Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Digital Albums Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
76
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$10.04+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 48 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 76 reviews
on December 31, 2013
Alan Watts is a true master of bringing the Eastern thought into the Western sphere of thinking. Much like "Spirit of Zen", Watts uses his wording and expressions, as well as citing sources from the tradition, to gently introduce Taoism to one unfamiliar with the philosophy/religion/lifestyle. With beautiful Chinese calligraphy, history, and philosophy, Watts skillfully expresses the mystical and natural way of the Tao.
While it is truly impossible to describe what is beyond description, beyond thought or concepts ("The Dao that can be spoked of is not the true Tao.. from the Tao te Ching), Watts does a fine job.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2017
Ancient ideas have a modern application to the world's confusion. Read and enjoy old time wisdom!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2016
So good I am going to read it twice more. There is a lot of deep meaning in this work that one must come back to it again to gain the benefit of the book and knowledge within.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2015
I read this years ago.
Liked it then.
Still like it.
Watts is probably the best westerner to interpret Eastern thought, at least the Tao.
If you want to get a good feel for Taoist things in a compact format this is the place.
Older but still very relevant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2015
If you have any interest in Taoism (Daoism) at all, this is the entry book for you. Alan Watt is a wonderful writer and story teller and he explains this philosophy better than any one else. It is a perfect primer for this cogent and appealing eastern philosophy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2015
Purchased as a gift for my husband (but then, too, as an anticipated book to be borrowed by me!). We knew already that it would be a valued addition to our metaphysical library. Very pleased to have it, of course. Highly recommend it to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2014
A short, clear, and insightful book on the exploration of Tao. Alan Watts is a brilliant mind and has some witty prose which makes the book a very quick and enjoyable read. This book is a good primer for anybody interested in the way of Tao, and I only leave one star off the rating because I wish it could have been a little longer.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2014
Tis book started slow, but by the end of twenty p[ages one is ready to follow the journey to the end of the book. It is hard to believe one person started this book and another person finished it - the style flows well and celebrates the message of the author by allowing the reader to share in the experience as a present moment of intuitive awareness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2015
I bought the book with a lot of anticipation , as I had read about the author in related books. I must say I'm impressed by his style and hs choice of
words. Very pleasant reading , can be used as a reference on related topics , religion and spirituality .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2016
A great introduction to Taoism and a great swan song for Alan Watts
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse