Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition $99.99. Limited-time offer. All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on September 27, 2017
Very entertaining book. Feynman was famous for taking a fresh, original approach in physics; he was always re-inventing the ideas for himself by thinking them through profoundly, starting from fundamentals. He made great contributions and won the Nobel Prize in Physics. This book is not so much about physics, instead some humorous stories and adventures, which show his fresh, original approach to life. I admire his enthusiasm, his love for adventure, his sparkling personality, his honesty and the clarity of his thought, and his disdain for pretense. The anecdotes give much insight into why Feynman was such a great physicist. If you want learn about physics, with his original approach on full display, his best two books are the famous "Feynman Lectures on Physics" (undergraduate courses at Caltech) and "QED, the Strange Theory of Light and Matter".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2017
I read this back when it was published in the mid-1980s and really loved it. I recently got the audio book and enjoyed listening to it with my teenage son. Note that Feynman was very much a man of his times and being a very blunt person, he doesn't shy away from saying things about women that were probably commonplace in his day, but come off as sexist now. This led to some interesting father-son conversations! This may be hard for many people to overlook.

That aside: besides being a brilliant physicist, Feynman was an absolute character who loved jokes, had an amazing sense of curiosity and was willing to put himself into situations/adventures most people would never even dream of.

The audio-book narrator does a pretty good job of channeling Dr. Feynman, and aside from some odd pronunciations now and then, does a very good job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2012
Mr. Feynman's exploits and anecdotes are pretty mystifying to an average joe like myself. It is clear that Mr. Feynman possessed an incredibly unique set of neural networking that made him at once "accessible" and "ingenious." You almost get this "high functioning autism/Asperger's" quality to his quirks. At the same time, those quirks may have been less of a developmental origin and just the result of a mind wired completely different than the average dude. I also liked the historical perspective and how Mr. Feynman just sorta, bounced around all these groundbreaking American projects.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2017
I enjoyed learning about Richard Feynman. What an interesting man with such intense sense of curiosity. A simple and a humble genius with great sense of humor and knowledge. I wish I could have met him and had a conversation with him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2017
Feynman is so smart and so enjoyable. Will open your mind to new ways of seeing things, but also just reveling in a life well lived. Wish we had more people with a worldview like Feynman had.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2017
Loved this book. Feynman reminds me of my brother, who as a youth LOVED to take things apart, much to my parents' chagrin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2017
A unique insight into the human side of genius.
He did it his way- partying, musician and loving husband.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2017
Dr. Feynman's books and lectures are superior. Excellent and thought provoking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2016
Dr. Feynman is not what you would consider your average scientist by any means. At times I thought to myself "I like this guy, hell yea!" (because of his adventurousness and ingenuity) while at other times I thought "C'mon now, is that really necessary?" (because of his childishness). Good leisurely read to get a glimpse into the mind of a renowned brilliant man
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2013
I knew nothing about Feynman the colorful character when I first leaved the first (digital) page of this delightful book. I closed it being enriched by this Physics professor's tale of his escapades not only in the scientific realm, but even in those realms far away: art, music, education, travel, dating, gambling, nude dancing, and safe cracking.

The common threads of late Dr. Feynman's autobiography is his social fearlessness, his hyperactive mind, his uncanny persistence and diligence, and for the most part, his humility. Each of these traits existing on its own in one individual would have already yielded a wonderful persona worthy of knowing, all taken together compound my regret of not knowing him sooner, and resulted in a renewed vigor to develop similar characteristics in my own life journey to a desiredly full, accomplished life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse