Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Listen for a chance to win STEM Limited time offer Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TNF TNF TNF  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
33
Surrender: Appeasing Islam, Sacrificing Freedom
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$16.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on May 2, 2017
This book is uncomfortable for Americans to read, invested as we are in the ideas of freedom of religion and freedom from religion, which when taken together provide a reasonable degree of separation of Religion and the State. Western democracies also have the right of free speech, and are generally in favor of the acceptance of new immigrants. None of those values are acceptable under Islam, which seeks to control everyday life in a rather fascistic way. There is a prescription for every phase of one's life and one should simply submit to the religious/political authorities, who after all, are our bettors. The book catalogs the multiple serious offenses that have occurred in Europe while journalists, growing up under generations of multiculturalist indoctrination, spewed out misinformation in an attempt to hide the facts, and deflect the ire of native Europeans. The book catalogs the many serious offenses that have occurred in the name of Islam. Taken all together these revelations, now a decade old, inevitably produce the feeling that Islam and the Western liberal democracy are incompatible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 16, 2010
This book illustrates how politicians, journalists, and others in positions of influence urge, and often enforce, eggshell walking in relation to all things Islamic. Rather than tackling the unreasonable and often fearsome behaviour of Islamic elements in Western society, the onus is placed on us to keep our behaviour within narrow confines lest we set off a wave of rioting and violence at the hands of our cultural enrichers.

'Surrender' is an appropriate name for this book, and our leaders' cravenness that this book highlghts is very concerning considering they are paid to oversee our wellbeing. Those who have the courage to expose the danger facing the West are themselves vilified. Also, deceptive pictures of Islam and Islamic figures are painted to placate our healthy concern.

This book contains numerous examples of what I've mentioned above.

This is a very good book which is well worth buying.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 19, 2009
I was deeply impressed with Bruce Bawer's While Europe Slept and was delighted to hear him sensitively interviewed by Bill Moyers on PBS. This latest book "Surrender, Appeasing Islam, Sacrificing Freedom",is a tour-de-force of excellent, even gripping writing style. I finished the book in a single night. For me the most powerful part of the book is the first half where he details how secular multiculturalism and political correctness now control most main stream media. He does an excellent job of illustrating how this mentality is gradually conceding both freedom of speech and freedom of religion. The events at Ft. Hood which I believe were the result of direct PC bumbling on the part of the military shows you where this mentality is taking us. Bawer details many similar events that didn't lead to tragedies but could have. This is a disturbing book but a must read. Bawer is no red-state conservative, but he is among a small but growing group of liberals who have understood what the issues really are. This book will not be reviewed in the New York Times. We need to help it get distributed. If you are reading this, I plead, buy the book and read it. Then copy one of these positive reviews and send it to everyone on your email list. As Bawer notes about the internet, it has opened the door for alternative views to get out into the public eye. Let's all give this book a boost. If 1000 of us do this to just 10 people we have opened up the eyes of 10,000 people to what is really going on. Eventually the New York Times will not be able to ignore it.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 13, 2013
A disturbing, must-read for anyone who cares about the future of the world, this book will help you read between the lines of often misleading news articles about Muslims, and help you understand and see through what many of our politicians say about them. The sub-title says it all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 9, 2015
One of my favorite authors..he never disappoints....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 18, 2017
Excellent book. Am reading for the second time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 8, 2016
Bruce Bawer is very readable, But most people have their heads in the sand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 26, 2009
This is one of the best books on the subject of Islam and stealth jihad that I have ever read. Mr. Bawer explains in detail exactly what's going on in our country and thoroughout the rest of the world with regard to cultural jihad (or as Robert Spencer calls it, stealth jihad) and why and how the Muslims are managing to succeed with their evil plans. I highly recommend this books for all those who truly care about our country, who want to learn the truth about Islam and who want to learn what they can do to fight against the Islamization of America and the West.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 30, 2012
Many things are happening in our world today over which we have little control as voters. Te author has drawn our attention to some of those happenings
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 7, 2010
Everyone who appreciates freedom and hates tyranny should read this book. Its up to ordinary people to resist those who want to impose their totalitarian regime by stealth. Bawer sets out his case well - just watch those whose only answer is to call him names and try to bully and marginalise him.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse