BCA Month Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Chris young PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon drwho drwho drwho  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on November 3, 2016
First off, I love the movie "Supercop." I saw it back in 1994 at an independent movie theater. I didn't even know who Jackie Chan was. The movie was hilarious and action packed, and I became an instant Jackie Chan fan.
However this Dimension Blu-Ray is sadly lacking. First, it has no Chinese audio track. It only has an English dub. I always like to enjoy movies in their original language, but what makes it worse is that I'm a bit hard of hearing, so I miss quite a few words of this mediocre English dub.
Second, it has no subtitles. I would have at least liked subtitles to help me understand the audio track. (One of the reasons I buy movies on Blu-Ray is to have subtitles because of my less-than-good hearing.)
If you just want the movie for the action and nothing more, then this is a good version. But if you enjoy movies in their original language with subtitles, then skip this one.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2017
If you know Jackie Chan, you know this is a good movie.

I just want to make it clear: there is only one audio channel - dubbed in English. The dub is better than some because Jackie does his own lines and speaks very good English, but it's not idea.

There is no "native language" with subtitles option for the DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2015
Not only did I get Jackie Chan but Michele Yeoh as well OMG! She is possibly the best martial arts actress (not artist) in China. She was FANTASTIC in Wing Chun and to see her here with Jackie was just great. This is a thriller from about five minutes after it starts and your heart doesn't stop racing until about 5 minutes after it ends. You are going to have fun with this one. These two are just a giant package of dynamite together.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon July 28, 2010
POLICE STORY 3: SUPERCOP features the dream team of Jackie Chan and Michelle Yeoh, the only instance in which these two Hong Kong icons really teamed up (no, commercials and cameos don't count). The plot involves the Royal Hong Kong Police's top cop Ka-Kui Chan (Jackie) and Interpol's frosty Inspector Yang (Yeoh) infiltrating a crime lord's inner circle while pretending to be brother and sister. Expect some dynamite kung-fu stuff and also the two stars' performing their own stunts. Cue Jackie's patented humor, and maybe the funniest bit has Ka-Kui - in unfamiliar territory and accompanied by the bad guys - scrambling to adapt to the fake family the police had come up for him at the last minute. And what's a POLICE STORY without cute Maggie Cheung (who plays Jackie's girlfriend) inadvertently throwing a wrench into the works? Jackie and Michelle are awesome together.

I kinda figured this wasn't the uncut version when the real opening sequence didn't surface (the one with the big law enforcement conference in which the consensus was that it required a "supercop" to take on the vast drug dealing problem. I don't quite know why Dragon Dynasty went with this inferior version, when they went with the uncut editions for the first two POLICE STORY films. I blame broccoli.

I don't know that Michelle ends up hijacking Jackie's film, but she most definitely holds up her end, and this after around a four year hiatus from cinema. She refers to herself as a "tough cookie" in her interview in the bonus features, and I think she undersells herself. There's a gratifying element in that her Inspector Yang goes from being this stern, self-controlled figure into a more playful character as she masquerades as Jackie's character's sister. Juxtaposing her smooth, flowing fighting style is Ka-Kui Chan's more unorthodox street fighting moves, but both methods work and I just bet both styles are equally felt by Jackie's stunt group in lumps and bruises.

Maybe it's the purist in me but I wasn't entirely down with the Rambo sequence as Jackie and Michelle engage in a massive shootout in a renegade general's camp. I know that Michelle Yeoh, early in her career, played a bunch of gun-toting police officer roles, and Jackie's done similar roles, as well. But I say let Americans and John Woo characters do the gun thing. I'd rather watch Jackie wresting a gun away from a bad guy and then field stripping it in moments... Sorry, I can't help but feel that guns are beneath these two icons, and especially Jackie Chan.

This Dragon Dynasty release comes with two DVDs. Disc 1 has the feature presentation and an audio commentary by Hong Kong cinema know-it-all Logan Bey (but his stuff's always worth listening to). Disc 2 has these 4 interviews: Jackie Chan reflects on POLICE STORY 3, on Michelle Yeoh, on working with other directors, what it was like dangling dizzyingly off that helicopter, and his befuddlement over his pictures getting the serious edit treatment for overseas release (00;19:21 minutes); Michelle Yeoh talks about her time in the movie, on doing her own stunts, and how she wanted to do the helicopter stunt herself until the director asked her - and I'm paraphrasing - "Michelle, if you do that, what in the world is Jackie going to do to be able to top that stunt?" so she settled for the motorbike stunt (but, first, she had to learn how to ride a motorbike; 00:23:11); an interview with director Stanley Tong (00:19:32); and an interview with Jackie Chan bodyguard/training partner/co-star Ken Lo (with English sub-titles, 00:21:44).

As per norm, stick around for the outtakes during the closing credits. Michelle doesn't nail that motorbike stunt on her first try.

For my money, I did like the one alternate closing credits version in which Tom Jones sings "Everybody Was Kung Fu Fighting." But this isn't that version. Anyway, 5 stars out of 5 for the movie. 2 stars for the Dragon Dynasty presentation and for not having enough bonus material, all that averaging the thing to... well, I'm going with 3 stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2017
Superb action scenes. A great action movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2017
One of my favorite Jackie Chan movies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2007
Basically the 3rd movie in the Police Story series (First Strike is the 4th and last), Supercop has very little connections to the 1st 2 Poilce Story movies, which were very closely related. Jackie Chan returns as Kevin Chan, and his girlfriend Mei is still played by Maggie Cheung. I have seen Supercop numerous time, and each time its like watching it for the 1st. The story is better than many Chan films, and the action and stunts are easily amongst the best.

The story, takes itself a little more seriously than some Chan films, say compared to Mr. Nice Guy or Rumble in The Bronx. The humor is more of a minum because of that, but there's still a funny couple good moments. I think the plot is interesting and suspensful, taking advantage of Kevin Chan playing an undercover agent throughout the movie. His sidekick, or should I say boss, throughout the film is played by Michelle Yeoh, also undercover along side him, and gives an equally great performance in the film. The dubbing is far better than most films, and if you prefer Jackie Chan's own English voice, he provied his own dub in Supercop.

The action is used sparingly throughout the beginning of the film, making everything run a little slow. But the movie begins to progress more and more nicely throughout. The finale is huge. 15 minutes of straight all out action from fights to some of, if not, the best stunts ever done. Chan jums on and hangs from a helicopter ladder over the city, and Michelle Yeoh hangs off the side of a van for dear life and steers a motorcyle right up ontop a moving train. Its all real and its must see.

Fan or no fan of Jackie Chan, this is just an all out great movie. No its not recognized as a masterpiece, but in a slightly smaller world this is A++ entertainment.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2016
The stunts are the only thing I watch this for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2009
Blah. That sums it up. After Dragon Dynasty did a FANTASTIC job with releasing uncut versions of Police Story parts I and II they did this to us... Yes folks, this is just the edited, American version of Supercop, re-released with different packaging. A huge disappointment!

There are a few good things to say about this. Some of the bonus content is interesting. In fact there's a great interview with Jackie Chan where he complains about how the American versions of his movies are edited and not as good as the original versions! Ha! After suffering through the disappointment of watching the edited version of Supercop it was quite funny to watch that interview.

The bottom line is boycott this. Pick up the Police Story (Digitally Remastered Collector's Edition) Trilogy DVD Boxset instead so that you'll have the uncut version of Supercop as well as the first two films in the series.
22 comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2007
This movie is a bit different than the 'typical' Jackie Chan movie. It has IMO a more solid and more sincere story than the other movies.

Especially the first part of the movie playing in mainland China is different. In this part, Michelle Yeoh as Chinese officer is a bit overdone, however the prison break is a really remarkable piece of JC cinema. The following part of the movie features a resort type adventure with typical 'early JC' slapstick components. The last part of the movie plays in Malaysia and contains non-stop action, which some never seen before stunts including a bike ride on a train plus a helicopter landing on the same train.

All in all a very entertaining JC movie, featuring different Asian locations and a high tension, super action sequence at the end. Watching the 'making of' is also recommended because it really shows the difficulties to perform the stunt sequences for this movie. The only drawback of this movie are some overdone and a bit ridicoulos slapstick scenes. I can recommend this movie for JC fans who want to watch a slightly different JC movie than usual.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse