Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 6,951 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 8,405 reviews
on November 28, 2016
 I set this up on my Alexa and the Kasa app in less than 30 minutes start to finish. I noticed that sometimes I would say the command, "Alexa turn on lamp," and Alexa would respond "ok" without actually turning anything on. The issue was my 5-year-old router. I replaced the router with a new router that could handle more devices. The new router resolved the issue. I've been using this plug for a few months now and it is still working great.
1414 comments| 390 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2016
The new Echo compatibility works very well and allows grouping controllers under a single group name. I just set up three controllers and now I can say "Alexa, turn on the living room lights" and viola, they're on! Much easier than finding each lamp's on/off switch on a cord behind a piece of furniture. I can also schedule them to turn on and off when we're away from home.

Go to the TP-LINK support site for full instructions and to the Alexa app if you're using an Echo to control the switches. The set up was mostly straight forward once I read the TP-LINK full instructions, but below is an more detailed hint for part of the instructions that weren't clear to me at first. I spent about 30 minutes puzzling this out, but the rest was fast and easy.

The controllers can be configured with Kasa to be "local" or "remote" connected. To be controlled by Echo each individual controller must be set to Remote Control ON, in the Device Settings menu. That menu is accessed in Kasa with this process after the controller is initially set up: From Kasa's home page tap the device name; a screen for that device appears, with selections for Schedule, Away, Timer, an off/on button and at the top right corner an icon that looks like three little sliders. Tap that icon to open the Device Settings screen and then slide the Remote Control slider icon to the right so that it lights green. Do that for all controllers you want to be controlled through Echo.
4848 comments| 1,315 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2016
TP-LINK Wi-Fi Smart Plug HS100 Review

A couple of weeks ago, I purchased a Smart Plug (HS100) to confirm that the product works with Alexa (Amazon Echo) and provides easy, reliable, secure remote control of plugged-in devices. Pros and cons are below.

If you use consumer Wi-Fi (IP) webcams (Foscam, etc.), then you may be familiar with this product's technology and potential concerns about security and privacy. A webcam contains a microprocessor which can be programmed (with network data, operational settings and user options) and controls a camera which may be monitored using an app. A Smart Plug contains a microprocessor which can be programmed and controls a power switch which may be monitored using an app. Both local (LAN) and remote (Internet WAN) control are possible in each case.

After confirming that the Plug indeed works as advertised, I was more curious about how and where operational data (supplied via the app) is stored and secured. That is, I'm not sure if all operational data is stored on-board the Plug in non-volatile memory in case of extended power outages and to secure such data locally. If remote control is used, what's stored in TP-LINK's Cloud server?

[A Vine Voice review on 1-23-2016 indicated that "the plug has internal storage for its own status and the schedule. ... a copy of the schedule is stored in the plug itself and does not rely on having a persistent internet connection to function. ... plug does rely on the power to keep time so that it can act on scheduled events."]

If the Plug is like a Wi-Fi webcam, then operational data is stored on-board, as can be verified using a local web browser connection to the camera's built-in web server. A Smart Plug, however, does not provide browser access, whether it runs a web server or not [there is a http port]. Remotely using a manufacturer's app, whether for a camera or Plug, introduces Cloud-based data storage and collection.

And because Wi-Fi webcams and Smart Plugs are computers, they can crash or glitch and need to be reset. That's why reliability is a key factor. Time will tell. The Plug has a 2 year warranty.

So, setup was relatively easy, and I discovered (as other reviewers have noted) that the best (but not perfect) instructions are in the Support section of TP-LINK's website, rather than in the included Quick Start Guide.

* * *
[...]
How to connect my TP-LINK Smart Plug to my home network via Kasa?
How to make my TP-LINK Smart Plug work with Amazon Echo?
* * *

1. Install the "Kasa" app on your iPhone.

2. Open Kasa. If you want to use the Smart Plug with Alexa (Remote Control), setup a TP-LINK (Cloud / P2P registry server) account; and, after receiving an email activation message, login; otherwise, you may Skip setting up an account for just local control.

3. With your iPhone on a local 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi connection, open Kasa and then: (a) plug Smart Plug into an AC outlet; (b) Add Device > SMART PLUG and follow the instructions; (c) which say to go to your iPhone's Wi-Fi settings and connect to the Smart Plug's Wi-Fi network and then return to Kasa; (d) customize your Plug -- with a unique name, etc.; and (e) connect the Plug to your local Wi-Fi (with or without Remote Control, but Alexa requires Remote Control enabled).

To use a Smart Plug with Alexa:

A. On your iPhone in the Alexa app settings (via "hamburger" icon), tap on Smart Home and then the TP-LINK Kasa item and login with your TP-LINK (Cloud) account name and password.

B. Scroll down Smart Home and near the bottom tap Discover devices (search your Wi-Fi LAN) to add your named Smart Plug, which will then be listed.

C. With Alexa, say "Turn on / off (name of plug)."

Pros

• Good package and product design (both hardware and app).
• Works with Alexa without a hub.
• Setup relatively easy.
• WiFi connectivity provides 2-way communication for control and real-time status (unlike one-way powerline modules).
• Remote access without router configuration (port forwarding) [probably using company's (or subcontractor's) Cloud / P2P server like most Wi-Fi cameras].
• 15A load max.
• Can unplug from AC without losing settings in order to relocate unit.
• Moderate price.
• TP-LINK supportive with comments on Amazon reviews.
• 2 year warranty.

Minor Cons

• No support for 5 GHz Wi-Fi (okay as long as most routers are dual band).
• Plug socket on front rather than the side or bottom (like on X-10 modules) of unit -- cord protrudes even farther from wall.
• Status LED always on -- no way to turn off (like on Sonos speakers).
• With Alexa, limited to only commands to turn on / off.

Cons

• Size (see photos) -- bulkier than standard X-10 appliance module (longer and thicker); even thicker than X-10 Pro appliance module and around the same length.

• Covers both outlets if plugged into bottom outlet; covers upper edge of bottom outlet if plugged into top outlet, making bottom outlet unusable.

Concerns

• UL certification

Some reviewers were worried about UL certification (which is not marked on the product or box). The manufacturer stated that certification was obtained. I searched UL's Online Certifications Directory (database) and found a listing: XACN.E481494 Miscellaneous Controls Operating Control, Smart Plug, Model(s) HS100, HS110 Last Updated on 2016-03-29.

• Heat buildup when connected to some (high wattage) appliances

Some reviewers were worried about the Plug getting too warm. I have only connected LED lamps (~10 W) to the Plug so far; so, I cannot as yet comment on possible thermal issues. The manufacturer stated that the Plug "will remain well within a safe temperature range."

• Security and use of encryption, e.g., protection of data stored in Plug's memory and TP-LINK's Cloud.

The manufacturer stated: "In order to control your Smart Plug remotely, a TP-LINK Cloud Account is required. Your Cloud Account is safe and secured, and remote access to your Smart Plug is controlled solely by you through the Kasa App. Cloud accounts and Cloud servers are an industry standard for Smart Plugs and Smart Home devices."

"The Smart Plug does not hand over or transmit any password information to us; It receives Wi-Fi profile information from your phone during setup, in order to connect the Smart Plug to your router."

• Privacy (privacy trade-offs)

The weighty Terms of Use and Privacy Policy pose questions about data collection and sharing of personal data, anonymized or not -- for marketing & promotion, including partners and other 3rd parties. "Device submissions" ... device names, groups, schedules, locations, ..."usage information" ...

Software limitations

• No offset possible on sunrise and sunset timer, but can use Away mode for randomness.

Questions

1. Security: Is Wi-Fi password saved only in Plug's memory or also in TP-LINK's Cloud? Encrypted?

2. Security: Are timers, schedule, Away settings stored in Plug's memory or the Cloud? Encrypted?

3. Plugs do NOT communicate with each other, correct? Only with the TP-LINK Cloud?

4. When the unit is unplugged from AC outlet, are all settings (defined using the Kasa app) truly non-volatile? Does the on-board clock re-synchronize via Wi-Fi on the LAN anyway when plugged into AC again?

UPDATE 6-13-2016

Purchased another 2 Smart Plugs on June 3. New packaging has UL certification mark, as well as new graphics and description: old "Wi-Fi SMART PLUG" vs. new "Smart Wi-Fi Plug;" old FC and RoHS marks vs. new UL and RoHS marks; model and part number unchanged.
review image review image review image review image review image
1313 comments| 1,311 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2016
**UPDATE**

Sorry, I didn't know this review had gotten this much attention, but I will clear a few of my points up.

I have been using the smart home devices for over 2 years now. I started with the Wemo (now have 4 outlets 3 this size and 1 insight and 2 wall switches) 3 TP-Link outlets, and 10 Philips Hue bulbs. All controlled with My Echo and 2 Dots. For the first year or so the Wemo outlets were a pain every time the power went out. Through firmware updates this is no longer the case and they work just fine now. I also was not using IFTTT at the time so it not having IFTTT support wasn't an issue for me. I have since been using IFTTT which is why I've personally gone back to using Wemos over these, but still use these on devices I don't use IFTTT triggers with.

I'll also clear up the "intergrated" questions. Before February or March of 2016, when using these you had to say "Alexa, tell KASA to turn on XXXX" you still technically have to use a skill, just it only now needs to be enabled and linked and Alexa will recognize these devices individually when searching for devices like Wemo and other integrated devices.

Sorry I didn't reply to questions/issues earlier, I didn't know anyone had replied to my review. Any questions my email is in my profile.

**Original review**

I have been using Wemo outlets and switches for over a year now and love the ability to have Alexa turn things on and off by voice. I decided to order a few more smart home devices when Amazon released the Dot since between my Echo, it's remote, and now the Dot I have voice control throughout most of my apartment. It just so happened these were on sale as a deal of the day at the right time, so I ordered 2.

You will see some reviews that state these only work with Echo using a skill, that changed in February or March and they are now fully integrated with Alexa. Over the past year I've had issues with my Wemo outlets dropping connection, and anytime I lose power I'd have to set them up again. This isn't the issue with these outlets. They were very easy to setup and link to Alexa, the app walks you easily through step by step in setting them up, renaming them for Alexa and getting them online if you'd like remote access. After setting mine up I decided to move them to another room. With the Wemo outlets one I unplugged them I'd have to set them up again, not with these. One I plugged them in at their new location they reconnected with no issue. I highly recommend these over the more expensive Wemo outlets.

I saw another reviewer complain these cover both plugs on an outlet, this is true of all of the smart outlets currently on the market, if this is an issue for you I recommend doing what I did in a couple locations and get a cheap pack of 1' extension cords. Most of my outlets are hidden from view anyway so using the extension cords wasn't an issue for me.

Now off to bed "Alexa, turn off lights" (yeah, it's been over a year and I still giggle like a little schoolboy once in awhile over this)
2323 comments| 687 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2016
UPDATE 3: It's now been long enough for me to believe that TP-Link has successfully corrected the problem I referenced in UPDATE 1 below. My units have continued to work successfully for well over a month now, including self recovering once power was restored from a power outage. All have continued to work flawlessly with all of my my Echo (Alexa) devices and I've been able to verify I can use the Kasa app to turn lights on and off from anywhere I have internet access on my cell phone.

While I'm at it I should note that one limitation for these is that they are strictly single pole (SPST) switches, which means they can't be installed in place of a 3-way (SPDT) switch . It would be nice if TP-Link offered a 3-way version of the product for those of us who might want to use one with a multi-switch installation.

UPDATE 2 (upgrade 1 star): I'm raising my previous 2 star downgrade to a 1 star downgrade since TP-Link finally recognized they had a serious disconnect between their Kasa app and Amazon's Alexa app (it sure took them long enough). It appears (for now) that they have corrected whatever caused the problem, but I won't trust their Smart Home devices to retain their settings until my devices behave as advertised for at least a month. After the fix, for a plug I originally named "Back Porch" in the Kasa app and which I subsequently renamed "Porch", the Alexa app, even after rediscovery, insisted on looking for "Back Porch" from the Kasa app instead of "Porch" until I deleted it from the Alexa app and rediscovered it; i.e., there are still bugs. Otherwise, it's been so far so good, but I'm not convinced it won't revert again to the erratic behavior I experience over a period of about 3 weeks, long enough that I was tempted to scrub the whole kit and kaboodle. If TP-Link keeps their Smart Home devices squeaky clean for about the next 6 months, my confidence in them will be sufficiently restored to revert to my original 5-star assessment.

UPDATE:1 (downgrade 2 stars): I'm lowering my review from 5 stars to 3 because these simply do not consistently behave. I have become expert at factory reset to get them operating again, but the key point is that I can't trust them to remain operational for more than a few hours before I get messages from Alexa that a device is not responding, or from the Kasa app that it can't find the device, sometimes after having set it up just a few hours earlier, and that's for a plug within a few feet of the my wi-fi range extender. It would appear TP-Link needs a firmware upgrade. I suppose I could replace my wi-fi router and range extender with one from TP-Link, but that seems stupid since my wi-fi works just fine with lap top, cell phone, TV, etc. Make no mistake, these represent a very cool idea, but as currently being sold they are way too finicky.

Original review:
I have 3 versions of the TP-Link Smart Home technology distributed within my house. Being able to control outlets and switches using them is perhaps the major reason I have that many. This is just one of a number of Smart Home products an Echo can handle. It differs from the plug ins in that you install it permanently in place of an existing manual wall switch. Installation is no different than installing any other wall switch, except this one is smart, at least in the sense that it can be operated by wifi as well as manually. The form factor is actually smaller than that of most dimmer modules, so it should fit in most switch boxes. After installation, you set it up for wifi via the (free) Kasa app (a very intuitive exercise) and from there tie it to your Echo system as a Smart Home product. In the Kasa app you can change the name to whatever you want and then have the (free) Echo app "discover" the new name. Operation is flawless and is entertaining (e.g., "Alexa, turn on the patio light", where "patio light" is the name you selected for the smart switch). You can operate it manually via the Kasa app, or via Alexa as you wish! You can also program it for automatic operation. Any one of my Echo's can operate it. It does require reasonable access to your home wifi network to work as advertised. I now have a number of Smart Home products installed, and the software does not seem to have any issues keeping them sorted out (far more reliably than the obsolete X-10 system I used to rely on).

Here's my take on the steps for installation of the switch:
1) first turn off the circuit breaker that controls the existing switch (easy to test, since if the switch doesn't work, the power to it is off);
2) your existing switch should be across the "hot" line that supplies power to the load (a lamp or whatever), one black (hot) line for power coming in, and one black line for power passed on from the switch to the load. You simply remove the existing switch, disconnect its two black wires, and use wire nuts to hook them to the black wires for this switch (order doesn't matter).
3) the "return" that completes the circuit is through the "neutral" white line (always present unless you have some really squirrely wiring). You hook the white wire to the neutral line using a wire nut, cutting/stripping the neutral wire as necessary (usually not necessary since most installations will already have a wire nut connection for the neutral line).
4) if there is a ground line (a bare wire in the switch box) connect the green line to it using a wire nut (if not, don't bother, but insulate it using one of the wire nuts or electrical tape).
5) turn the circuit breaker back on and verify the smart switch works as a manual switch, then go through the set up procedure.

NOTE: 4 wire nuts are included in the package in case your current installation is one with the black wires attached directly to the old switch. A switch plate is included that you have to snap off for installation. The switch has the Decora form factor, so if your existing switch is not Decora style, you will need to use the included plate or pick up one from some place like Home Depot to match your needs.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2016
I already own several WeMo switches, but when this TP-Link went on sale for one day at Amazon, I decided to use it to expand my system. Installation was identical to the Belkin F7C030FC (WeMo equivalent of the TP-Link). This switch requires a common line in addition to the two wires that connect directly to the switch. The ground is optional, but should be used if present.

I had the switch installed in 10 minutes and downloaded the TP-Link Kasa app in order to pair the switch with my WiFi. Again, it works exactly the same as the WeMo devices and found my wireless with no problems.

The software sets up any schedule or timer you want associated with the switch. In addition there are "scenes" you can create to do things like dim the lights. Unfortunately, my LED bulbs aren't dimmable, so the only thing that happens when I enable the scene to dim them is that they shut off. I like the idea though, and if I ever upgrade the bulbs it'll be a cool feature, one that isn't available on the WeMo app.

The differences between the WeMo and TP-Link switches are minor. As an example, with the WeMo switch, the on and off times can be set up as one rule. With TP-Link's device it needs to be two rules: one for when it comes on, and one when it turns off. One thing I like much better about the WeMo is that you can gear events based on sunrise and sunset. As an example, turn the lights on 15 minutes before sunset and turn them off at midnight. Since it's an Internet-connected device, it will change the time every day by a minute or two. It's a bit strange that TP-Link doesn't offer that feature in their app as it would make it significantly more functional.

On the other hand, upgrading the firmware is easier on the TP-Link than the WeMo. The WeMo pops up an alert telling you there's a firmware update for your device(s.) I've owned them for over 3 years now, and my experience is that installing the upgrade is a hit or miss affair. There is no area of the WeMo app that will allow you to trigger the firmware upgrade manually. The TP-Link, however, has a separate function under settings that will tell you the current firmware version and whether there is an update available. From there you can trigger it manually. It's a much better design, and more straightforward.

I love the Alexa integration and had it up and running in under a minute. Now this light switch can be voice controlled as well as from my iPhone.

The only real disappointment I have is the color. The switch is only available in white. As you can see from the photo that accompanies this review, it stands out against the beige switches that are already installed. It sure would be nice if these devices were available in the same colors as, say, a Leviton switch. To be fair, the WeMo is also only available in white, so if TP-Link decided to offer it in colors, I'd definitely consider it over the competition. This switch is installed in a room that is not highly decorated so I'm not too concerned about the mismatch, but I'd definitely hesitate installing it in an area like the living room where the difference in color would make a stylistic difference.

In summary, a very good device for automating a light switch, but the WeMo app is superior to TP-Link's Kasa for scheduling. My advice is to wait for them to go on sale, as they do periodically on Amazon. I'd bet money that TP-Link will be adding features to their software in the future that will put it on an even keel with Belkin's WeMo switch.
review image
44 comments| 198 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2016
Great little plug. I initially bought three of these plugs to use with our Amazon Echo and they perform perfectly. The only reason I knock them down to four stars is a personal reason and that is I discovered they don't work with Samsung Smartthings which I did not realize until after I had them and they were installed. This is my own fault for not completely reading the description. If you are getting into home automation and are just going after lighting functions, these would be great for you and they are cheaper than the Wemo plugs.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2017
Installing this took some doing, and some patience in the process! TP-Link's tech support, though, was excellent, and helped me through it, and now we LOVE being able to tell Alexa to turn off our lights when we go to bed. Even better, our living room light switch (this switch) is not by the front door, so if we wanted to turn on the living room light when arriving home at night, we previously had to walk most of the way through to the other side before we could turn on the light, sometimes tracking with us whatever happened to have come out of the cat that day. (Our cat has some issues.) Now, we open the door, tell Alexa to turn on the light, and we SEE where we're stepping (and what we're stepping ON or IN)!

And my wife thought it wouldn't be great to be married to a nerd! This is great stuff!!! :-)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2017
I bought this to control a TV & Satellite box but after reading some others reviews I realized that it would not do the job I was expecting it to do in that capacity. I'm grateful and thankful to those people for their reviews detailing why it won't work to control your TV (basically the device thinks its unplugged from the wall if "turned off" from a smart plug so turning it back on means rebooting tv's & satellite boxes) before I started unplugging and setting things back up only to find my dreams dashed. Seriously, search "TV" in the reviews search and see their knowledge and save yourself the hassle.

I figured I might as well try plugging an awkward to access lamp into one of the two plugs I bought before I initiated a return and was happy to find that the set up and connection process was effortless and fast. The app was easy to use on my phone, I literally just plugged the plug in, waited for lights to turn colors per the app's on screen directions and within a few minutes, it worked. I then connected my Google Home to it in another seamless & simple set up connection process and now I no longer have to contort my arm to find the switch for this lamp, I just say "Hey Google, turn on the lights" and on it goes. There's an audible click when it goes on and off that comes from the plug itself, it's a satisfying sound to me.

So I was bummed I couldn't use these for what I intended, but am thrilled that I was able to simplify something and expand my Google Home's capabilities. This was my first "Smart Home" purchase and I'm very pleased with the ease of this system. So trust the reviews, don't use this for your TV, but do use it for lamps or other appliances that don't need to reboot to be used. Also trust us that you're going to want the Mini plug if you want second outlet access. This one hangs too low over the bottom outlet if you plug into the top. Lesson learned. If I ever decide to add more smart plugs, I will go with the mini.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2017
UPDATE: After TP-Link saw my review, I received an email saying they wanted to help and asking me to click a link to customer support. Despite not wanting to waste more time, I fell for it, thinking I would get a live chat or a callback. Nope. I clicked on the link, which required me to send yet another email. I did not get a response until two days later asking me to call the main tech support number (which ihad already spent an hour with before, as described below).
I called twice today after getting yet another email telling me they were going to close my support ticket unless I called. Got the usual VM system. After being told each time that I was customer 1 on the wait list, within two minutes, the support service switched to another line or area, and kept asking me in Chinese and English to "please dial the extension directly." What extension? It gave no options. It repeated this message continuously. After a few minutes of hearing this repeated and no one picking up, I hung up. If I could reduce this rating to zero stars, I would.

ORIGINAL REVIEW: Worked fine for a few weeks, then stopped allowing consistent local (via phone or tablet on same wifi network) control. Worked fine if I turned wifi off on my phone and connected to devices via Kasa app remotely. On wifi, sometimes the devices could connect, sometimes no, telling me to "try again later". Spent over an hour with various tech support people. Upgraded firmware on each plug. When they told me to then reset and reconfigure one device to test, the Kasa app (on phone or tablet) will see and connect to the new device, but will not let me add any new devices anymore because it will no go past the device naming screen (even if I attempt to leave the default name). So the update and reset made the reconfigure plug device unusable. The other devices I updated (but did not reset) and they work fine for remote control. But i still cannot control them via my devices if they are on the same wifi network.

Another tech product that is supposed to make life easier, but makes it more difficult by requiring and wasting our time, by not reliably doing the very job they are sold. These "Smart Home" devices are dumb, and not ready for actual consumer use
66 comments| 70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse