Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 27 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 65 reviews
on July 14, 2016
When this book arrived to me, the first thing that I did was to read about ADX, some rationale about it, how to calculate it, etc. What did I find? Half a page about "interpretation" no only about ADX, but also about +DI, -DI, DX, and ADXR. Nevertheless, that wasn't the worse, when I told to myself: "well, how can I calculate it", I found that I must purchase the "A to Z Companion Spreadsheet" to learn how to do it. I am very disappointed. Considering that was my first experience with this book, I don't know what else surprises I will find.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2012
This book is a great reference on the subject of technical analysis. It is well-written and contains charts with examples for each study. It does a good job of explaining each study that was prevalent when the book was written (2nd ed, 2001). Most of the illustrations and examples are from the 80's. The books strengths are that it explains the math behind each study and provides a spreadsheet of results. A companion electronic spreadsheet for each study is available for purchase. The only drawback to this book is that there are always new studies that you will not find in A-Z, but, particularly if you are new to technical analysis, I would recommend this book to help you understand the numbers and how each study is calculated. It is an excellent alphabetical study-by-study explanation for the beginning to intermediate level-trader or investor. Traders who follow fundamental analysis might also find this helpful if for no other reason than to understand the logic behind each study and how to interpret them on a chart.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2017
good reference resource
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2017
great reference to have around...i wish there was a revised version available.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 10, 2007
If you are looking for a technical tool reference book for your investing/trading library this is the one. This book covers (in alphabetical order) every trading tool I am aware of including the O' Neal CAN SLIM method, trend lines, volume, stochastics, Williams %R, every kind of moving average, candlestick charting, decline/advance, oscillators and just about everything else you will run across in trading stocks. The author gives an overview of the indicator, the interpretation, an example, then shows how to calculate it with the mathematical formulas used and a table for reference. I read this book from cover to cover and learned a great deal. I believe it is a must have for beginners if you are serious about using technical tools to time your trades correctly at proper buy points.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2015
This book is extremely technical and reads like a graduate-level textbook, which I suspect it really is. If you are an experienced trader or financial analyst this may be a good addition to your library, but if you are a relative novice to stock analysis and investing it's probably not a good investment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2016
I like to understand computer aids that I use in the stock market, this book gives me that plus some add on material that makes it more than I expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2013
Recently, I have been delving into the world of financial algorithms. I noticed that Matlab always referenced this book while defining various financial indicators, so I decided to buy the book.

While the book is a little old, it offers a great overview to the mathematics behind financial indicators. It is a great reference book for anyone who wants to know the mathematics behind financial indicators.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 1998
This book serves well as a one-shot reference to the vast array of technical indicators, and perhaps this is the only single book that can claim to have achieved this. The mathematical level is kept simple and accessible to all, even though I would have preferred to see more formulas of the complicated indicators that got skipped (like Swing Index). Surprisingly, the formula for the highly popular Relative Strength Index is not amplified on. Nevertheless, this is *the* starting book for the beginner as well as a means of introduction into more complex indices. The book introduces the reader to all fundamental market concepts and "forces" with amazing simplicity and lucidity without sacrificing accuracy.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon January 31, 2007
As the title says, this covers technical analysis (the analysis of securities based on price patterns) from A to Z, that is to say all the various approaches are covered alphabetically. Everything is covered but not in extensive detail. Each approach is covered in terms of an overview of the approach, an interpretation of the approach, and an example (generally with suitable graphs). No attempt is made to inject the author's preferences or any statistical analysis of the effectiveness of the approach. As such, this is more of a dictionary than a book on investment advice. This is not to say that dictionaries are useless, they are very useful, but they are not the same as a book on how to write. This book will tell you what the particular system is, not whether it is any good. Also, there are many variations of most of the systems and many different values for the parameters used by the systems, so other references will be required if you actually want to apply any of these approaches. The reader should be forewarned, however, that Technical Analysis is only one approach to the market. Many believe that this approach is little more than tea leaf reading and they rely on the analysis of the fundamentals of the balance sheet of the company and its prospects for future growth.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse