Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Buy Used
$3.74
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: *** QUALITY EX LIBRARY COPY***IN VERY GOOD GENERAL CONDITION***MAY HAVE SOME LIBRARY STAMPS,MARKINGS ETC. DAILY PRIORITY DISPATCH FROM THE CATHEDRAL CITY OF DURHAM IN THE UK.*** WITH YOU IN 5-10 DAYS*** SATISFACTION GUARANTEED OR YOUR MONEY BACK.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Sweets: A New Orleans Crime Story Paperback – September 27, 2011

4.5 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle & comiXology
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$8.00 $3.74

Marvel's "Runaways"
Read the critically-acclaimed, fan-favorite Marvel series on Kindle now. Learn more
click to open popover

Editorial Reviews

Review

"A visual triumph...it gave me the same chill I would get when reading old Frank Miller comics"
--Ain't It Cool


"Pretty close to a perfect crime story"
--Image Addiction


"A bob-and-weave of story that talks like a Tarantino film"
--Crave


"This kind of care and craftsmanship isn't just art it's magic"
--Newsarama


"Reads like some of the best episodes of Homicide Life on the Street"
--Comics Nexus

About the Author

Kody Chamberlain (b. 1972) is a native of Thibodaux, Louisiana. He  relocated to Lafayette in 1993 to attend the University of Louisiana at Lafayette where he earned a BFA in Advertising Design. After working for several top advertising agencies, he started his own design studio in 1999 where he offered a diverse set of client services for print and web. Early in 2004, he started his carreer as a professional comic book artist and hasn't looked back. Kody is known for working in a diverse range of styles and will often adapt visually to better suit the tone of the story being told. This is most obvious by comparing Sweets to his first creator-owned comic series Punks with co-creator Joshua Hale Fialkov. Kody loves spending quality time with friends and family, and enjoys cooking classic Cajun dishes he learned by helping his grandmother in the kitchen. Kody is happily married to his lovely wife Kristie, and the couple just celebrated the birth of their son, Lucas.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The latest book club pick from Oprah
"The Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead is a magnificent novel chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. See more

Product Details

  • Paperback: 120 pages
  • Publisher: Image Comics (September 27, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1607064138
  • ISBN-13: 978-1607064138
  • Product Dimensions: 6.5 x 0.2 x 10.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 13.6 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,521,145 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

5 star
75%
4 star
0%
3 star
25%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See all 4 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By Hansel Moreno on December 17, 2011
Format: Paperback
Sweets is a master piece. The story has all the foundations of greatness: lovable characters, lively settings and one wonderful unexpected twist.

Sweets is also a work of love. The extensive artistic details and plot clues laboriously hidden in every chapter are there for the keenest of eyes.

This book is for those who appreciate fine literature and amazing art work. The highest of praise for Mr. Kody Chamberlain.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Kody Chamberlain has crafted a daunting, sophisticated, horrifying, and beautiful story of murder that stands alone as a master work of originality and craft. Executed in a style that leans towards the poetic while remaining clear and concise, SWEETS is one of the most sophisticated graphic novels of the past ten years.

It never talks down to it's audience and allows the characters and story to draw you through the mystery to a conclusion that's both unexpected and inevitable. For fans of Brubaker, Lapham, and Rucka, meet the next amazing Crime Graphic Novelist.
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Published by Image Comics, Sweets is a crime drama written and illustrated by Kody Chamberlain. I picked this book up, having seen Kody's work in other books such as Tag from BOOM! Studios. However, I didn't know that he was also a writer as well. I'm glad I did make this impulse purchase, since Sweets was a great read that kept me glued until the final pages.

The story takes place in New Orleans, a city rich in crime and corruption, as well as it's own flavor of cooking and culture. A serial killer is on the loose, leaving behind praline treats with each murder committed. I won't spoil the rest of the story, but expect a twist or two along the way and enjoy Kody's fully painted artwork at every step.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
not what I expected. Good but not great!
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse