Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 11-20 of 136 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 233 reviews
on June 18, 2016
John Norman's best effort. *sigh* regrettably, while his ideas are stellar, his writing is... hang on...
Can I say certain words in reviews?..... no?..... H'mmm.

Never mind. Let's just say if you're a 14 year old boy you're gonna LOVE Norman's entire series. 34 bopoks and counting... counting.... counting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2017
Not a bad story, just not my thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2017
I bought this because I believe I read the whole series. I was just checking my memory. I had read it before but I did enjoy reading it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2016
This is a classic adventure yarn similar to Conan. Talena is by far the most interesting woman of the Gor series (I've read most of them repeatedly over the last 3 decades). Their relationships is actually funny, charming, and even a little sweet at times. The chemistry is fun. His adventures are entertaining
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2015
In the world of non-vanilla psycho-sexual behavior and social allegory encouraging those who are not necessarily the boy and girl next door to accept and embrace their natures, Norman's books while not literary masterpieces supply an oasis to the like minded.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2002
Wonderful book not just for those teenaged, D&D playing, Dreaming of girls- and what they can do for them types.
A very well constructed world, with alot of believable characters, and populations. John Norman does tend to drag on a bit with descriptions- I didnt need to read a 3 page description of a Tuchuk wagon in NOMADS - but they are easily skimmed through.
One bad point- Tarl Cabot does tend to come off as superman- always successful at every turn- BUT he is weak willed, falling pray to bouts of weeping and insecutrities while acting disdainfully of the female slaves- "she was after all, just a slave". John looses himself in the greater glory of the dream of BDSM- and even a small amount of people participating in the BDSM lifestyle practice "Gorean". usually a small ritual of female worshipping the male, and declaring him her Master as she drops into the "pleasure slave" submission pose.
Beautiful- but hey guys! It's Fiction- bear that in mind when you are swinging around your Conan swords!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2017
This is a pretty decent example of early sword-and-planet genera. Unlike newer examples, the author actually tries to justify highly advanced space travel technology and planet wide war technology limited to swords and crossbows.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I read these books back in the 70's and wanted to read them again. Basic premise is a man is transported to earth's counter earth on the opposite side of the sun. Seems the time period depicted is earth in the 12 or 13th century. There are no cars, planes or other mechanical devices. If you've thought about being a renaissance warrior this is the book to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2016
Norman weaves a vivid tapestry, rich in detail. To me his style brings to mind the heroism and honor of Jason and the argonauts where one man takes on seemingly insurmountable tasks and succeeds against all odds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2014
I bought this out of sheer curiousity, having met people that adopted some of the books' precepts as a lifestyle choice. Personally, I wasn't that taken by the writing. It seems like a poor knock-off of Edgar Rice Burroughs' Mars books. Not that the giant birds weren't cool, but perhaps I'm jaded as I read this as an adult who's also seen Avatar? In any case, it was just sort of... meh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here