Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Symphony for Cello & Orchestra Import

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, September 30, 2008
"Please retry"
$13.94 $17.80

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Unlimited Streaming with Amazon Prime Start your 30-day free trial to stream millions of songs FREE with Amazon Prime. Start your free trial.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Sinfonia Concertante for cello & orchestra in E minor, Op. 125: Andante
  2. Sinfonia Concertante for cello & orchestra in E minor, Op. 125: Allegro gusto
  3. Sinfonia Concertante for cello & orchestra in E minor, Op. 125: Andante con moto
  4. Sonata for cello & piano in C major, Op. 119: Andante grave
  5. Sonata for cello & piano in C major, Op. 119: Moderato
  6. Sonata for cello & piano in C major, Op. 119: Allegro, ma non troppo

Product Details

  • Performer: Sviatoslav Richter
  • Orchestra: Leningrad Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Conductor: Kurt Sanderling
  • Composer: Sergey Prokofiev
  • Audio CD (September 30, 2008)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Monopole
  • ASIN: B001ERJ76Q
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #718,805 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By DAVID BRYSON VINE VOICE on April 11, 2010
Unless you already own these recordings under some other label, may I urge you strongly to do what it takes to obtain this disc. I don't recall seeing the Monopole logo before, but there seem to be a few copies of this issue lurking shyly here and there, and at attractive prices. In one sense the Monopole production is fairly basic. There is a liner, but all it contains is a few pictures of Prokofiev and Rostropovich, plus one postage-stamp sized snap of Richter in a proletarian-looking cap. It could not be said of any of these great musicians, I suppose, that his face was his fortune. However something else was, and it is something to treasure here.

The two works occupying this disc make a very good pairing. They bring us the introvert and meditative Prokofiev, and the style of the instrumental writing is predominantly cantabile. The `symphony' (aka sinfonia concertante) is in three movements like a classical concerto, although with the fastest movement in the middle. I don't know why the title was chosen, but it could well be because the solo part is not particularly virtuoso in character. However this symphony is not in the least like Prokofiev's regular symphonies, especially not like the `core' series nos 2-6, where the idiom is famously strident and assertive. This sounds a late work, something that the high opus number would appear to confirm. The cantabile here is not lyrical in the 19th century sense of the term, whereas in the sonata that follows the style comes closer to that. Here Rostropovich is partnered by Richter, and that alone should recommend the performance, but one thing that should be criticised is the balance, with the cello too dominant.
Read more ›
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse