Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis hots Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 381 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 704 reviews
on September 17, 2016
it ok the game came i had fun with this but after 1 month it broke stop woking i try contact the seller back then and now a year later never contact me back i wanted a resend of a new one now i have 2 buy another one full price again :( never got to fully play or get into it but hope when i older another one coming up it works grate last for a while and i have fun
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2017
As a kid, this was my number one favorite game to play on the DS. There are many enjoyable levels and multiple characters to play as you progress through the game (Yoshi, Mario, Luigi, and Wario, in that order). It's a creative and surprisingly well designed for a DS game. There are minigames and multiplayer as well, in case you want to retract from the story for a bit. I HIGHLY recommend this game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2008
I've been a big mario fan since the beginning, but I took a long hiatus between the original Nintendo and the Nintendo DS, so I missed this game the first time around on the N64. The biggest difference between this game and the ones I've played in the past is the camera angles--I'm used to 2D versions, and the 3D sort of throw you off if you're not used to it. It's still loads of fun, though!

Pros: Fun, you don't finish it too fast, it's nice to be able to play as multiple characters at different points in the game, and the mini games are a nice addition (though if you've played The New Super Mario Bros. for the DS, you'll notice that many of them are the same ones).

Cons: The clever camera angles they devised to show off the capabilities of the N64 are sometimes a little quirky, making it so you can't see what you need to, or sometimes even making it hard to walk in a straight line. The controls are also a bit confusing, sometimes requiring you to remember confusing button sequences to complete a move. Definitely not intuitive, but I guess they designed it for the N64 controller so they had to get creative to make it work at all.

Overall, it took some getting used to, but it's still lots of fun! I don't regret buying it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2006
Undoubtedly one of the best game ports I've played thus far. I have been an avid fan of Mario 64 since it's release on the N64 and this game did not disappoint.

When I first booted the game I was expecting it just to be a miniaturized version of the game I loved, but it is so much more than that. Building off of the original SM64, Nintendo has only improved this wonderful game. A few new levels have been added, that are integrated so well that you'd never notice them as new levels unless you'd played the original. There are also 30 more stars to top off the original 120 to now 150, adding hours more into the gameplay.

I've heard a few complaints about the textures being pixelated, especially when close to an object, but one cannot deny that they are starkly better than it's original counterpart. Higher polygon models and higher detail in the textures really adds to the experience.

Another factor that has been improved from the original is the sound. Gorgeous stereo sound really shows off the improved version of the original soundtrack and rerecorded dialogue (such as Toadstool's letters and character phrases). Sounds gorgeous with the DS's speakers, but plug in a good set of headphones and you'll be totally immersed in the experience of the game.

Sadly, gameplay can be a little awkward at times with the touch screen - you may find yourself running in the wrong direction or falling off a cliff before you've gotten used to it (quite frustrating.) But after you HAVE gotten used to it, it's easy to pull off and play the game. Personally though, I still use the Directional Pad to control my character, and it works perfectly fine for someone who doesn't have the wrist-strap 'stylus' for thumb play (works perfectly, even with the tetchy diagonals of a DS Lite d-pad).

The lasting appeal is great though...for the casual gamer, a delightful single player mode and equally enjoyable minigames make for a grand experience. For a serious player though, collecting every single star and unlocking every minigame will add hours to the game and much more fun. There are a few awesome minigames when you first start, but many more to unlock and enjoy. The multiplayer mode, while the timer can be irritating, is still fun, especially since only one cart is needed.

In short:

- Tons of new challenges add hours to gameplay

- Many awesome minigames to unlock will keep the player entertained

- A decent multiplayer is good for a little fun with the friends, and only requires one cart

- High replayability keeps you coming back for more

I give it a 9.0/10

~K_Flynn
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2016
Super fun game. Loved the original as a kid, and the extras in this version made me love it all over again. Those that have troubles with the controls have probably not played the original, where the controls were really reallly tricky. Ha. I would for sure recommend this to Mario fans, and those looking for some nostalgic fun!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 21, 2010
I bought this game for my 8 year old grandson. He loves this game, has had it for over 2 months now and has not become bored with it (much to my surprise). That earns it 5 stars from me. The boy's mother is not too fond of the game as she believes it fails to teach the boy anything, but that is OK with me as sometimes kids just want to have fun and adventures - just like adults (I reminded the mother that she goes out dancing withn her girlfriends once or twice a month and does not learn anything). If you are looking for an educational game this is not a game you should buy. But if you are just looking for a game that will give the kids hours of fun and adventure, consider this one.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2013
If you loved and conquered Super Mario 64 then get ready for some new challenges in this DS remake. Now you can use 4 different characters: Yoshi, Mario, Luigi, & Wario in order to save Princess Peach and the castle. Some new and exciting twists make the game different enough to consider a buy but not too different where it would drive you away. Re-conquer the world of Super Mario 64 with more challenges and new ways to get around.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2014
I used to play Super Mario 64 religiously when I was just a little kid. And this updated version of the game is not only new, but still flashes me back to those perfect memories. It's very fun, you can switch between various play styles, and you can even do multiplayer. This game is a blast, and I'd recommend it to anyone and everyone who loves Mario.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2014
Super Mario 64 is not only on of the greatest mario games ever its also on of the greatest games ever (behind 2d mario and 3d world). As a kid I was obsessed with the original version and my n64 was lost back about 2000-2001. So when this game was announced in 2004 on a handheld I had to get it somehow.

To be honest nintendo could have released just the n64 cart on the ds with just the updated graphics and I would have been happy. However nintendo went the extra mile and added enough goodies and new stuff to make it feel like mario 64.5. The most notable change is the characters you can use. You can play as mario, Yoshi, Luigi, and Wario. Shockingly you have to start as Yoshi here and can't play as Mario tell you unlock him. Yoshi plays a lot like in yoshis island and is a odd but enjoyable character. Luigi is the best of the new characters and can jump higher and float in the air however is harder to control than mario. Mario plays just like he did on the n64 and serves as a balanced character. Wario however feels a little forced in, his ability is basically to punch blocks that the randomly added in that other characters can not destroy. Plus he doesn't jump very high.

Other things new is improved graphics. Which the are nice for early ds hardware looks kinda in between n64 and gamecube. A few new levels here and there. These are more mini levels instead of full coarses but are fun to play. (I assume the might have been in the cancelled 64 2 if it were released). There is also unlockable mini games that the keys are hidden throught the castle. The games are actually really fun and remind me of the gameboy remixs of the game & watch gallary. Finally Nintendo added 30 stars to the game as well to challenge people who could play the original blindfolded

Even with all that new stuff that overloaded my nostagila filled brain at the time there is still a few things that make the original version superior. First is the controls. 64 was originally devoloped around analog stick control which was fairly new in 1996. The ds only has a dpad so it does get hard to control at times. and you have to hold the Y button to run. You can also use the touch screen but it takes a while to get used to it. Playing on a 3ds/xl helps a lot with this problem with the circle pad. Another problem is Nintendo decided to tone down the difficulty. The original was fairly challenging but this game is easy till you beat the final bowser getting all 150 stars though will still put up a fight. Also if you have played galaxy or 3d world recently this on is hard to go back to. It does show its age from time to time, unlike any other great marios.

Anyway minus those problems this is on of the best video game remakes and even though i'd still recomend the original this is still a great game.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2016
I got the game very quickly and its in good condition even though it came with a blank case, all that matters is the game. It brought back good memories from my childhood and plays well on my newDS!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 48 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here