Truck Reviews Beauty Best Books of the Month Men's slip on sneakers nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Fire TV Stick Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Shop by look Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO



on February 24, 2016
I only purchased this set in order to get a copy of "The Beast from 20,000 Fathoms" - I already had a copy of "Them!" and hadn't really given the other two films much thought (I don't recall ever seeing Satellite in the Sky before, but I believe I'd seen World without End a long time ago). I personally feel that "Them!" is THE ultimate giant mutated monster film of the 50s (though Godzilla/Gojira ranks a very close second). Though I've seen "...Beast..." many times, mostly as a kid - I really wanted to finally get a decent copy - so that quest has been achieved. As an added plus, it also has subtitles, and a few extra features - a couple of them with my *hero*, the late Ray Harryhausen.

Though I loved "...Beast..." as a kid, I admit (and agree with a friend) that it really isn't that great of a movie. Still, the special effects, including the title monster, helped set the bar for later films (and, arguably, was the inspiration for Gojira/Godzilla).

The other two films, I consider their inclusion as 'extras' with this set - and I haven't viewed them yet.

I did consider downgrading my rating for this set to 4 stars - mostly because of the way "Them!" and "...Beast..." were included on a double-sided DVD. I consider that a little bit ... odd. I really don't 'blame' Warner Brothers or the manufacturers for that, but feel (I may be wrong, though) that it was something TCM had come up with. Still, I stuck with the 5 star rating - simply because the presentation of "Them!" helps elevate this set onto a higher plateau.

Bottom line: if you love your old-time giant monster films, you won't be upset with this.
7 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on September 26, 2010
It's really two classics, a cliché and a clunker but overall a very worthwhile compilation -- and the price is right.

The quality of the film transfers to DVD is superior so I was more than happy to retire my old VHS tapes.

THEM! ranks as the best of the Bug films made popular in the 1950's. TARANTULA is right behind with THE BLACK SCORPION AND THE DEADLY MANTIS in the middle and BEGINNING OF THE END and EARTH VS. THE SPIDER taking up a rear position.

The opening of THEM!, including the bright red title bursting dramatically to fill the screen, is extremely effective and sets the mood for the mystery to come. The giant ants are ungainly by today's standards but still work their magic and the suspense builds throughout as actions unfold to find and destroy the threat of a multiplying atomic creation.

THE BEAST FROM 20,000 FATHOMS showcases the genius of Ray Harryhausen's pain-staking stop-motion animation technique and should be added to his colorized titles along with EARTH VS. THE FLYING SAUCERS, 20 MILLION MILES TO EARTH and IT CAME FROM BENEATH THE SEA. A finely tuned tale with top-notch performances by Cecil Kellaway, Paula Raymond and sci-fi icon Kenneth Tobey

WORLD WITHOUT END has that space/time warp thingy going on that lands explorers on a future Earth devastated by atomic war, with a giant spider and mutants trying to put the hammer down (clubs, actually) on underground survivors that include lovely women in those cute mini-skirt costumes that made the rounds in such other pot-boilers as FLIGHT TO MARS and QUEEN OF OUTER SPACE.

The spaceship in ...END also found a home in several other interplanetary tales such as QUEEN... and IT! THE TERROR FROM BEYOND SPACE. All in all, a colorful entertainment with a good message storyline and a competent cast that included Rod Taylor of George Pal's brilliant THE TIME MACHINE that kicked off the 1960's.

As for SATELLITE IN THE SKY, the premise of a super-bomb menacing an orbiting test rocket crew is interesting but scientifically nonsensical and it's also a typically slow-paced British-made talker with minimal action and, thus, pretty boring. The rocket launch sequence is a direct lift from 1951's WHEN WORLDS COLLIDE although it's one of the film's highlights.

While not the lost classic it purports to be, it's still worth a viewing for it's serious take on a provocative issue of the day.

Nicely put together collection, TCM. Crowd goes wild!
39 people found this helpful
|33 comments|Report abuse
VINE VOICEon May 1, 2013
I grew up on these old sci-fi monster movies. I remember waiting on Saturday nights (with a big bowl of popcorn on my lap) for my local "Ghost Host" to introduce the weekly radiated monster to begin destroying mid-western or desert towns.

Turner Classic Movies has packaged together four titles from those drive-in days of the late 1950's early 1960's in one cool little package. If you are a fan of these sci-fi B-movies, you should definately grab this set:

"Them" (1954)- A genuine classic starring Marshall Dillon (James Arness) himself as "something" begins attacking a small desert town in New Mexico. Odd footprints are found around each scene of destruction. A pot-bellied scientist and his daughter are brought in to help solve the mystery (gotta love the old wise scientists/professors in these films). Also starring James Whitmore as the state trooper who stumbles onto the first attack by "Them!". Outstanding special effects, and a fun story make this a movie you will re-visit often.

"Beast from 20,000 Fathoms" (1953) - Almost a decade before "Godzilla" stormed ashore in Tokyo, "Beast from 20,000 Fathoms" unleashes a huge lizard (actually a dinosaur called Rhedosaurus) on New York City. After being thawed from it's deep sleep in the Arctic Circle by a nuclear bomb test, the creature begins it's reign of destruction down the cost of Canada and onto New York City where it decides to visit Coney Island. The real draw here is the stop motion creature F/X by Ray Harryhausen which still look amazing today.

"World Without End" (1956) - This is a nifty, but kind of depressing time travel tale. Returning from a trip to Mars, four astronauts find themselves flung a couple centuries into Earth's future. They find Earth is now a nuclear wasteland and that it's inhabitents now live underground. The rulers of this new civilization don't want the astronauts to interfere with their world and look to get rid of them. A bit talky, and somewhat slow, but still a decent little flick.

"Satellite in the Sky" (1956) - This one is kind of a dud. Maybe toss it on as background noise, or on a sleepy rainy afternoon where you can doze off and on while it spools out. Britain wants to test out a new bomb in space, and launch a rocket with a full crew to conduct the test. They activate the bomb, but the ship can't get away. The crew has must try to defuse the bomb before it explodes. Lots of talk and cheezy 1950's space scenes, but pretty boring overall, and the reason this set doesn't get 5 stars.

Still with the one dud, this set is well worth picking up for fans of the genre.
3 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on August 21, 2014
Already had Them and Beast from 20,000 Fathoms on DVD but saw this TCM DVD with two other movies and figured why not for the price. I gave my original 2 movie DVD to a friend and I'm very pleased with my TCM 4 movie purchase. One DVD is marked World Without End and Satellite in the Sky. So World Without End isn't great but you've got to love Rod Taylor and those spiders. Haven't watched Satellite in the Sky yet.

The second DVD doesn't have a label but Them is on one side with Beast on the other.

My advice? Check the price of the 2 movie vs 4 movie DVD and unless you really want to add WWE and SITS to your collection, go with the least expensive as transfers on both are top notch.
3 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on January 8, 2012
Bought this new TCM DVD collection on Amazon. I have seen 3 of the movies several times each on earlier media. Satellite In The Sky was new for me.

Them! was a B/W classic "B" Sci Fi 50s movie about giant 9ft to 15ft ants attacking, killing and eating people in and around LA Cal., nine years after the first A bomb test in White Sands NM. Talk about mutations! The B/W film was put on DVD very well with good audio. Good plot and acting. 5 stars

The Beast From 20,000 Fathoms another B/W classic "B" Sci Fi 50's movie about a titanic dinosaur trapped in the Arctic ice freed by a nuclear explosion. First seen by two scientists in a scientific expedition to measure the results of the atomic blast. 1 member killed/ buried alive by an avalanche caused by the Beast. Ships at sea sank, lighthouse destroyed and NYC attacked and people eaten. Great 50s special effects.Good acting and great plot. Good B/W on DVD and good audio. 5 stars

World Without End. A classic colored 50s Sci Fi movie about 4 scientists/astronauts with a mission to recon. Mars. Mission successful but on way back to Earth spaceship and crew go through a time warp at fantastic speed. The special effects for the spaceship going through the time warp were not good. Cheap and cheesy. 1 star. They crash/slide on snow and ice on Earth. The ship is damaged and the 4 scientists travel on foot about 12 miles and down to a warmer land in what was Colorado. They battle two mutated giant spiders in a cave. Again cheap cheesy special effects with big red eyed spiders...phony. 2 stars on this special effects. They battle 1 eyed mutated human beast men, mutated from radiation from a nuclear war around 2188. They find another cave and underground facility with regular humans with very beautiful women and find out its 2508 AD over 500 years in the future. The color and audio on the DVD was good. Excellent plot and acting. Great ending. Rated 4 3/4 stars due to the 2 scenes of poor special effects. The rest of the movie was 5 stars

Satellite In The Sky was a British movie. Its a color movie about the first atomic powered spacecraft to reach Earth orbit. Unknown until the last minute the pilot and crew are to bring a nuclear bomb on the spacecraft more powerful than the H bomb and exploded it in space. A female reporter stows away. Dumb stupid security. Also a military professor gets on the crew in the last minute to detonate the bomb. Unfortunately they can't get the bomb away from the spaceship and the bomb is getting ready to go off. OK ending. The special effects were so so. Interesting idea about an atomic powered spacecraft. This was the first time I ever saw this movie. It never caught fire in the US. This movie INMO was a "C" movie rated 3 stars. OK but nothing special.

I rate the combined 4 movie collection on DVD 4 1/3 stars. Very good for your collection especially Them!, The Beast From 20,000 Fathoms, and World Without End. Satellite In The Sky just so so.
3 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on February 17, 2018
I mainly purchased this collection (at a very cheaper price than what they list here) mainly for the Beast From 20,000 Fathoms. I already had a copy of Them and those are the two main ones I liked. The other two movies were alright, they just didn't rock my boat. My biggest complaint is I recently tried to watch The Beast From 20,000 Fathoms and it won't load up. The Beast and Them share the same disc, but TMC went cheap with it, one movie per side. The problem isn't with my player and the disc looks fine, no scratches. It just seems there is nothing recorded on that side of the disc. Unfortunately, it's well past the warranty and I'm stuck with an extra copy of Them and two other movies I can easily live without.
|0Comment|Report abuse
on October 19, 2016
Having never seen these beyond vague memories of Them!, this value-priced 4-pack of classic sci-fi films has proved wonderful. Especially fun to see Beast from 20,000 Fathoms all these years after watching the Godzilla films that were initially inspired by it.

The pack comes with two discs, the first being a flip disc with Them! on one side and Beast on the flip. The second disc has World Wiithout End and Satellite in the Sky on one side, selected from a menu.
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on February 24, 2011
This DVD is absolutely wonderful with four classic movies from the 50s. I originally ordered this DVD for the movies ("Them!" and "The Beast from 20,000 Fathoms") and was quite pleased with all four movies. I won't go into detail about the synopsis of the movies as you probably are already familiar with these movies or can read other reviews already written.

Them and The Beast from 20,000 Fathoms are Black & White while World Without End and Satellite In The Sky are in color. All four movies come in crisp and sharp transfers.

Note: You might recognize one of the characters, Kenneth Tobey, starring in The Beast from 20,000 Fathoms as the leader who saved our planet from "The Thing from Another World".

Highly recommend this set to anyone whose childhood was filled with these type of movies and I still keep repeating the phrase "Make me a Sergeant in charge of the Booze".
9 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on December 30, 2011
These movies are an excellent reminder of how badly modern-day Hollywood has failed to recapture the idea of what makes a science fiction movie a GREAT movie. These 4 movies dealt with the effects of radiation (a new concept in the fifties) on mankind and the possible outcomes of mankind's choices - good or bad. Sound familiar? I'm sure it does. Modern day film makers do just that but where our contemporaries fail is in making it tasteful, palatable, and fun. The Thing From Another World, War of the Worlds, Invasion of the Body Snatchers, as well as many others are examples of classics that were turned into unacceptable jokes of a modern day remake. I am thirty years old and I am confident to say that Hollywood has lost that Golden Age magic that it once had back in the 50's. History will be the judge, though.
5 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on September 8, 2017
Surprising social commentary mixed with sci-fi action. Seeming big budget (Satellite in the Sky and World without End) but forgotten productions dealing with speculation about early space exploration and possible consequences of nuclear war. Them teaches a lot about ants with overtones of nuclear mutations and Beast is just a godzilla-like monster terrorizing New York. Fears of a world confronted by possible imminent nuclear destruction are undertones which perhaps have been ignored until recently.
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse