Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: WEAR
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Gardens of the Heart

Audio CD

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, September 24, 2001
"Please retry"

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

"Gardens of the Heart" features Classical and Ragtime solo piano music about Nature composed by women. The music was researched and performed by Margot Dilmaghani, a graduate of Northwestern University's school of Music.

This CD was produced and underwritten to benefit NOFA, the Northeast Organic Farming Association, our country's oldest organic Farming group. NOFA is an organization of farmers, gardeners and consumers working to promote local organic food systems thru an Interstate Council and chapters in NJ,NY,CT.VT,RI, and MA. They certify farms, sponsor farm tours, mentoring programs, workshops, conferences, newsletters and support organic gardening programs in schools and prisons. NOFA receives $10 from the sale of each CD.

In a recent interview, Margot describes, "The first Earth Day, April 22, 1970, I was asked to play a chamber music composition at Northwestern University's chapel. A time of enormous turmoil on college campuses, it provided an Epiphany; illuminating the unique connection fine art provides between the Eternal and the material, the enduring and the ephemeral. Since then, I have combined my music with environmental efforts satisfying my musical soul and activist heart! I believe music can give us access to Divine mystery."

Selections for "Gardens of the Heart" took years of research and, I feel, represent the rich interior landscape of a woman's Soul: lyrical, contemplative and playful!


"Gardens of the Heart" is played with wonderful spirit and understanding. -- Composer, Dianne Goolkasian Rahbee

"…the Rags are delightful and musical. You are only the second person to have recorded most of these Rags." -- Nora Hulse, publisher of Rags and CakeWalks by women

WOW! "Gardens of the Heart" speaks to the Soul! Exquisite compositions -- sensitive and musical playing! Unique and valuable! -- "Earth Voices," Fall, 2001

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Pastorale (1919, 1920) - Germaine Tailleferre
  2. Jasmin - from "Fleurs de France" (1930, 1962) - Germaine Tailleferre
  3. Lavendin - from "Fleurs de France" (1930, 1962) - Germaine Tailleferre
  4. Volubilis - from "Fleurs de France" (1930, 1962) Germaine Tailleferre
  5. Coquelicot - from "Fleurs de France" (1930, 1962) - Germaine Tailleferre
  6. Valse Lente (1954, 1963) - Germaine Tailleferre
  7. D'un Jardin Clair (1914) - Lili Boulanger
  8. D'un Vieux Jardin (1914) - Lili Boulanger
  9. Notturno (1838) - Clara Schumann
  10. Nocturne in B-flat Major (1852) - Maria Szymanowska
  11. Reverie du Soir (1867) - Mme. Perraud de Caire
  12. Nocturne (1989) - Dianne Goolkasian Rahbee
  13. Etude No. 15 from "Vingt Quatre Etudes pour Piano" (1958) - Koharik Gazarossian
  14. Etude No. 18 from "Vingt Quatre Etudes pour Piano" (1958) - Koharik Gazarossian
  15. Etude No. 3 from "Vingt Quatre Etudes pour Piano" (1958) - Koharik Gazarossian
  16. Etude No. 16 from "Vingt Quatre Etudes pour Piano" (1958) - Koharik Gazarossian
  17. Abstract No. 7 "Floating Clouds" (1981) - Dianne Goolkasian Rahbee
  18. Honey Bee - Mamie Williams
  19. Peach Blossoms - Maude Gilmore
  20. The Cabbage Rag - Bertha Stanfield
  21. Fire Fly - Alma C. Breen
  22. Wild Flower - Carlotta Williamson
  23. Burning Rags - Bess Rudisill
  24. Red Peppers - Imogene Giles

Product details

Amazon's Your Works Store

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers

Look for similar items by category