Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Listen for a chance to win STEM Limited time offer Handmade Last Minute Gifts Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon JCVJ JCVJ JCVJ  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
14
Techniques of Propaganda and Persuasion
Format: Perfect Paperback|Change
Price:$16.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on February 14, 2012
Techniques of Propaganda and Persuasion isn't so much about manipulating others as it is about protecting yourself from being manipulated. You may not believe it, but there are large corporations and governments who have a vested interest in launching covert assaults on your mind. They attempt to circumvent your normal logic and sensibilities. And, they're agenda is quite simple; to get you and your thoughts in line so that they can control you and profit from your gullibility. They accomplish this task through various techniques including false logic or false claims backed by a body of presumed know-it-alls. In many cases, propaganda and persuasion can be used to do good. This can happen when the task to be completed is one that benefits all, however sometimes these tactics are used to benefit only a selfish few. It is necessary, therefore, to prepare yourself to discern between credible and incredible sources and to recognize false claims when they are delivered to you, and this my friend, is the perfect place to begin your education.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 7, 2013
For those who are looking for an intro to historical as well as modern propaganda, this book is well worth the money. Excellent short explanations on numerous techniques with many propaganda posters from the last hundred years, as well as helpful end of chapter questions. I would call this one of those eye opening books that I find simply invaluable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 14, 2016
Superb book. Opened my eyes! No advertiser or politichian can fool me anymore. It's actually quite cool when you start recognizing their tricks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 9, 2017
A good, approachable read. I'd recommend for all Americans at the moment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 30, 2014
This book is rather thin. I read it in one setting. If using it for a lesson plan you could make 5-10 one hour lessons from it (about a week or two), or perhaps just skim over it in an hour, depending on how much discussion, side projects etc. along with the depth to be covered. The book is very basic in its explanations. It also uses world war 2 propaganda posters almost exclusively. I don't know if this was because they were easy public domain examples or what. I do find Nazi propaganda posters interesting (they also used American posters of the same era), but I thought the examples were a little incomplete. Why not show some examples of ads for soap or something?

It covers some methods on basic levels, and shows some really good WWII era posters as examples. Yet for an adult reader, it lacks depth. It is well written if you take it as a school book for a middle school student or maybe a low level high school student (perhaps 9th grade or something). Yet beyond that I wasn't satisfied with it. The cover is misleading. It looks like it might have something deep in it.

I am interested more in how people are being manipulated by every day propaganda and how to use propaganda in advertising your own products or services. I don't see any books that seem satisfying in that regards. Perhaps if they updated this book with more in depth analysis and a greater variety of ad examples it might do a good job of that, but at its current level its just too basic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 11, 2013
Psychological Operations. Techniques of Propaganda is a really fantastic book. I recommender for someone needs learning about persuasion and marketing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 23, 2015
Awesome book great price
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 5, 2012
From card stacking to glittering generalities to false dichotomies, this book does a good job giving you a lot of information, summarized well and quick and easy to read. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 11, 2011
I found this book to be very good. Very easy to read and understand. It is a great introduction and case study for someone that wants recognize the different types of propaganda out there. This book could very well save you from buying something in the future that you find out later that your really did not want. It would also be good for a marketing or advertising professional whos job it is to use propaganda to sell or further an agenda
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 24, 2011
It is really useful for teachers in terms of clear, simple explanations, providing useful images and examples and discussion topics.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse