Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Buy Used
$0.49
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Shipped to over one million happy customers. Your purchase benefits world literacy!
Trade in your item
Get a $0.27
Gift Card.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Sworn Sword (Hedge Knight II) (v. 2) Hardcover – June 18, 2008

4.1 out of 5 stars 22 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$55.80 $0.49

Read "The Killing Joke" and related graphic novels
Batman: The Killing Joke
Batman Vol. 3
Batgirl Vol. 1
click to open popover
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The latest book club pick from Oprah
"The Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead is a magnificent novel chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. See more

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 152 pages
  • Publisher: Marvel (June 18, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0785126503
  • ISBN-13: 978-0785126508
  • Product Dimensions: 1 x 1 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (22 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,497,296 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I'm a big fan of George R.R. Martin's "A Song of Ice and Fire" series of books - the novels (at least, up to A Storm of Swords) have been uniformly superb. A Feast for Crows is in my opinion weaker, but still a worthy entry in the saga.

That said, Martin's two short stories - Tales of Dunk and Egg - are brilliantly written and thoroughly enjoyable romps through Westeros. The plotting isn't as Machiavellian, owing to the slow pace, but it's a vastly entertaining window into the world of A Song of Ice and Fire, and is a good primer to get someone who is unfamiliar to the books an idea of how the world works (although they may be slightly lost amidst the backstory.)

The Sword Sword is the second Tale of Dunk and Egg, and arguably contains more of the signature scheming, plotting and carefully paced reveals of the main novels. However, I enjoyed The Hedge Knight (the first short story) more, if only because I enjoy the entire tourney 'scene' in Westeros, and Martin writes it exceptionally well.

Even though this is the short story presented in graphic novel format, I believe there is no real loss of the detail or depth when compared to the written version. In fact, certain scenes benefit from the graphical medium.

The art is uniformly well done and serves the story well.

All in all, a must have for fans of A Song of Ice and Fire - especially if you like graphic novels!
1 Comment 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I ordered both of the Hedge Knight graphic novels thinking they were actual novels, so I was quite surprised when I opened up my Amazon package to find comics/graphic novels instead. It may have been mentioned somewhere, but I didn't see any description to that effect, so I didn't realize it.

Luckily, my husband (who I bought them for) is a fan of graphic novels in addition to being a fan of the author. So, it turned out to be OK.

I just wanted to say for anyone not already aware, these are GRAPHIC novels. :)

Husband enjoyed them, and is looking forward to the third installment (if it ever gets published...) :P
2 Comments 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By R. Masek on September 18, 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I really enjoyed this book, even in the comic book genre. I found it easy to follow as I have read all the King of Thrones series, even the last book #5 Dance of the Dragons. Would recomnend to all Fantasy readers.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
This sequel to _The Hedge Knight_ (2008) was also adapted by Ben Avery and drawn by Mike Miller, but I didn't find it to be nearly as good as the first book. It's a year and a half after the events we witnessed there and young Dunk (who keeps trying, not very successfully, to get people to call him "Ser Duncan the Tall"), accompanied by his squire, Egg (who is a good deal more than he seems) has taken service with the elderly Ser Eustace. The old man lives in the glory days of the past and he has ongoing territorial issues with the "Red Widow" of the next fief over. There's a drought on, and water is being stolen, and a peasant worker gets his face slashed by an arrogant and bullying knight, and now it looks like a good deal more blood is about to be shed to no good purpose. Dunk would like to try to prevent that, so off he goes -- and discovers that various people have been lying to him. But he always tries hard to live up to his own vision of what a knight's honor ought to be, and this time that's going to put him in danger.

It's not a bad story as such, but there's so much extraneous narration, so many dozens of offstage characters who never become more than names -- even if you've recently read the first volume -- that you're likely to wonder if you've missed something. It's almost as if this were the third volume in a series, not the second, and that the middle volume was never published -- maybe never written. If you *bleep* over that half of the book, the remaining half makes a passably interesting episode, and that's about all.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I have never read the RR Martin books yet still enjoyed this graphic novel. Clearly, I would have enjoyed the depth more if I had previous knowledge of the Fire and Ice names and characters as well. But as such, it is a straightforward story with a few surprises and a good set of characters.

Whether you are a fan of the Fire and Ice novels or not, this graphic novel is a good read. The artwork is clean and easy to follow and the story moves at a good pace.
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I enjoyed reading this and knew full well it was like a comic book from having read part one. Not sure how someone would not know this if they read part one and if you didn't read part one why are you reading part two? If you read part one and enjoyed it then you'll this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Great art, great story. I hope there is more to come. Anyone who enjoys the Song of Fire and Ice series of novels should pick these up.
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Most of the time, when you see a number in the title of a book indicating that it is a sequel, you know it will be bad. This time is different. Hedge Knight II continues the story of Dunk the Hedge Knight and his squire Egg, in the same tradition as the first. Dunk is a good hearted man of honor who is treated with contempt due to his status. He holds firm to the values that he was taught, while he has every incentive not to. If you like the Dunk and Egg characters, this is a winner. If you don't, you won't like this one either.
Comment 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Pages with Related Products. See and discover other items: graphic novels, rage comics, magic the gathering novels