Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
89
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$7.04+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 79 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 89 reviews
on April 16, 2014
After a great album of duets with Emmylou Harris, comes Tarpaper Sky which shows off his great songwriting and a voice that has more power than he's had in years. It is an album of varying influences, starting off with a country smash, moving into cajun, followed by a rocker...and that's the first 3 tunes

I read in USA Today, that this album was cut pretty much with everyone in the studio playing at the same time. It shows. Highly recommended. I liked it better than his album of duets with Emmylou.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2014
Another wonderful collection of songs by the consistently great Rodney Crowell. For me, it's too early to tell if this is his absolute best album, but it certainly has that potential. Time will tell. There are some truly excellent songs on here, the only exception being the contrived "Jesus Talk To Me," a tune I find so annoying that I now skip it every time I play the CD, and the major reason I'm only giving this 4 stars..

Except for that one glitch, however, the rest of the album really impresses and resonates. As always, Crowell has a flair for penning songs with lyrical depth (some of the lyrics will truly stick in your head), and the melodies in this batch of new tunes are equally strong. For the past three decades, Rodney Crowell has proven to be one of America's finest singer-songwriters --- in any genre --- and this new album provides further proof of his talents.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2014
Still vibrant, poignant and with a great deal to say, Rodney Crowell's latest "Tarpaper Sky" ranks with anything he has ever done. And if you are even a luke-warm fan of Rodney's you need to give this a listen. "God I'm Missing You" is a beautiful love song, as is "I Wouldn't Be Me Without You". Both are reminders of the great love songs Mr. Crowell has produced before and they are every bit as strong. Rodney also gives us a taste of his upbeat stylings and humor with "Fever On The Bayou" and "The Flyboy & The Kid", which are fast paced winners. "The Long Journey Home", "Oh What a Beautiful World" and "Famous Last Words of a Fool" are also excellent, making this cd a must listen. Many thanks to the Houston Kid for this gem.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2014
Rodney Crowell is always at the forefront of what is now called "Americana" music and this album stands up to some of his best. If there is anything negative to say it may be that the music "sounds" digital and the vinyl lacks the warmth that licorice pizza hounds crave. I have both and usually listen to the CD version as it delivers a well mastered version. If I put on "Diamonds and Dirt" it's a different story. Pressing is good without surface noise.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 17, 2014
Rodney Crowell's best albums--THE HOUSTON KID and FATE'S RIGHT HAND spring immediately to mind--are personal, deeply-felt albums wrought with heart, humor, and all the grit you find under a workingman's fingernails. Crowell has rarely shied away from telling it like it is; he's one of the few songwriters you can trust, time and again, to paint the picture true, even if it's not entirely right.

On the whole, TARPAPER SKY falls in line with Crowell's impressive, decades' long body of work. The opening track could've come from either of the previously-mentioned albums. The closer, "God What a Beautiful World," would fit right at home on Crowell's previous solo project, SEX & GASOLINE. The slow-rolling (think Don Williams) creole anthem "Fever on the Bayou" perhaps sums up Crowell best: a melody like a warm summer breeze, filled with tongue-in-cheek poetry laced with naughtiness. "Diamonds and dirt," to quote a prior Crowell record.

If TARPAPER SKY has one major strike against it, it's that, unlike Crowell's best stuff, these songs don't entirely congeal into an album. What makes some of his previous albums so unforgettable is the way the songs string together, thematically or melodically. TARPAPER almost feels piecemeal. Each song on its own shines, to varying degrees; but the journey is stilted, as the songs never coalesce into a larger overall picture. Still, for Crowell fans, this is a must-have album. Perhaps it's not his best--but like anything by a master craftsman, you'll still want to get your hands on it.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2015
This has to be my new best, most favorite cd.
Rodney's voice is so silky it slides through your brain like a mountain stream in spring.
Rodney's lyrics, well, anyone who can listen to this collection and not get a tear in their eye on at least one, or have their chest swell with sweet memories, well, I just don't want to know that person!
My only question about this cd? Where the heck can I find the chords so that we can play these soon to be classics?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2014
Musicians who have long careers, usually just under the "pop" radar, are some of my favorites. Rodney Crowell keeps maturing as an artist, and still has a lot to say. He dedicates three songs to friends and they are really lovely, especially the ones for John Denver and Guy Clark. I also have Rodney's terrific autobiography, Chinaberry Sidewalks, so knowing more about his journey as a musician and person is really nice.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2014
Rodney has settled into his writing, his life, and his voice in way that has a great deal of appeal to me. I am no fan of country music at all, and this is not country.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2015
Have loved Rodney 4ever, just saw him with Emmy Lou on David Letterman lastnite. This is another great Rodney album!!! đź’– I have alot of his early stuff, & his work with Emmy before he went Solo. He's one of the best! This is really great album, Rodney's pipes are still excellent, really love & highly recommend!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 12, 2014
I was not alone in not being moved by his collaboration with Emmy Lou. Should have been great, ended up lifeless. Tarpaper sky is a return to form by a great performer, hot guitarist and real good songwriter. Saw him live a while back, great show. If you are not familiar with him, he is Nashville royalty, formerly married to Johnnie Cash's daughter and has written several hits for other performers. It is worth reading his autobiography. You might want to track down an earlier song, Sex and Gasoline.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse