Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 52 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 66 reviews
on January 21, 2010
This book has the best dessert recipes I've tried from over a dozen books in my collection! I agree with prior reviewers - some of the recipes take quite a bit of preparation, and you must have certain tools to do them well - for example, a very good scale, an understanding of how to measure (both dry and liquid), and the money necessary to prepurchase some ingredients that you will not easily find from local stores; you will likely be forced to use the Internet to purchase things like Irish Moss and other ingredients. Many recipes take more than a day of prep, and then some post-time like gelling. It's not likely that you will make and serve these things in the same day. But many of the desserts are well worth the prep and wait time!

This being said, the desserts are amazing - the best I've tried. Having tried 5-6 so far, they are incredible. You will not believe that they aren't using cooked ingredients - the structure and tastes are very well done (ex: lemon merengue, apple pie, several of the cakes). The accompanying photos help a lot to see how the creation might look if you followed it the authors way, you can, of course, mix things up and change the appearance to suit your own guests.

I consider this the book to use when one has company over and you are looking to put on a quality meal/show. While we do use it occasionally for everyday eating, it's a lot of work to throw it together for a family of 3. This is the type of book that will convert people to the raw food way in a most enjoyable way.

I am still looking for that 'chocolate chip cookie recipe' to die for. This book does not have one that rivals the best baked ones I am used to. Might have to create one and send it in... ;)
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2009
If you are familiar with making raw food, you will love this book! If you are not familiar with making raw food, you will learn a lot if you are open to a new, amazing way of food preparation. There are some recipes which are simple to follow and there are others which are a bit more complex - but so worth the effort. Some of them sound more complex, but once you get the hang of it, it's actually quite easy (like the absolutely amazing mud slide pie recipe - wow - totally brilliant).

I am quite creative in the kitchen and would never have come up with these recipes or anything close to them on my own. They are also extremely precise and everything turns out perfectly! You do need to have a high speed blender (such as a Vitamix) for many of the recipes - however, I think some of them would work with a regular blender. The high speed blender is such a great kitchen tool, though, that if this book inspires you to get one, you will be happy you did:) There are also detailed descriptions of ingredients which is helpful.

I also have Cafe Gratitude's first book titled "I am Grateful" and recommend that, too. Get this book - it will change the way you think about food...and you will enjoy a whole new level of healthful and beautiful food.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2009
This is an amazing followup to their excellent 'I am Grateful' book. I have been eating raw foods for over 20 years, and live with my husband and kids who don't follow a raw food diet. We all agree these are the best desserts we have ever tasted. I have seen many raw food deserts from many books, but these set a new standard for raw chefs everywhere. Eating the tiramasu and the cheesecakes almost made time stop! I suggest you make these desserts when you have nothing pressing on your agenda, because you may just forget everything else.
0Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2009
I have over 20 raw cookbooks, and this has risen to the top of my collection. If the house were burning down and I could only grab one raw cookbook, this would be it. This book is different from others in that it uses new ingredients and new techniques that make raw desserts that are truly set apart. Most every recipe has a wonderful accompanying picture. The cakes look amazing. I've made the chocolate/orange frosting and it was wonderful--thick, rich, pipable, and silky smooth. This is the first raw cookbook that I've seen address how to make true chocolate-covered cream-filled raw truffles. If you have a sweet tooth and follow a raw vegan diet, this book will make you very happy!
5/1/2009 update: This is STILL my very favorite raw recipe book. I'm eating German Chocolate cake--with a HUGE smile on my face. The cake has an amazing texture...just like a real cake (like a dense flourless cake). I've made the fudge and coconut cream pie...I'm just amazed at how delicious everything is.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2012
4 Stars becauseI wish the ingredients had been put in grams as well as ozs as USA ozs are not the same as ours
Also, I live in New Zealand and although the recipes are excellent the ingredients here are extremely expensive.
Fortunately I can order raw, organic ingredients from iHerb.com or I would not be making many of the recipes at all.
Check iHerb.com out if you are in the same situation anywhere in the world.
You are welcome to use my referral OWE535 to get up to $10.00 off of your first order with them. Keep parcels below 4lbs weight and freight is only $6.00, excellent company.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2017
It's not easy to find gluten-free and sugar-free desserts that taste good, and these are delicious. Some take a bit of work to make, but the explanations are clear and the results should please any palate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2011
I am enjoying this cookbook. The Key Lime Pie is delicious. We had a vegan potluck dinner party and we served Key Lime Pie. Guests thought it was delicious and my husband wanted me to make it again a couple of days later. The explanation of how to deal with the Irish Moss was complete and helpful since I had never had it before and wasn't sure how it would taste much less what it would do to a recipe. Unfortunately, now that I am back in New Mexico I am not sure where I will be buying Irish Moss again. Lucky for me I was able to go to Cafe Gratitude, in Berkeley, before returning home and had purchased my Irish Moss in the restaurant. Most of the recipes seem fairly easy and I look forward to enjoying many more. The pictures are great so you can see what a dessert should look like. Thank you for this book, I love it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2011
Book has lovely pics and good recipes, but a bit confusing. On a cheezcake recipe I attempted, it lists ingredients, then underneath says mix ingredients together in food processor, then underneath that, it says look on page xxx to see how to mix it, and on that page it says first mix some ingredients then add others. So because I followed each step in turn, I had mixed all together which spoilt it - waste of ingredients. Once you work out that you need to read the entire thing first, recipes are great.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2016
My cheesecake tastes better than yours! Because I used the recipe found in this book! Amazing. Love it. I found a good base and tweaked it a little and added my own flavor and style to it. My friends freak out when I tell them it's dairy and almost sugar free!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2012
While visiting San Francisco I ate at Cafe Gratitude as often as possible and couldn't believe what incredible desserts they served. The book is great although the ingredients can be difficult to find. The directions are detailed and thorough. I would recommend this book to any cook wanting to experiment with raw foods. The only thing lacking is an index of the recipes.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse