Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Buy New
$7.99
FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books.
Only 5 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Switchblade Goddess has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Switchblade Goddess Mass Market Paperback – December 27, 2011

4.3 out of 5 stars 14 customer reviews
Book 3 of 3 in the Jessie Shimmer Series

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
$7.99
$3.56 $0.19

50% off featured Fantasy books
Select Fantasy books are up to 50% off for a limited time. Learn More
$7.99 FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books. Only 5 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Frequently Bought Together

  • Switchblade Goddess
  • +
  • Shotgun Sorceress
  • +
  • Spellbent
Total price: $23.97
Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for Lucy A. Snyder
 
“[A] hard-hitting and rather offbeat urban fantasy series . . . It’s a wild ride. . . . Lots of fun.”—Locus, on Shotgun Sorceress
 
“[A] thrilling trial-by-fire debut . . . constantly surprising.”—Christopher Golden, author of The Lost Ones, on Spellbent

About the Author

Lucy A. Snyder is the Bram Stoker Award–winning author of Spellbent and Shotgun Sorceress, as well as the story and poetry collections Sparks and Shadows, Chimeric Machines, and Installing Linux on a Dead Badger. Her writing has appeared in Strange Horizons, Weird Tales, Hellbound Hearts, Doctor Who Short Trips: Destination Prague, Chiaroscuro, GUD, and Lady Churchill’s Rosebud Wristlet. A Texas native, she lives in Worthington, Ohio, with her husband and occasional co-author, Gary A. Braunbeck.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The latest book club pick from Oprah
"The Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead is a magnificent novel chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. See more

Product Details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Del Rey; Original edition (December 27, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0345512111
  • ISBN-13: 978-0345512116
  • Product Dimensions: 4.1 x 0.9 x 6.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 5.6 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #888,307 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
This is the third book in the Jessie Shimmer series. It was a wonderful book. It ties up a lot of things that started in the first two books and was just a lot of fun to read. I really loved the first two books in this series as well and I think if you enjoyed those books you will enjoy this book.

The book is broken into two parts. The first part has Jessie fighting the demon that has possessed the demigoddess Miko; Miko is the demigoddess who devastated a small town in the second book. Jessie and Pal end up fighting in Miko's own Hell in an effort to both save the innocent souls Miko has taken and free Miko from possession. The second part of the book deals with Jessie fighting her own possession and trying to find a way to heal Pal; she is also trying to make it back to her father. Cooper is in the story some, but is away dealing with other issues for large portions of the story. This story is really about Miko, Pal, and Jessie.

As I have said in previous reviews this series is not for everyone. It is incredibly dark and gritty and at times just plain nasty. If you are a fan of the Sandman Slim series I would recommend this as a good read for you. That being said this is a very creative and off-the-wall series and that is why I enjoy it. So just to be clear there is swearing, goriness, many offensive things said, strange sex scenes, and general yuckiness. There is also a very creative magic system, an absolutely crazy world, lots of action and butt-kicking, and incredibly complex characters.

Jessie is awesome. She is in bad shape for most of this book, but she keeps on going to protect those she loves. Despite all the violence and craziness she endures throughout she is incredibly loyal to her loved ones.
Read more ›
Comment 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
I absolutely love this series. It's full of action, magic, and violence. This book was so messed up at certain points that I couldn't believe what I was reading. Fans of S & M will find much to admire. I'm not usually a fan of that kind of thing, but this book went so over-the-top with it, that I couldn't help but love it. The first 100 pages of Switchblade Goddess were fairly interesting, but the book really picked up after that, when Jessie first stepped into Miko's hell. After that I absolutely loved it and couldn't wait to find out what twisted thing was going to happen next. Jessie Shimmer must be the most bad-ass heroine I've read about. Some of the things she has to go through are unbelievable.

If you're in the mood for an action-packed, twisted dark urban fantasy, Switchblade Goddess definitely delivers. But I definitely recommend reading the first two books in the series, Spellbent and Shotgun Sorceress, first.

I certainly hope there are more books to come in this series, and I'd definitely be interested in anything else this author decides to write. Highly recommended!
2 Comments 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
This series is one of my favorite. I loved both "Spellbent" and "Shotgun Sorceress". I was eager to read this installment. In fact I had a gift card from Christmas and I ordered 19 books. This is the first one I grabbed to start reading when that package came in the mail. These books have been progressively becoming darker and more twisted. I am okay with that but I did realize that I don't necessary care for the concept of torture in the 'hellement' or a mental plane in which the person can just wake up and be unscathed in the real world. And a few times the magic just seemed too easy. Oh we have such and such a problem but wham! We can use this magic that has never been mentioned before to make it all better!

I don't mean to sound like I am picking on this book because I really did enjoy it. I was very happy to see the Miko perspectives which were handled so beautifully and gave quite a lot of substance to the villain. In fact, she could have had an entire book about her past. I also loved the scene where Jessie tries to save the souls that Miko has taken. I was also super pleased with the characters. I love these character so much and I believe that they are why this series stands out above so many others for me. Pal, Jessie's familiar, is present most of this book and I just love him. I also like the Warlock a lot and wish he had been more in this book even though he did play a good part. I have not been a big fan of Coopers. I haven't ever gotten a sense of why he is good enough for Jessie. Jessie is a kick-butt heroine with a good heart. She needs a strong good man. I am not convinced Cooper is the man for her but he does make great strides by the end of the book.
Read more ›
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Switchblade Goddess is the third book in Snyder's Jessie Shimmer series. I strongly advise you start with the first one, not just so you know what's going on, but also so you understand the graphicness of the author's style. Because boy does this book get nasty!

In the last book Jessie faced down a half demon daughter of the Japanese death goddess. If that wasn't bad enough we get a good look at Miko's past in this book, and learn that as bad as she is, she's only an instrument in an eons old battle for human souls, a battle Jessie's now a prize in. Struggling against a deadly infection, trying to mend things with her boyfriend Cooper, and his brother, The Warlock, and trying to save the life of her familiar who has been infected with lycanthropy, Jessie's pretty busy tying up loose ends in this book. Except, for each one she fixes more fray from her life. And she still has to defeat Miko for good, as well.

The Jessie Shimmer books outrageous and enjoyable, total stand outs from the rest of the urban fantasy scene. They're a hard core, punk view in a middle class genre (not that there's anything wrong with UF in the first place). Recommended for collections with strong horror readers or dark fantasy readers.

Contains: Sex, violence, language, rape
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Switchblade Goddess
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Switchblade Goddess

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?