came out in 2004) many thought the whole series would never be available...but now it finally is. This is just amazing news and every fan should shed a sigh of relief and jump up and down with joy.

Order your copy of the 1981-82 season on DVD today!

COMPLETE SUPER FRIENDS DISCOGRAPHY BELOW:

[Season 1] "Super Friends!" Vol. One &Vol. Two - Sixteen 46 Minute Episodes (1973)
[Season 2] "The All-New Super Friends Hour" Vol. 1 &Vol. 2 - Fifteen 21 Minute Episodes & Forty-Five 7 Minute Shorts (1977)
[Season 3.1] "Challenge of the Super Friends" - Sixteen 21 Minute Episodes (1978)*
[Season 3.2] "Super Friends": Volume Two - Sixteen 21 Minute Episodes [Aired along side 'Challenge] (1978)
[Season 4] "The World's Greatest Super Friends!" - Eight 22 minute episodes - Available from Amazon on 11/12/13 (1979)
[Season 5] "Super Friends": A Dangerous Fate - Twenty-Four 7 minute shorts (1980-81)
[Season 6] "Super Friends": Legacy of Super Powers - Eighteen 7 minute shorts - AVAILABLE on DVD OCTOBER 8th! (1981-82)
[Season 7] "Super Friends": The Lost Episodes - Twenty-Four 7 Minute Shorts (1983)
[Season 8] "Super Friends: The Legendary Super Powers Show" - Sixteen 11 Minute Episodes (1984)
[Season 9] "The Super Powers Team: Galactic Guardians" - Six 21 Minute Episodes & Four 11 Minute Episodes (1985)

* - Amazon only allows 10 links per review, which is why I'm unable to create a link for this season.

...................................................

SIDE NOTE:

There has been a lot of talk from many fans about the possibility of a "Complete Series" box set being released by Warner Bros. Though there's been no official word yet from WB (this may depend on how well the latest individual seasons sell) and while most of us dislike the idea of double dipping, this series is so well loved that, the idea of having every season released together in one huge set is a very popular idea..."if it's done right".

1. Packaging - This is #1 on my list because, if it isn't any good, it will hurt sales tremendously. This would be a 21 disc set (22, if we get a bonus disc) so the way in which the discs are stored in the case is of extreme importance. I'm not a fan of discs being stored in cardboard sleeves (a seemingly popular format by studios these days) because of how easily the discs wind up getting scratched every time you pull them out and put them back in the case. Having the box look like the Hall of Justice would be a nice touch, though I wouldn't mind it being similar, in size and shape, to the complete Justice League DVD box set, since that series was the future offspring of Super Friends and it would be nice to store them both together, side by side.

2. Bonus Disc - WB released a great documentary about Lou Scheimer & Filmation on their "DC Super Heroes: The Filmation Adventures" DVD. I would love to see them do something similar about the Super Friends, here, as a bonus disc. Unfortunately, many of the original creators, writers, and voice actors are no longer with us...but some are still around (Frank Welker, Casey Kasem, etc.). It would be fascinating to hear how the series came to be and more about that first season in '73 and why it took 3 years to retool things for season 2, in '77, after the first season did so poorly. Or why the series stopped in '85 after 9 seasons? etc. etc. etc. Someone must know something.

3. Replace flipper disc - The 2nd disc from "Challenge of the Super Friends" had information on both sides (instead of cover art) which is commonly known as a "flipper" disc. This was due to the bonus features that were included that took up extra room. It's the only flipper disc that was used in the entire Season sets run. It would be nice if Warner Bros. finally replaced this disc with a one-sided disc that had cover art, and possibly move the bonus features from the older edition to the new bonus disc.

4. Complete episode guide - This may be pushing things, but after so many fans were confused by the way WB released each season (out of order) individually, a complete episode guide, chronicling every season and episode in correct order, would be a great addition to the box set, in either a soft or hardcover edition.

Any other trinkets, such as toys cars or figures, might be nice, but not all that essential. Just my two cents. Whatever the case, if they do it, let's hope they do it right...
2121 comments| 117 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2015
Like most of Warner's complication of the Super Friends series - terrible. The DVD authoring and restoration is much to be desired. I don't understand Warner. They have the opportunity to restore animated classics and yet alter the way it was originally broadcast for some reason, a reason that points to the ill-fated attempt to show how "wonderful Warner is" (they are not). I would have given this more stars if the presentation of the DVD was worth it.

The cartoons are OK and since Warner holds the rights for now this is the best you can get from the classic Super Friends series produced by the talented Hanna-Barbera. It does show how this show influenced many other contemporary programs such as the Justice League/Unlimited and even other offerings from Marvel, Family Guy and The Simpsons.

At the time this was made Superman was perceived to be the all-powerful untouchable hero who would be overcome by kryptonite and red sun energy while Wonder Woman and Batman would occasionally exert their full abilities depending on the writer of the story. Watching the story with one of these latter characters would beg the question, "hang on, they CAN do this and this and yet are doing NOTHING, why?"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2015
Wish they had cartoons with high standards like when I grew up to show kids today. Thats why I ordered this for my grandson to watch & he loved it, bring back the old TV series to show kids NON violent shows without low class burping & farting...would like to see more like this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2014
Love reminiscing these old episodes from my childhood. Though not as sophisticated as the Justice League, as an adult there is still an appreciation for seeing Black Vulcan, Apache Chief, and Samurai in one collection. All the exposition tends to get on my nerves as an adult, but as a child, this was must-see Saturday morning television. The voices and characterizations were interchangeable, but nonetheless, enjoyable, then and now. Great add to my collection although I am a huge Marvel film fan, but no one really beats DC animation...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2013
I really, really love being able to relive my childhood by watching these great shows that once flooded the airwaves on Saturday mornings. I don't even know what kids have to watch on Saturday mornings now. I guess 'SpongeBob' is cool, I can't knock that show. But if you're a serious collector like I am, then you definitely need to check out this title. If you have kids, please pass it on to them. Let them see what great television we had as children.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2015
Rating is for: Super Friends, Season 6: Legacy of Super Powers. Beware, this season has short 7 minute episode, with 3 put together. The shorter episodes here are sillier than usual. I do not like the shorter episodes because there is no time for a story. I don't like these nearly as much as the longer ones, such as Season 4. Beware of the silly and short episodes. I had to own it, but don't watch it as often as the others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2015
Rating is for: Super Friends: The Lost Episodes. Amazon adds the wrong ratings to their products sometimes so beware! Animation is bad, stories are the worst of the Super Friends seasons. Episodes were 'Lost' for a reason: They suck! Episodes are very short and not very interesting, even for the Super Friends. It is not worth even a little money to see what it's like, you can watch on line for free. Stay away! Terrible!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2010
I'm glad these episodes have been issued on DVD!!!

As you can see on the DVD cover there is Batman, Superman, Aquaman, Wonder Woman, Green Lantern, the Wonder Twins and Gleek. Green Lantern fans beware, though, there isn't a lot of him in this series. His biggest impact during the classic era is in the series Challenge of the Superfriends. These lost episodes are considered to be the more obscure episodes in the series because of the lack of repeated play on television. In fact, these 1983 episodes never aired in America until 1995. They aired on a USA Network show called The Superman-Batman Adventures.

That 1995 series consisted of reruns of the 1960's and 1970's superhero cartoons and on some episodes they'd sprinkle in an early '80s short episode of Superfriends. All of these 1983 episodes aired on that USA Network series but even still they're not as familiar to most. This DVD consists of 24 short episodes...8 half hour episodes in all. Each episode contains 3 separate adventures that run roughly seven and a half minutes each.

Here are just some of the stand-out episodes in my opinion from this collection...

**CONTAINS SPOILERS**

Warpland: Superman and Batman are pulled into another dimension where they meet up with an alien race headed up by Super-Frog. The voice of the frog is provided by Frank Welker, giving the super amphibian the same voice he'd provide for Darkseid. The alien's have their headquarters...none other than The Hall of Zoon. Superman is turned into an Eagle while Batman is turned into an actual bat. They battle Super-Frog's forces and once they leave the warp they revert back to their natural selves.

Mxyzptlk's Revenge: This episode features Batman and Superman matching wits with the 5th Dimension prankster, Mr. Mxyzptlk. In one memorable scene Superman almost passes out from green bean exposure...Mxyzptlk had placed Superman on a farm where green beans become a substitute for kryptonite. They eventually trick their way out of the 5th Dimension.

Revenge of Doom: This episode begins with a couple of inquisitive workers asking Batman and Robin a lot of questions about the Hall of Doom. The two workers turn out to be Lex Luthor and Solomon Grundy in disguise. Suddenly all members of the Legion of Doom have appeared and we're told that the Legion is back in session. Given this is a 7 and a half minute episode not a lot of the members of the Legion have speaking roles even though they're visibly present. Unlike in the Challenge of the Superfriends series, in this episode the Legion of Doom is captured.

Two Gleeks Are Deadlier Than One: Grodd and Giganta make an appearance in this episode where they kidnap Gleek and replace him with an android duplicate. The android was sent there under the notion that all of the Superfriends would be meeting at the Hall of Justice. One by one evil Gleek zaps the Superfriends into oblivion...but who really ends up with the upper hand? You'll have to watch for yourselves.

Bulgor the Behemoth: Apache Chief gets the most action in this episode where a writer's creation comes to life after a lightning storm...well, I should say, the writer turns into his own creation. It's up to Apache Chief and Superman to put a stop to the destruction and get the creature transformed back into the writer.

The Krypton Syndrome: In this fantasy adventure, Superman is zapped into a time warp where he finds himself near his home planet of Krypton before it exploded. He prevents the explosion of Krypton and saves the lives of millions in the process...but once he returns to his own time he discovers how Earth looks extremely different. He realizes when he saved Krypton from exploding that nobody on Earth knows of a Superman...and therefore his life on Earth never happened. Seeing that the Earth needs a person like 'Superman' to protect it from villains he decides to go back into time again but this time to make sure Krypton explodes.

Prisoners of Sleep: In this adventure, a mysterious floating figure known as Sleep starts a nightmarish reign of terror which soon finds Batman, Superman, and Wonder Woman enmeshed in the nightmare world with the possibility of never waking up. Thanks to some mortals, the three Superfriends "wake up" just in time.

Return of the Phantoms: This episode is something of a sequel to an episode entitled Terror from the Phantom Zone that aired in 1978. In this 1983 cartoon, the three Phantom Zone villains named Hull, Romlock, and Logar, escape once again to cause trouble for Superman and the other people on Earth circa the late 1950's and Superboy. Superman and Superboy join forces in this episode to battle the Phantoms. In the end the villains are zapped back into the Phantom Zone.

Video Victims: In this quirky episode, Bizarro plays an arcade game which features arcade versions of several Superfriends. The episode starts out on Bizarro World, the square shaped planet where everyone looks like imperfect zombie duplicates of Superman and Lois Lane. Bizarro returns to Earth and immediately creates trouble. The episode also doubled as a mock of video games in general...including a Pac-Man style character.

Those are just the episodes that stand out the most among the others. Brainiac makes an appearance in the "Superclones" episode. El Dorado and Aquaman are the two victims who are cloned. The two create a world of problems for the Superfriends by creating trouble and mayhem all over the country. Later, in a court room, the android clones tell the court that the entire Justice League has turned evil. The real El Dorado and Aquaman free themselves from Brainiac's trap and make their way to the courthouse.

There's also an episode where Superman and Wonder Woman are captured by aliens and forced to play spaceball...this episode is called "The Recruiter". It's anyone's guess why the short episodes from 1983 were released first instead of the ones from made during 1980-1982...but there's no complaints from me...this is a step in the right direction at getting all of the short episodes released on DVD.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2014
I love sharing childhood memories with my son as we watch shows and these cartoons deliver just that sort of bonding with my son! Love it! Great memories both past and present.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2014
Awesome series and I've found them to be in excellent quality! This brings back many childhood memories! A Great price as well! Very very well done!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse