Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 41 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 60 reviews
on September 28, 2016
Tales of the Greek Heroes weaves together stories of ancient Greek heroes from the beginning to Troy. The stories are similar to any other retelling, but the book manages to make them more of a cohesive unit with one story relating to and leading to the next. These retellings are excellent and I highly recommend reading them to people of all ages!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2012
I have long been a fan of the Greek Myths every since Jr. High. With "Percy Jackson" books giving these Myths a new spin, this is a great book to get acquainted with the origins of the plot elements found in Rick Riordan's great books.

you will discover so many of the items such as "The Golden Fleece," and run in to many of the many of the monsters, "Medusa," "The Minotaur," as well as see the parallel adventures found in the "Percy Jackson" books. These stories are far from boring and reading the original myths will give you a greater appreciation for why the modern versions by Rioran are so engaging.

If you've read up to the "Son of Neptune" you will see a familiar piece of wood that when burned will end a heroes life. Such are the benefits found by reading this book. You will also read about the greatest Hero of all and his many labors. A must read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2017
Great book for kids that want to learn about myths. Stories are well organized and easy to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2013
As a middle school teacher, I found the structure of this book a little surprising. Green uses the life of Hercules to give the book a sort of loose narrative that ties the whole thing together. For someone who is looking for great insight or faithful translations of old stories, I wouldn't recommend this. For someone looking to give an adolescent a gateway into mythology, I would highly recommend this.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2017
good deal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2014
Really cool book, it`s like adventure and stuff and its action packed. Hey, if you like Greek mythology, then I suggest you read these series, Heroes of Olympus, Percy Jackson and the Olympians, and The Kane Chronicles. Also, try the books, Son of Sobek, and Staff of Serapis. They`re about modern day teen half-bloods that face the same dangers that the old heroes faced. They are the best books ever. The books are written by Rick Riordan, the best author ever, who helped out making this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2017
gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2016
Love, love, love this book! I find that some Greek mythology stories are too watered down for kids. These of course have been watered down but not too much. I also love the way the book looks. It has a very nice cover.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2015
Great contrast for comparison studies on the different Greek tales. This was bought as a companion for several other books purchased on mythology. I used it for my children's mythology and legends course study. The kids never balked at their reading assignment and they enjoyed the multitude of information that it covered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2013
...told in story form. Almost biblical in language, and that makes it kind of fun. Great background if you're reading Rick Riordan's Greek/Roman books; almost a must-read for that, since he, himself recommends and wrote the forward for this book, which he read growing up and used as the starting point for his mythological accuracy. And yes, kids who are reading about Percy and Jason can understand this book including Perseus and Jason very easily.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse