BCA Month Salon Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on April 7, 2015
if you are going to buy a video game or movie, buy it brand new, because when i first bought it, it had a huge dent in it. (by the way that was used from goodwill industries, never buy anything from them, ive had some bad stories with them) but overall, this game really rocks. i think its just as fun as the wii u version, except it doesnt have that 8 player feature, (which is just chaos anyways lol) and it has a little less characters to play as. (of which btw i have only played as my best guy ((Ike)) the whole time i played the wii u version, so that didnt really matter to me.) so this game REALLY ROCKS YEEEEAAAAHHGHGGHGGHH
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2015
4 stars because its fun but no where does it say that if your wii was made before the disc it will have trouble reading it. Turns out brawl is the only game that has dual coating which causes some trouble being read by certain Wii systems. You can call Nintendo if your Wii doesn't read this disc but all other games and they will upgrade your Wii for free.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2011
This was one of the reasons why I finally caved in and purchased a Wii. The Super Smash Bros. games won me over from that first day, when, visiting my grandparents in Texas many many years ago, I rented a copy of the original N64 Smash from Blockbuster and spent a whole weekend with that beautiful grey cartridge. It was, quite simply, a smashing good time.

Then there was Melee, and now Brawl. Brawl is hard for me to rank against the others. Of course it is the best looking graphically...or is it? Melee's graphics still hold up today, they are crystal clear. Brawl really isn't a giant leap from Melee's graphics. But graphics don't matter in the end right? It's all about gameplay.

Brawl is a lot of fun, as should be expected from a Smash Bros. game. There are a ton of characters to unlock, and a lot of awesome debuts onto the Smash scene, such as Solid Snake, Diddy Kong, Pokemon Trainer, and Meta Knight, to name a few. It always fun to learn to master a new character on Super Smash Bros., learning the right strategies, strengths, and weaknesses. Brawl provides a lot of opportunity to get to learn a lot of different characters.

There is also a ton of new items, and the Final Smash mechanic. These are all neat additions, but they can wear out the welcome, and stray from the simplicity that made the first Smash Bros. so great. The Final Smash mechanic in particular can be a bit unbalanced, with some characters' Final Smashes being absolutely devastating, while others' are next to useless. The new items can also tend to inundate the battlefield unless you tweak the options, turning a test of skill into a race for items (which is cool if that's what you want, otherwise you may want to reduce the amount of items available in the menu options).

Brawl also features a single-player story-ish mode, the Subspace Emissary. It's really a sort of quasi-platforming game with the Super Smash Bros. mechanics that doesn't really work...but it provides some sort of entertainment if you don't have any friends around and are tired of brawling with CPUs. It is also one of the methods used to unlock characters.

There is online play, but it can be problematic at times. I have been in many matches that get plagued with terrible lag that ruins the experience. Perhaps just as often, however, it works fine, and it's a blast brawling with friends online.

Brawl is another fun entry in the Super Smash Bros. series, and worthy of the name. Aside from a few minor flaws, it is a great return to taking our favorite Nintendo characters and having them beat the snot out of each other.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2013
My son has been watching videos for various games on youtube and asked for this wii game. He's enjoyed the "cute" games up to this point, with Kirby's Epic Yarn being his fav. So I'm actually thrilled to see him playing a fighting game. There's no blood, but there's lots of kicking and hitting with special weapons to knock your opponent off the platform. There's a few characters I didn't recognize, but a lot that I do recognize. I don't think this game is the gateway drug to the hardcore shootem ups, but it is a nice break from all the cuteness. That being said, I love Kirby, but my son likes to fight as metaknight. Just the thought of fighting cute little pikachu :)....

If your child likes their wii, but you want to transition into slightly more adult fare, give this a try. I'm asking my son about his review - he gives it a 4.5 due to some control issues - Kirby's Epic Yarn still gets a 5 from him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2012
Brawl has amazing upgraded graphics from Melee along with a new adventure level that actually has a lot more adventure than Melee. There are a lot of the same events, however, you can also play demos of the older original games that these characters come from. There are a lot of beautiful unlockable trophies and all new events that make the game stand out from the last. Brawl has wonderful fixes that got rid most of the previous game's lag time between button to attack. The one downside I find to this game is that Gannon (a playable character) has gotten slower, weaker, and has less range. You do not get to play as Pichu or Mewtwo in this game.

Playable characters are:
Link
Zelda/Sheik
Gannondorf
Donkey Kong
Diddy Kong
Pit
Kirby
King Dedede
Meta Knight
Samus/Zero Suit Samus
Fox
Wolf
Lucas
Ike
Pikachu
Jigglypuff
Pokemon Trainer (The Pokemon Trainer doesn't fight, but three pokemon do for you: Ivysaur, Squirtle, or Charizard)
Ice Climbers
Pikmin & Olimar
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2017
Endless hours of entertainment with friends, great amounts of rage induced.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2011
In short, this is definitely one of the best games available on the Wii. It is a really fun 2.5D fighting game with a unique scoring system.
Pros
-Graphics
The Wii has not-so-good graphics compared to other consoles. However, this game stretches the limit of what the Wii is capable of. In camera mode, where you can take a snapshot of your game, you get a full 3D view of your game.
-Controls
If you don't like the default controls, you can change them to a far extent. Not only that, but this game will work with WiiMote, WiiMote with Nunchuck, Gamecube, and Classic Controller. I prefer the the second one.
-Characters
You are likely to find your favorite Nintendo character in the huge roster. Also, you get Sonic and Snake!
-Stages
Fun and unique stages. You can even make your own!
-Story Mode
The story is OK, but the side-scrolling game play is really fun.
-Lots of other modes
This game has one of the highest replay values. You can play for hours(or days) before you complete the Story, Classic, Awards, All star, Achievments, Stages, and lots of others.
-Online Play
Flawless Wi-Fi online games.
- Plain Gameplay
It's just really fun to jump around, attack, and preform final smashes to beat each other up

Cons
- No Miis
- No use of Pointer
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2014
This is one of my favorite wii games, I'd played it before. So I was stoked when I received it, it also shipped quickly, and I got it less than a week from when I ordered it. The game is fun and exciting for anyone, sometimes my father plays it with me. My friends play it, everyone plays it. Even fun to watch. There is just cartoon violence, no blood or broken bones. Very addicting just to brawl or do the story. I played this for around five hours with my cousins, and it took a while till we got sick of it. All of the characters have unique moves and movements, and if you're playing brawl, different final smashes. If you're over like sixty and have some health problems, this game probably isn't for you. It has bright colors and has quick movements, it is a cheerful game, one of my favorites ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2017
It's smash bros, you know its going to be fun. Actually I shouldn't talk, I gave this to my brother and it stopped him from bothering me. Well played.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2017
Didn't work crashed after one match everytime
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 78 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here