Kindle Price: $0.99

Save $34.00 (97%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Sword and the Dragon: 2016 Modernized Format Edition (The Wardstone Trilogy) by [Mathias, M. R.]
Audible Sample
Kindle App Ad

The Sword and the Dragon: 2016 Modernized Format Edition (The Wardstone Trilogy) Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 637 customer reviews
Book 1 of 3 in The Wardstone Trilogy

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from

Length: 613 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $7.49 when you buy the Kindle book.
Matchbook Price: $0.00 What's this?
For thousands of qualifying books, your past, present, and future print-edition purchases now lets you buy the Kindle edition for $2.99 or less. (Textbooks available for $9.99 or less.)
  • Thousands of books are eligible, including current and former best sellers.
  • Look for the Kindle MatchBook icon on print and Kindle book detail pages of qualifying books. You can also see more Kindle MatchBook titles here or look up all of your Kindle MatchBook titles here.
  • Read the Kindle edition on any Kindle device or with a free Kindle Reading App.
  • Print edition must be purchased new and sold by
  • Gifting of the Kindle edition at the Kindle MatchBook price is not available.
Learn more about Kindle MatchBook.

"Children of Blood and Bone"
Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut. Learn more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews


The Sword and the Dragon has been Top 25 on the continually updated Goodreads Listopia "Best Independent Novels" (of all time) list since 2012

Overall The Sword and the Dragon (A+) is an impressive debut - a traditional fantasy that manages to be fresh. It succeeds in offering a complete reading experience. I was pleasantly surprised to see a high level of editing for a quite long independent novel.    See the full review here: 
--Fantasy Book Critic

Fans of Tolkien and CS Lewis will find much to enjoy to enjoy in M.R. Mathias' debut fantasy novel. This is a big book, with a steady flow throughout. Read this book. Take up your sword and get ready for a hugely enjoyable adventure.
--Book Smart UK

After reading all three of the Wardstone novels I find myself wanting more. I love Hyden, Mikahl, and Phen. This is a great fantasy trilogy. Well written and worth every penny. The characters may never leave me -- Review of The Wizard and the Warlord - The Wardstone Trilogy Book Three
-- Liz Cornwell, Amazon Review

"You've (Mathias) already achieved much, much more than so many people who liketo think of themselves as writers."
-- @Gollancz TheDeputy Publishing Director of SF, Fantasy & Horror list of the OrionPublishing Group.

I bought and read this wonderful story. It has so much action and interaction in it, and it never lost my interest. This story will go far and I am really looking forward to the next book in the trilogy. Sep. 04, 2010
--T. Ellis Smashwords Review

I was captivated with this book from the first page.  I recommend this book to anyone who wants to support a new author and who likes fantasy novels with lots of graphic action. Full review at:
--Books-Treasure or Trash

"There are few writers in the genre of fantasy that can equal the creative mind of M.R. Mathias - now acknowledged as a master in this genre of dragons and dwarves, and magic, and spells, and all aspects of fantasy."
-- Top 100, Hall of Fame, Vine Voice, Book Reviewer, Grady Harp
M.R. Mathias imagines a setting that will entice readers and lead them, along with his characters, on a breathtaking adventure. -- Readers Favorite Book Awards review of M. R. Mathias's 2017 Award Winning novel "A Gossamer Lens" from The Legend of Vanx Malic series

M.R. Mathias is a master at world building and is so good with creative descriptions that you can almost feel the wind whipping through your hair as you soar along on the back of a dragon. -- Readers Favorite Awards review of M. R. Mathias's 2015 "Gold Medal" Award Winning novel "Blood and Royalty" from The Dragoneer Saga

From the Author

***The free preview of 'The Complete Wardstone Trilogy' has a far larger preview of this title here:
I enjoyed writing this huge series, as doing so kept me sane in a place that was crazy. I can only hope you enjoy it too. Keep in mind I wrote this tale for me, not anyone else. I never expected to publish these titles.   M.R.

Product details

  • File Size: 3551 KB
  • Print Length: 613 pages
  • Publisher: Michael Robb Mathias Junior (July 24, 2010)
  • Publication Date: July 24, 2010
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B003X9775Q
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #143,298 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Fantasy Books
4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars
Science Fiction Books
4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars
Romance Novels
4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

May 26, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
July 18, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition
Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Sword and the Dragon: 2016 Modernized Format Edition (The Wardstone Trilogy)
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Sword and the Dragon: 2016 Modernized Format Edition (The Wardstone Trilogy)