Amazon Business Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer STEM March Birthstone Shop Popular Services SneakyPete SneakyPete SneakyPete  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 4,906 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 5,687 reviews
on March 15, 2016
The new Echo compatibility works very well and allows grouping controllers under a single group name. I just set up three controllers and now I can say "Alexa, turn on the living room lights" and viola, they're on! Much easier than finding each lamp's on/off switch on a cord behind a piece of furniture. I can also schedule them to turn on and off when we're away from home.

Go to the TP-LINK support site for full instructions and to the Alexa app if you're using an Echo to control the switches. The set up was mostly straight forward once I read the TP-LINK full instructions, but below is an more detailed hint for part of the instructions that weren't clear to me at first. I spent about 30 minutes puzzling this out, but the rest was fast and easy.

The controllers can be configured with Kasa to be "local" or "remote" connected. To be controlled by Echo each individual controller must be set to Remote Control ON, in the Device Settings menu. That menu is accessed in Kasa with this process after the controller is initially set up: From Kasa's home page tap the device name; a screen for that device appears, with selections for Schedule, Away, Timer, an off/on button and at the top right corner an icon that looks like three little sliders. Tap that icon to open the Device Settings screen and then slide the Remote Control slider icon to the right so that it lights green. Do that for all controllers you want to be controlled through Echo.
4747 comments| 1,031 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2016
TP-LINK Wi-Fi Smart Plug HS100 Review

A couple of weeks ago, I purchased a Smart Plug (HS100) to confirm that the product works with Alexa (Amazon Echo) and provides easy, reliable, secure remote control of plugged-in devices. Pros and cons are below.

If you use consumer Wi-Fi (IP) webcams (Foscam, etc.), then you may be familiar with this product's technology and potential concerns about security and privacy. A webcam contains a microprocessor which can be programmed (with network data, operational settings and user options) and controls a camera which may be monitored using an app. A Smart Plug contains a microprocessor which can be programmed and controls a power switch which may be monitored using an app. Both local (LAN) and remote (Internet WAN) control are possible in each case.

After confirming that the Plug indeed works as advertised, I was more curious about how and where operational data (supplied via the app) is stored and secured. That is, I'm not sure if all operational data is stored on-board the Plug in non-volatile memory in case of extended power outages and to secure such data locally. If remote control is used, what's stored in TP-LINK's Cloud server?

[A Vine Voice review on 1-23-2016 indicated that "the plug has internal storage for its own status and the schedule. ... a copy of the schedule is stored in the plug itself and does not rely on having a persistent internet connection to function. ... plug does rely on the power to keep time so that it can act on scheduled events."]

If the Plug is like a Wi-Fi webcam, then operational data is stored on-board, as can be verified using a local web browser connection to the camera's built-in web server. A Smart Plug, however, does not provide browser access, whether it runs a web server or not [there is a http port]. Remotely using a manufacturer's app, whether for a camera or Plug, introduces Cloud-based data storage and collection.

And because Wi-Fi webcams and Smart Plugs are computers, they can crash or glitch and need to be reset. That's why reliability is a key factor. Time will tell. The Plug has a 2 year warranty.

So, setup was relatively easy, and I discovered (as other reviewers have noted) that the best (but not perfect) instructions are in the Support section of TP-LINK's website, rather than in the included Quick Start Guide.

* * *
[...]
How to connect my TP-LINK Smart Plug to my home network via Kasa?
How to make my TP-LINK Smart Plug work with Amazon Echo?
* * *

1. Install the "Kasa" app on your iPhone.

2. Open Kasa. If you want to use the Smart Plug with Alexa (Remote Control), setup a TP-LINK (Cloud / P2P registry server) account; and, after receiving an email activation message, login; otherwise, you may Skip setting up an account for just local control.

3. With your iPhone on a local 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi connection, open Kasa and then: (a) plug Smart Plug into an AC outlet; (b) Add Device > SMART PLUG and follow the instructions; (c) which say to go to your iPhone's Wi-Fi settings and connect to the Smart Plug's Wi-Fi network and then return to Kasa; (d) customize your Plug -- with a unique name, etc.; and (e) connect the Plug to your local Wi-Fi (with or without Remote Control, but Alexa requires Remote Control enabled).

To use a Smart Plug with Alexa:

A. On your iPhone in the Alexa app settings (via "hamburger" icon), tap on Smart Home and then the TP-LINK Kasa item and login with your TP-LINK (Cloud) account name and password.

B. Scroll down Smart Home and near the bottom tap Discover devices (search your Wi-Fi LAN) to add your named Smart Plug, which will then be listed.

C. With Alexa, say "Turn on / off (name of plug)."

Pros

• Good package and product design (both hardware and app).
• Works with Alexa without a hub.
• Setup relatively easy.
• WiFi connectivity provides 2-way communication for control and real-time status (unlike one-way powerline modules).
• Remote access without router configuration (port forwarding) [probably using company's (or subcontractor's) Cloud / P2P server like most Wi-Fi cameras].
• 15A load max.
• Can unplug from AC without losing settings in order to relocate unit.
• Moderate price.
• TP-LINK supportive with comments on Amazon reviews.
• 2 year warranty.

Minor Cons

• No support for 5 GHz Wi-Fi (okay as long as most routers are dual band).
• Plug socket on front rather than the side or bottom (like on X-10 modules) of unit -- cord protrudes even farther from wall.
• Status LED always on -- no way to turn off (like on Sonos speakers).
• With Alexa, limited to only commands to turn on / off.

Cons

• Size (see photos) -- bulkier than standard X-10 appliance module (longer and thicker); even thicker than X-10 Pro appliance module and around the same length.

• Covers both outlets if plugged into bottom outlet; covers upper edge of bottom outlet if plugged into top outlet, making bottom outlet unusable.

Concerns

• UL certification

Some reviewers were worried about UL certification (which is not marked on the product or box). The manufacturer stated that certification was obtained. I searched UL's Online Certifications Directory (database) and found a listing: XACN.E481494 Miscellaneous Controls Operating Control, Smart Plug, Model(s) HS100, HS110 Last Updated on 2016-03-29.

• Heat buildup when connected to some (high wattage) appliances

Some reviewers were worried about the Plug getting too warm. I have only connected LED lamps (~10 W) to the Plug so far; so, I cannot as yet comment on possible thermal issues. The manufacturer stated that the Plug "will remain well within a safe temperature range."

• Security and use of encryption, e.g., protection of data stored in Plug's memory and TP-LINK's Cloud.

The manufacturer stated: "In order to control your Smart Plug remotely, a TP-LINK Cloud Account is required. Your Cloud Account is safe and secured, and remote access to your Smart Plug is controlled solely by you through the Kasa App. Cloud accounts and Cloud servers are an industry standard for Smart Plugs and Smart Home devices."

"The Smart Plug does not hand over or transmit any password information to us; It receives Wi-Fi profile information from your phone during setup, in order to connect the Smart Plug to your router."

• Privacy (privacy trade-offs)

The weighty Terms of Use and Privacy Policy pose questions about data collection and sharing of personal data, anonymized or not -- for marketing & promotion, including partners and other 3rd parties. "Device submissions" ... device names, groups, schedules, locations, ..."usage information" ...

Software limitations

• No offset possible on sunrise and sunset timer, but can use Away mode for randomness.

Questions

1. Security: Is Wi-Fi password saved only in Plug's memory or also in TP-LINK's Cloud? Encrypted?

2. Security: Are timers, schedule, Away settings stored in Plug's memory or the Cloud? Encrypted?

3. Plugs do NOT communicate with each other, correct? Only with the TP-LINK Cloud?

4. When the unit is unplugged from AC outlet, are all settings (defined using the Kasa app) truly non-volatile? Does the on-board clock re-synchronize via Wi-Fi on the LAN anyway when plugged into AC again?

UPDATE 6-13-2016

Purchased another 2 Smart Plugs on June 3. New packaging has UL certification mark, as well as new graphics and description: old "Wi-Fi SMART PLUG" vs. new "Smart Wi-Fi Plug;" old FC and RoHS marks vs. new UL and RoHS marks; model and part number unchanged.
review image review image review image review image review image
88 comments| 968 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2016
**UPDATE**

Sorry, I didn't know this review had gotten this much attention, but I will clear a few of my points up.

I have been using the smart home devices for over 2 years now. I started with the Wemo (now have 4 outlets 3 this size and 1 insight and 2 wall switches) 3 TP-Link outlets, and 10 Philips Hue bulbs. All controlled with My Echo and 2 Dots. For the first year or so the Wemo outlets were a pain every time the power went out. Through firmware updates this is no longer the case and they work just fine now. I also was not using IFTTT at the time so it not having IFTTT support wasn't an issue for me. I have since been using IFTTT which is why I've personally gone back to using Wemos over these, but still use these on devices I don't use IFTTT triggers with.

I'll also clear up the "intergrated" questions. Before February or March of 2016, when using these you had to say "Alexa, tell KASA to turn on XXXX" you still technically have to use a skill, just it only now needs to be enabled and linked and Alexa will recognize these devices individually when searching for devices like Wemo and other integrated devices.

Sorry I didn't reply to questions/issues earlier, I didn't know anyone had replied to my review. Any questions my email is in my profile.

**Original review**

I have been using Wemo outlets and switches for over a year now and love the ability to have Alexa turn things on and off by voice. I decided to order a few more smart home devices when Amazon released the Dot since between my Echo, it's remote, and now the Dot I have voice control throughout most of my apartment. It just so happened these were on sale as a deal of the day at the right time, so I ordered 2.

You will see some reviews that state these only work with Echo using a skill, that changed in February or March and they are now fully integrated with Alexa. Over the past year I've had issues with my Wemo outlets dropping connection, and anytime I lose power I'd have to set them up again. This isn't the issue with these outlets. They were very easy to setup and link to Alexa, the app walks you easily through step by step in setting them up, renaming them for Alexa and getting them online if you'd like remote access. After setting mine up I decided to move them to another room. With the Wemo outlets one I unplugged them I'd have to set them up again, not with these. One I plugged them in at their new location they reconnected with no issue. I highly recommend these over the more expensive Wemo outlets.

I saw another reviewer complain these cover both plugs on an outlet, this is true of all of the smart outlets currently on the market, if this is an issue for you I recommend doing what I did in a couple locations and get a cheap pack of 1' extension cords. Most of my outlets are hidden from view anyway so using the extension cords wasn't an issue for me.

Now off to bed "Alexa, turn off lights" (yeah, it's been over a year and I still giggle like a little schoolboy once in awhile over this)
2323 comments| 637 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon August 19, 2016
UPDATE 12/11/16: I've since purchased the mini version for my Christmas tree and it works just as perfectly as its larger siblings. Setting it up and using it is exactly the same as with the larger versions, and the only difference is that this only blocks one power outlet instead of two. I imagine that eventually they will all be this small, as there's really no reason to buy the bigger one unless you're looking for the power monitoring. Anyway, it still works great, was even faster to set up than the originals since I already had Kasa ready to go, and is especially useful for Christmas tree lights instead of bending or hunching down to reach the power. Awesome value, excellent price for the convenience. I still very strongly recommend this product.
****************
After finally getting my Hue lights set up and working with Alexa, the next step of my home automation process was to begin to integrate wi-fi smart plugs into the equation. I wanted smart switches for my televisions, fans, air conditioners, air purifiers, and wax burners. What I didn't want was to pay through the nose for it.

I've learned over the years that you generally do get what you pay for, but some of the pricing on these "smart" gadgets is ridiculous; the Hue ecosystem is insanely overpriced, and while I like it, you're essentially paying for the guarantee that you won't have to deal with the troubles that buying non-brand cheap Chinese electronics brings. I've purchased other TP-LINK products before (wi-fi adapters), but I was hesitant to get these because all of the other, branded, smart plugs were much more expensive. I thought I'd become a victim of the cheap Chinese electronics phenomenon.

I'm glad I listened to the reviews and chose to buy one, because it works perfectly and does exactly what I wanted. It's well-made and was pretty easy to set up. I'd read that before there was direct Alexa integration it was kind of a pain to set these up but now, after they've added the integration, I found it incredibly simple. Here are some abbreviated directions that I've streamlined from TP-LINK's two or three setup pages; do it in this order for the easiest setup:

1) Download the TP-LINK Kasa app from your app store of choice.
2) Install and open the Kasa app
3) Create a Kasa cloud account (requires email verification),
4) Allow Kasa to discover your plug
5) Set your plug to "remote control on" to allow Alexa to control it
6) Name the plug (i.e. Bedroom TV)
7) Exit the Kasa app and enter your Alexa app
8) Swipe down to Learn More Skills and search for "Kasa"
9) Authorize Kasa in the Alexa app by entering your email and password
10) Go back to the main Alexa screen and discover new devices
11) Once Alexa has found it, assign your plug to whatever group you want it in (Bedroom group for Bedroom TV plug)
12) Enjoy

The first one I set up was for my TV in the bedroom. Keep in mind, in order for one of these smart plugs to work with Alexa to turn your TV (or other device) off AND back on, it must have an auto restart after power failure function. If it doesn't you'll only be able to turn it off, but have to use the remote to turn it on.

I have various groups set up in Alexa in order to achieve various functions. I've included the TV in the the "turn everything off" group so that I can turn it off at the same time as my 5 other Hue ambient lights. I've also got it in the "Bedroom" group so that I can turn it on and off by itself. The way you do this will depend entirely on how you have your room/house setup. For me, "Turn everything off" applies only to the bedroom and leaves the rest of the house alone, because this is something I usually only use when I'm laying in bed and ready to sleep, and I've already turned the other stuff off before going to bed.

You could use these switches instead of buying smart bulbs, but I find it more convenient to have all the lighting independent of the plug. The normal white light Philips hue smart bulbs, and the other brands, are already less expensive so you're not saving anything. I find this option attractive for controlling non-lighting electronics. I've since ordered and connected these to my fans, air conditioners, wax burners, and electric fireplace. Anything you want to work completely with these MUST auto restart after power failure, because that is essentially all you are doing when you turn it on and off - removing and supplying a power source. For example, I had to buy a floor fan that had a manual mechanical switch because the one I had with a remote wouldn't function except to turn off. My air conditioner automatically restarts when power returns after the (simulated) power interruption that these plugs create, so I didn't need to replace it even though it is "smart" and has a remote and no switches. It's not something that's widely discussed, but important for people who are just getting into home automation to know. Until the technology improves to allow deeper integration, you're stuck completely controlling (mostly) dumb devices.

All told, this is an excellent bargain for getting into home automation. It works very well, and the build quality is excellent. The only complaint I have is that it covers more than one socket on your outlet, but as I understand it, almost all of these do simply because it is necessary to house the wi-fi components. Expect to have to also buy additional power strips for areas where you plan to use these. They are less expensive than the "brand name" smart plugs and have excellent compatibility with Alexa. I've already purchased 6 of them, and will continue to buy more as I expand my home system.

Pro tip: you can use one of these to control the power to a power strip, enabling to you to simultaneously connect and control more than one device. I've successfully done this with this Amazon Basics power strip (AmazonBasics 6-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip, 790 Joule - Black) without tripping the fuse. Or, alternatively, you can have these Smart Plugs plugged in to the power strip and still maintain individual control. You'll only be able to insert two or three, depending upon your power strip, but you can expand the outlet easily that way. Your mileage may vary, however it's something to keep in mind.
review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 83 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2016
I love these switches. There are a couple of drawbacks, but the good far outweighs the bad. One drawback is that the plug covers both receptacles in a normal wall outlet. It is also pretty chunky, so you won't easily be able to put a bookcase or similar in front of it. Another drawback is the fact that Amazon always seems to be out of stock on this particular model. Apparently, it is very popular.

That brings me to the good. These switches do NOT require a special hub to use them. So, you don't have to jump through hoops to set up the hub and then jump through even more hoops to set up each switch to connect to that hub. To set these switches up, you download a FREE app (Kasa) and the app sets up the switch, letting you give each one a descriptive name. If you also own Amazon Echo devices, you can install the free Kasa skill and you'll be able to control any light from any Echo on the same network. They can be at opposite ends of the house and it still works. The Kasa app on your phone lets you program timers into each switch as well as controlling them remotely. You can be on vacation and turn the lights on at your house. Lastly, the energy monitoring feature is really handy. If you really want to be able to see what impact each light in your house is having on your total energy usage, these switches are a must have. When you look at a particular switch in the app, you get a complete picture of the energy consumed by the lights or devices hooked to that particular switch. It's an eye opening experience to see how some items use a lot more energy than you thought, while others are pretty frugal. Lastly, the TP-Link switches, Nest thermostats/alarms, and the Echo can all work together to lower your energy costs by sensing when you're home or away. This is when the potential of integrated home automation becomes really clear. Highly recommended!
11 comment| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2016
Initially I left a horrible review. I'm not ashamed to retract and admit it was my "User error". I mixed and matched with Wemo light switch and didn't realize I choose a less expensive TP Link outlet plug. I tried connecting it via Wemo app periodically for 2 days with no sucess. I decided to write a bad review and return it. I began looking for a different brand when I realized the price difference between Wemo and this tp link. It hit me I did pay the lesser of the two, I mixed the two product brands! Duh!!! Immediately I went on YouTube , viewed the directions and set this up in 5 minutes. I linked it to my network and my Alexa. The easiest thing I've ever done. I purchased this for my young son who was scared to go to the bathroom at night because of the dark. He would wake my wife and I up at night to escort him to the restroom. That started getting old quick. Now he tells Alexa to turn on the lights; no longer afraid and goes on his own. This is an awesome product and made me feel like a great Dad. As a young child I too was afraid of the dark, sometimes still am, lol. My father use to scold me, " be a man, there are no monsters". I didn't want to take any chances, so like many kids, I suffered some nights holding it in. As parents, I feel we must be more understanding and not unintentionally traumatize our children by becoming an unsympathetic monster. I am so great full we have this technology. I hope to make my entire house "Smart". This is the way of the future, embrace it! I highly recommend this product.
11 comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2016
 I set this up on my Alexa and the Kasa app in less than 30 minutes start to finish.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2016
I already own several WeMo switches, but when this TP-Link went on sale for one day at Amazon, I decided to use it to expand my system. Installation was identical to the Belkin F7C030FC (WeMo equivalent of the TP-Link). This switch requires a common line in addition to the two wires that connect directly to the switch. The ground is optional, but should be used if present.

I had the switch installed in 10 minutes and downloaded the TP-Link Kasa app in order to pair the switch with my WiFi. Again, it works exactly the same as the WeMo devices and found my wireless with no problems.

The software sets up any schedule or timer you want associated with the switch. In addition there are "scenes" you can create to do things like dim the lights. Unfortunately, my LED bulbs aren't dimmable, so the only thing that happens when I enable the scene to dim them is that they shut off. I like the idea though, and if I ever upgrade the bulbs it'll be a cool feature, one that isn't available on the WeMo app.

The differences between the WeMo and TP-Link switches are minor. As an example, with the WeMo switch, the on and off times can be set up as one rule. With TP-Link's device it needs to be two rules: one for when it comes on, and one when it turns off. One thing I like much better about the WeMo is that you can gear events based on sunrise and sunset. As an example, turn the lights on 15 minutes before sunset and turn them off at midnight. Since it's an Internet-connected device, it will change the time every day by a minute or two. It's a bit strange that TP-Link doesn't offer that feature in their app as it would make it significantly more functional.

On the other hand, upgrading the firmware is easier on the TP-Link than the WeMo. The WeMo pops up an alert telling you there's a firmware update for your device(s.) I've owned them for over 3 years now, and my experience is that installing the upgrade is a hit or miss affair. There is no area of the WeMo app that will allow you to trigger the firmware upgrade manually. The TP-Link, however, has a separate function under settings that will tell you the current firmware version and whether there is an update available. From there you can trigger it manually. It's a much better design, and more straightforward.

I love the Alexa integration and had it up and running in under a minute. Now this light switch can be voice controlled as well as from my iPhone.

The only real disappointment I have is the color. The switch is only available in white. As you can see from the photo that accompanies this review, it stands out against the beige switches that are already installed. It sure would be nice if these devices were available in the same colors as, say, a Leviton switch. To be fair, the WeMo is also only available in white, so if TP-Link decided to offer it in colors, I'd definitely consider it over the competition. This switch is installed in a room that is not highly decorated so I'm not too concerned about the mismatch, but I'd definitely hesitate installing it in an area like the living room where the difference in color would make a stylistic difference.

In summary, a very good device for automating a light switch, but the WeMo app is superior to TP-Link's Kasa for scheduling. My advice is to wait for them to go on sale, as they do periodically on Amazon. I'd bet money that TP-Link will be adding features to their software in the future that will put it on an even keel with Belkin's WeMo switch.
review image
44 comments| 178 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2017
In general, I really like these switches and they do the job as described. I have a few detailed comments that some might find useful.

1.) I really don't like the connections being 'wires' that come out of the switch that you have to connect to with wire nuts. This takes up much more space than if they had screw terminals just like standard electrical switches have. Since the switch itself is larger than a standard electrical switch, the extra space taken up by the wires and wire nuts can really be a problem if the box you are installing it in is short on space.

2.) The tabs of the switch that mounts it to the box and faceplate are thicker than a standard wall switch. I was installing it in a box with two other standard wall switches (see picture..you can see the TP-Link Kasa in the middle and the two standard switches on the outside). When the faceplate was installed on top of these, it wouldn't sit flat on the TP-Link Kasa because of the thicker tab. My solution to this was to trim the back of the faceplate (see second picture) to help provide enough clearance for the Kasa. This worked and the faceplate now sits flat.

3.) linking up the Kasa with the wifi network and the Kasa app was a total breeze. Super simple and quick and everything worked perfectly.

4.) Linking up with Alexa was a breeze.

5.) The software seems solid and works well. I do think it's a bit sparse on features and could use more development. For example, I was a little disappointed there seems to be no way of scheduling events relative to sunrise and/or sunset. Seems like a pretty simple feature that should be supported. Maybe I can do this through Alexa...haven't tried yet.

I've just installed them, so no idea if they will break tomorrow or last 10 years...but so far so good. After I give these a little time I'll probably get more. Really wish they had a solution for 3- and 4-way switches. Really wish they had a dimmer. I'd be more likely to buy more devices if I knew they were coming out with more things down the road to accommodate these other use cases.

5.) The software
review image review image
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2016
The TP-LINK smart plug is a nice cheaper alternative to the WeMo smart switch (which I also own). The TP-LINK model interested me because it is cheaper than the WeMo switches, and it can also be controlled with Alexa via our Echo and Echo Dot, which made it perfect for our downstairs lamp.
Setup is fairly simple, though it took three or four times before it actually saw my wireless and got connected successfully - there is little to no feedback to let you know it's connecting/setting up, which is aggravating from someone who known how to customize my home network, but once it went through everything really clicked in to place, and getting it to work with Alexa is a snap! Voice-controlled lights are great, and having the ability to set this light to turn on/off automatically is a nice security feature, both for when you're gone and for when you are walking downstairs into what was previously a dark room.

I actually prefer the TP-LINK Kasa app over the WeMo app - it just seems to function better. It's intuitive and the settings and features are easy to find. It's no-nonsense and feels lightweight. When I first got my WeMo plug, the app was the worst part of it and made interacting with it a pain. In each case, you can set it and leave it, but the app interfaces are important. I do wish I had the ability to wrap ALL of my smart home devices in to ONE SINGLE app instead of having so many different ones, and I'm holding out hope that the Amazon Echo app will one day accomplish this, since Alexa can already control everything anyway.

Maybe I was a bit spoiled by WeMo as there are a couple areas this plug does not deliver. Firstly (and minor), while the "away" feature is nice, it's a bit buried in the settings. If I had multiple TP-LINK devices, I would rather have one big Away button I could hit to send all my devices into away mode. Secondly, I LOVE the ability to set a lamp to come on at sunset then turn off at around 11pm or so. WeMo has that feature, TP-LINK does not. You have to set a specific on and off time. It's not a deal-breaker, but if you're in the set it and leave it mentality, having a light come on at the same time and off at the same time every day is not as much of a thief deterrent as it might seem (see the "auto porch light" scene in Home Alone for reference). I would prefer a dynamic light that changes based on the time of year. Thirdly, and probably the biggest negative and results in my taking a star off, is the footprint of the switch itself. Sure, it's a single plug, but if you're going to make a single plug, you should pay close attention to how big the plug is. Plugging this in the top outlet will almost certainly render the bottom plug also useless. It really is a shame, since so much about this device is well designed.

I like what TP-LINK has done here. There is some really good thought put into this plug, and it works well. Native Alexa/Echo integration is excellent, and the Kasa app is leaps ahead of the competition for its lightweight and speedy feel. TP-LINK is already cheaper than Belkin's WeMo, and if they improved the footprint of the switch and added in sunset/sunrise triggers, even more of my house would be a TP-LINK box.
22 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse