Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide $54.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on December 12, 2013
Packaged rather well. First impression is good picture quality (when put together on the floor, in the living room),
Setting up for simple life viewing is easy, but then comes the rest ...
Best thing to do is read the manual umpteen times, and then going to the LAVIEW website.
Find your product there and view ALL instructional videos.
You WILL need some more help from your internet provider to figure out how to adapt your router in order to view what is going on *at home* from some other place via an internet connection. It is NOT real time, but a few seconds delayed.
You should e able to live with that.
In essence a good bargain, for the price paid for with Amazon.
Customer help from *LAVIEW* is good.
Cameras are a bit better resolution than other offers. These are 600 TVL, vs. 500 or less from other vendors.
This is just the initial experience, and I will update in a few weeks when it is all installed in the right places.
66 comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 18, 2014
If you're looking for a wireless system, this isn't it. I tried a cheap wireless system and it didn't work. Unless you want to spend $2k, your not going to get anything that's good. That said, this system is awesome. If you know basic computer skills and how to run wires, you'll have no problem with this system. I did have to purchase additional wires because the enclosed 60' of wire per camera wasn't enough. It is easy to install. The quality of the cameras is surprising for the price. The default setting for the camera recording quality is low, so you should change that to highest in the settings and it is crystal clear. I haven't even read the manual and I have it working in a satisfactory manner. There are so many more options I haven't even explored yet. If your looking for a good quality home security surveillance system for a cheap price, this is the one to get. $238.00 for the entire package! That's around $50 a camera, not counting the DVR and the remote monitoring capabilities. The DVR works like a separate computer with it's own operating system.

Good luck! If you buy this system, I don't think you will be disappointed
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 26, 2014
This works as expected for a cheap/no-name security DVR system. You have to be a bit technical to forward ports through your router and set up the phone app, but it does work if you can get that done. Peer to peer mode doesn't work - you have to have a dedicated IP address to enter into the viewer app. Cameras provide a decent picture but suffer in bright/shade. The rest of the kit seemed cheap & generic. No HD.

EDIT: After a year with this system, here's an update. When setting up recording, I found that I could only select 2 channels to record in D1 resolution (720x480, or 0.3 megapixels) at 30fps. All others channels record in CIF mode (360x240, or 0.08 megapixels). Cameras look fairly clear viewing realtime, but playback of recorded content look very poor on CIF. You'll never get something like a license plate number or even clear details of a moving face. However, you can enough information to determine what's going on (people walking around, cars driving by, etc). You'll need a HD system if you want any additional clarity. There's many bugs with the firmware and no updates are available. If I had to do it again, I'd pay a little more for a known brand to receive upgrades, and make sure that the system can record at least 4 (or 8) channels in full D1 mode.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 9, 2014
I'm just going to preface this with a note. If you know nothing about technology, don't pretend you do, then get frustrated when the installation process goes horribly wrong, leading you to write a bad review blaming the product because of your lack of technological skill. That being said, this system was so easy to install and configure it was ridiculous. The price was too good NOT to purchase this system, given what you get and the quality of the cameras. The most difficult and time consuming part was figuring out the wiring path and running the conduit. The system has the capability of transmitting remotely and if you choose to utilize this, please don't attempt unless you are comfortable accessing and changing your router's settings.
The first thing I did was set the system up on the counter to make sure everything was functioning properly.
Next I figured out the path I wanted the wiring to take from the camera locations I had chosen.
I then installed the cameras, ran some electrical conduit from my camera locations to the entry point on the home and put the wiring through the conduit.
Next....and this is really a few steps...place the unit in your desired location, connect the power, mouse, monitor (I had a spare) and run the wiring from the cameras to the DVR. A tip here is to use electrical tape on the power (RED) side of the wiring as it can become disconnected while running it through the conduit and you won't know until you turn on the system, only to see at least one of your cameras not working.
Just follow the instructions. There aren't hard to understand, but do seem to be written with the assumption that the person reading them has some basic understanding of computers, routers and mobile devices. Programming was simple enough and now I can view the cameras from my phone, tablet, computer and the DVR itself! Camera quality is more than adequate for what was needed. Don't expect to pay for a Ferrari at the Chevy price, however if your expectation is an adequate system, decent camera quality and more than enough functionality, then get this one.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 6, 2014
Good high quality cameras. Poor manuals and absolutely no tech support. The manuals on the mini CD cannot be played in most modern computer disc drives.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 10, 2014
Just got these recently. Easy setup, everything went smoothly. Although, I haven't connected on LAN yet for remote viewing. Decent resolution daytime, somewhat blurry at night with 500 tvl. But can't ask too much based on sell price. Overall, good for starter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon September 19, 2014
AWESOME!!! My son-in-law installed the cameras and I ran the lines. It was simple and easy with fantastic pictures. Wide views of my yard. This is a definite for anyone needing a system.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 29, 2014
The product was delivered on time. Light weight dvr which I carried in my knapsack on a flight. Functions very well. After much effort, I have been able to set it up to work remotely i.e. live view and review from an independent internet connection.
NB remote view works best by looking at 1 camera at a time. The quality is very good. It comes with a cd that includes instructions however the print on the paper instructions/guide in the package is too small for reading. Still checking out other features. A reasonably priced, versatile product. Pleased with the purchase
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 12, 2015
works great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 21, 2014
Very good value . Handles my needs perfectly. Very easy to use and a quality picture. I would recommend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 31 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here