Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 113 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 119 reviews
on April 1, 2014
The last two seasons, 13 and 14 were both shot only at MGM Studios in Culver City, CA and on location in surrounding Los Angeles. Even though exteriors filmed in Dallas were usuallly in only the first 10 episodes of every previous season, it still set up the feeling that they were in Dallas and Southfork even when they weren't. And once this feeling was lost, Dallas never felt the same to me except in the two Dallas TV movies; that they shot in Dallas. I am only referring to the original show not the new Dallas.
JR starts cheating on his new wife, Cally. No surprise there! It would be out of character if he didn't. Plus once a cheater, always a cheater.
My favorite part is when JR gets the hair brained idea to commit himself to a mental hospital so he can gain access to Jessica Montford (Clayton's sister) so he can get her to sign a legal document. Needless to say this does not turn out well!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2016
Love everything about the original Dallas series. Actually, I have purchased every season because I want to be able to watch it again. Interestingly, the 'grandchildren' of Miss Ellie and Jock Ewing have grown up on the show. I'm happy the same characters were used throughout the series. There's nothing on tv today, in my opinion, that compares to this fast-moving, epic. There's something of interest for everyone on nearly every show, from cattle ranching to the oil business. Then there's a steady stream of some of the most beautiful women on the planet. The show features some of the darker side of life's situations, and all of the above is integrated so well into the script as to keep viewers coming back for more-for 14 seasons!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2011
While the remaining original stars (Duffy, Hagman, Bel Geddes, and Tilton) try their best, the loss of Linda Gray at the end of the previous season left a void that could not be filled.

This, the actual season TWELVE, has a mixture of pluses and minuses which could be listed as follows:

Pros:
1) The addition of Kimberly Foster as April's sisters Michele
Foster is not only a knockout in the looks department but does a pretty credible job as the girl who will do whatever it takes to become a success.

2) The return of Alexis Smith
Even though the storyline about the mysterious murders is really too "Murder, She Wrote," it's still good to see Smith as the Clayton's loopy sister, Jessica

3) Omri Katz and Joshua Harris as youngsters John Ross and Christopher, respectively
I wonder why the two actors were not asked to reprise their roles in the upcoming TNT "re-boot" of the series but they did get to effectively show their acting mettle in this season.

4) Leslie-Anne Down as Stephanie Rogers
Down is presented as a female equal to J.R. but is underutilized, appearing in only a handful of episodes. It would have been nice if the character had been introduced earlier to see how she and Hagman would've played off each other.

5) Cathy Podewell comes into her own
Podewell, as the latest Mrs. J.R. Ewing, is quite strong as a woman who must cope with her husband's infidelities and his every effort to run her off Southfork. She really gets to show her versatility as an actress, jumping effortlessly from scorned spouse to plotting her own brand of "payback."

Cons:

1) Sasha Mitchell
Perhaps, the idea of giving J.R. a "love child" was a good one but Mitchell's acting was not up to the part. And what was with the guy's hands? It's like the actor couldn't decide what to do with them, constantly moving them in an almost-Joe-Cocker-like-spasm.

2) The number two plus above is also a minus as well. Turning Miss Ellie (Bel Geddes) and Clayton (Howard Keel) into Jessica Fletchers comes across as nothing more than "let's-give-the-old-folks-something-to-do-before-they-ride-off-into-the-sunset." It was just dumb.

3) Jeri Gaile as Carter McKay's wife Rose
Though Gaile plays her part well, the question always arises as to "What's the point of having her character in the show in the first place?"...other than to have her flounce around the house in skimpy attire.

4) Bobby and April
Sorry, but they're about as exciting as Ray and Donna. Let's face it. Bobby (Patrick Duffy) was only interesting when he was with Pam.

5) The season finale
This is possibly the dumbest one in the show's history, ranking up there with a certain shower scene!

The DVD itself lacks in picture and sound quality. Occasionally, there is some discoloration as well as sound fading. Only English subtitles are available.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2017
Collecting all of the seasons, a lot we missed while it was on TV, love watching without commercials.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2010
Another great dallas season will be released in 13th of April and only one full season is left to complete the series and 3 tv movies which i hope they will be released after dvd season 14 is being released and i'm talking about the 1986 prequel DALLAS:THE EARLY YEARS and the post series movies, 1996 JR:RETURNS and 1998 WAR OF THE EWINGS.
Season 12 ended with sue ellen threating JR with releasing the movie about him which was hardly a cliffhanger which was normally left out of the fav Dallas top 10 cliffhangers as they were voted by the dallas fans and u can see this top 10 in one of the dallas dvd seasons releases as a special feature. From the 13 regular seasons the three clifhangers which were left out of the top 10 were the clifhangers of DVD SEASON 5 (Clif hospitalised), season 12 (sue ellen treatens JR) and season 13 finale.
With hopes of a new and final reunion movie i leave u to enjoy the rest of the dalla seasons and let's hope we get a full prequel dallas series which will tell the events set between the arise of jock ewing and the events of dallas dvd season 1 in 1978.
I hope if they do this series they do it right.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2017
Christmas gift loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2017
Good cliff hanger
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2017
Get the popcorn and soft drinks ready and enjoy the show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2010
As one who likes to have all the Dallas seasons in my collection, I'm very glad to have this. What I don't understand is that inevitably anymore, there is always one disc here and there that has jumped a little in a scene or pixeled and I say we had better luck back in the day with VHS tapes. These mass produced discs are always a gamble and it's more of a pain to return the whole thing for a replacement on a couple discs where a scene has jumped or is pixeled because the manufacturer lacks quality control on disc checking. When you return many of these items, you find that there's a different disc with the same issue, hence why you just learn to live with the messed up disc or buy a second set! (makes me wonder if that's what is going on to make more money for these manufacturers, etc)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2017
Very satisfied with seller.would definitely deal with again.thank you..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse