Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Teaching the Bible to Adults and Youth
Amazon Vehicles GoldBox Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
14
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$18.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 31, 2000
This is an excellent book with many solid suggestions for new pastors or laypersons as well as those with many years of teaching under their belts. It is simple to read yet detailed with many ideas. There are concrete examples and it is broken down into adult and youth studies, however, most if not all examples can be used across all age brackets. It is a must read for all interested in enlivening any Bible study!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2002
Murray presents ten teaching methods for Bible study. Some of his ideas are quite good including theological Bible study, all senses Bible study, depth Bible study, and shared praxis Bible study. In these four methods, Murray helps us move past the written words to personalization and deeper understanding on both the part of student and teacher. However, in comparing all ten teaching methods Murray tends to be redundant, as there is a good deal of overlap in the ten methods. Additionally, some of the more current methods are not included in this book, which could be due in part to the fact that the material is somewhat dated, i.e. no material is presented which covers learning stations and/or cooperative learning groups. This book would be a good starting point for a novice Bible study teacher; but, for someone with any teaching experience, this book is not recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2012
This book was referenced in a leader's guide to a course I'm teaching, so I bought it. I like the different approaches outlined in this book. It's an excellent resource for preparing a lesson, and I'd especially recommend it for lay teachers or small group leaders.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2013
I am going through the Disciple Bible Study with my Church.
I saw repeated referances to this book in the teachers manuel.
I found this book very cheap,it came quick and i am halfway through it already.
It has some styles of teaching that are not for me.
But some info i will definatly use.
I am particularly happy because i love to teach but never buy these books.
This book promises and delivers.
It gives teaching suggestions,various syles,and an evaluation of a few long term bible study curriculum.
One idea is to write your own and have the sermons and sunday school(or long term Bible study)to reinforce each other to enhance the congregations understanding of and knowlege of the Bible.
It also gives ideas for short term Bible study .
This is good for pastors and laymen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2002
Mr. Murray provides a refershing look at Bible Study that is well thought out and well organized. The themes that author provides are fully discussed anfd the author is very thorough.
This is a good guide for any Bible Study teacher in any setting Because the author is sensitive to the learning needs and abilities of different people, he provides a diversity of different approaches.
Murray obviously desires to share his faioth woith others and through this book he not only underscores the value of Bible Study but the value of the method as well.
The reader is surprised by the quantity and duiversity of the methods in Murray's book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2014
I teach discipleship classes and finally decided to to order this book the study kept refering to and wondered how I went so long without it. It ehanced and helped both me and the students to go deeper into scripture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2002
This book provided explicit procedures for implementing various Bible study methods. Each of the methods outlined gave detailed approaches to develop meaningful studies. Being non-technical, the methods used were very student oriented. Evaluations were also given of different prepared Bible studies, although these were somewhat outdated. Several of these methods were used in a class setting and most were very effective. This book is highly recommended for anyone interesting in beginning a Bible study, since it gives a wide variety of ideas for getting started.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2002
In this book Dick Murray, professor of Christian Education at Perkins School of Theology, provides several methods for teaching the Bible. His methods endeavor to place the focus on God's Word--not on the teacher or the method--making the Bible accessible to adult and youth learners with varied learning styles. The book provides easy-to-follow procedures, often with several options. Murray provides several practical approaches to helping people learn about the Word of God.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2002
This book is easy to follow and contains concrete ways to help leaders engage students in God's word. Murray discusses many techniques that can be easily implemented. This book is an excellent resource for someone who has never taught the Bible. You can pick this book up, read it, and immediately implement its techniques.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 19, 2006
One size doesn't fit all when it comes to Bible teaching and Dick Murray offers a menu of creative and resourceful ways to make the Bible come alive in small group settings. Anyone teaching Sunday school or a small study group would benefit from this very readable, non-pretentious book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse