Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New Album by Nothing More PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$14.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 40 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 46 reviews
on July 29, 2014
A new plot - there is going to be a Gator Fest so don't tell anyone there is a killer shark swimming around it might ruin the economy of our depressed area. I know, I get tired of the don't tell anyone deal too, but this time it's because the sheriff is a bad guy and he is responsible for it getting loose. A better reason than normal - the sheriff doesn't want to go to jail. Good B movie cast Kristy Swanson (the original Buffy out to slay a shark this time), D.B. Sweeney and Robert Davi. Davi, the bad guy sheriff, pretends not to buy Kristy's story of a shark eating all her gators at her gator shack restaurant, after a local's body parts turn up chewed. She sets out with family, friends and a jerk boyfriend to get the shark and have her restaurant opened again. Fun and entertaining movie with a few annoying characters (bait). I was torn between a three for okay, but I kind of enjoyed it too - so add the fourth star for having a decent cast and of course dumb situations so you don't take it too seriously.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2012
I'm having a hard time justifying why I like this movie, but I do. It's a pale imitation of other better films; yes, certainly, I can't argue that. All the characters are `types' needed to move the story along and good for little else (except shark food). The story is basic, very similar to others. Not a lot of imagination went into it, that's obvious. But, I still like it. I've always been a fan of Robert Davi and Kristy Swanson (I even liked D.B. Sweeney in this case). Having a fondness for certain actors helps elevate what might otherwise prove tedious. Also, being a killer shark flick gives it an immediate pass (even when the shark is rarely seen except for its fin). It's dopey, it's dumb, it's a visual feast of junk food proportions; I just had to have it for my shark movie collection. I refuse to apologize for that.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2016
The graphics were not terrible, the acting was bad but not awful, the shark looked more like a cross between a croc and a shark. All in all...I was more disappointed it was not worse. I truly adore terrible films...though one of the women had the same acting graves as the professor in two headed shark attack ( possessing only three facial expressions, all of them worth laughing at). The quality was better than sharknado, lower than twister. It did not inspire me to want to be a B rated actress, so I count that as a mild fail. Hence the for instead of five stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Swamp Shark" is another aquatic romp that's been done better many times before, but from the vantage point of a lover of cinematic cheese is still a cause for celebration. The film opens with a corrupt sheriff (Robert Davi) running an illegal rare animal smuggling operation when a giant shark gets out of a tanker truck and jumps into the Louisiana swamp. What could possibly go wrong? While the acting is generally awful throughout, the individual scenes are often almost breathtakingly poetic in their beauty. I offer as an example the very special "whiskey retrieval scene" which is not to be missed. It turns out that sharks like people in canoes. Or on houseboats. Or standing within 10 miles of the shore. You get the picture. Though there is no nudity or really anything objectionable here the romance angles are sickly sweet and ultra-contrived. Be prepared to laugh at the awkwardness all the way around.

In keeping with the genre, it's time for the "Tenth Annual Gatorfest," which is pretty lame even as Gatorfests go, and there is the typical debate about shutting it down or not due to the fishy threat. The police gator patrol, meanwhile, is particularly ineffective at their job. It turns out that our heroes, restauranteur Rachael (Kristy Swanson) and her sister Krystal (Sophie Sinise, yes, Gary's daughter in her dramatic debut) along with various brothers, boyfriends, and the leader of the undercover "Fish and Wildlife SWAT Team" end up either imperiled, imperiling others or themselves, and occasionally menacing a shark in a variety of humorous ways. (Did I mention this is a very rare shark with an exoskeleton?...Oh never mind.) After the least likely escape from the law in history, Krystal turns out to be the least skanky girl in the movie, all while figuring out how to outsmart a fish with a brain the size of a walnut. After the annoying boyfriends get munched and guzzled (and not a moment too soon) there are novel choking scenes and a dune buggy tussle that are not to be missed.

The film concludes with the cast assembling a bomb made from fish and a propane tank and trying to shove it down the shark's throat while sniper Rachael shoots it. (I seem to recall something like that in a movie before...now where was that?) No matter: the resultant and wholly expected toothy smackdown of the evil sheriff is a thing of hilarious beauty. I will tell you that the fish bomb produced an unexpected result, but I won't tell you how the shark is ultimately dispatched as it's a high point of the film.

"Swamp Shark" is in the middle of the pack for contemporary outlandishly ridiculous sea creature films. The special effects are especially poor, which provides one rich layer of the tapestry that makes the film what it is. When you combine the plot, the acting, the romance, and the armored shark in a swamp, it's hard not to appreciate the film, even if only on a very primeval level.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2017
good movie to see once then give it to a friend, alot of excitement
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2011
The secret to good camp is a 100% serious sales effort behind a piece of entertainment which both parties (producers and audience) know is not serious at all. No, you're not making "Hamlet." But sell it like you are; just with a baaaaarely visible wink and a nod.

"The Wizard of Oz," for example, is awesome camp. Judy Garland alternately skips, sings, and snivels with vigor. Margaret Hamilton strikes an 11 out of 10 on the Cacklemeter. Bert Lahr's tail has a mind of its own. And the storytellers, with gleeful heedlessness, just blaze right by logical signposts such as, "How in the world does snow wake you up from poppy sleep?" and "Would those Flying Monkeys' wingspans really support their body weight?" Oz (like all fairy tales) is not meant to be logical ... just good, rollicking entertainment, sold with gut-busting effort.

Okay, so "Swamp Shark" is obviously not in the same league (or even solar system) as the 1939 classic. The derivative premise and plot cliches (like the hijinx of pre-coital teens bringing on the appearance of the killer shark as surely as a plastic surgeon's shingle signals a cameo from Donatella Versace) automatically relegate this movie to the minors. But. What the movie does have is a kick-ass sales effort by the principals in the cast. If they weren't having fun making this fish-sandwich of a story, at least they sure looked like they were. So you can't help but enjoy the ride.

Everyone can and will recognize the "Jaws" references and outright rip-offs in this movie. (Duh!) But what made the movie entertaining for me, besides its being funnier than I expected, was this weird realization I got about a third of the way through that what I was actually watching was an extended Scooby Gang adventure. Really. Work with me here. Kristy Swanson as Daphne ... DB Sweeney as Fred in Shaggy's body ... Richard Tanne as Shaggy in Fred's body ... Jason Rogel as Velma ... Jeff Chase as Scrappy Doo in Scooby Doo's body ... Robert Davi as just about every Scooby villain ever foiled by the dauntless gang (I kept waiting for the moment where he would arrest himself and snarl, "I would have gotten away with it, too, if it hadn't been for you meddling kids!") ... and that dune buggy contraption as the Mystery Machine.

The principal characters were strictly stock types -- plucky heroine, funny coward, bullish big guy, encyclopediahead, corrupt lawman, etc. So, no genius strokes of characterization here. But the characters made a well-rounded team by virtue of their opposing personality traits, and the actors hit all the right notes in playing their characters. My favorite performances were from Robert Davi as the creep of a sheriff (good performance expected, though, since he was playing, well, Robert Davi) and newcomer Richard Tanne as the heroine's hot (and hot-tempered) coward of a bartender boyfriend. The funnier bits in the movie were almost all Tanne, whose high level of comic delivery (including what must be one of the lengthiest pronunciations of the indefinite article "a" on film) was both unexpected and unusual in a killer-shark movie. Watch for this guy. I'm going on record as saying I think he's a terrific young actor who's headed for much bigger things than ill-fated encounters with modern-day megalodons.

As is to be expected, "Swamp Shark" has its share of Flying-Monkey-wingspan logic defiance. How the shark manages to zip around gulping down the meaty goodness of so many gators and people in such a short time span (about 3000 lbs of Alligator mississippiensis and 1208 lbs of Homo sapiens, by my rough calculations), without exploding like Mr. Creosote, is a detail more or less taken for granted by people less obsessed with details than I. Okay. I'll overlook that one. I understand the carnage quota of B-movie killer sharks. But can someone explain the physics that allows an unsecured 500-lb airboat to reel in a multi-ton leviathan and not vice versa? Or why Gary Sinise's lovely daughter flunks the all-American test by not knowing how to pronounce the football position of "lineman"? These are the questions that will keep you up at night if you watch this movie.

Yep, we have all seen this flick before, but it's a tasty jambalaya of rip-offs, lifting from not just the killer beast horror sub-genre but rummaging through things as far afield as Robin Hood and Shrek for its gimmick shots and lines.

"Swamp Shark" is camp, but it's good camp.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2017
Out of all my shark movies. This one is the best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2014
I just love SciFi movies. This movie takes place in the swamps of a small Louisiana town. It's impossible but a shark has invaded their swamp and eaten their alligators they have at their restaurant as an "attraction". Kristy Swanson and her family, who owns the restaurant, goes out to hunt this shark down that no one else believes exists. Watch to see what happens and who gets eaten.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2012
A member of the police force secretly has a shark brought in by water tank truck to be an exibit for the town gator festival. What he hadn't plan on was for the shark to break loose and enter the swamp. While the cops are keeping quiet about their little accident its up to the owners and friends of a swamp side diner to go shark hunting. Especially when the sister of one of the waitresses out on a boat with a bunch of party kids and become as trapped by the shark as the kids sailing their boats in Jaws 2.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2015
cool movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse