Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,022 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,055 reviews
on January 7, 2013
This was actually disappointing. I hadn't realized it was very short excerpts from ten different erotic romances.

Series:
His Forbidden Touch (Stolen Brides, 2)
After the Fire (Hidden Cove, 1)
Just Perfect (Perfect, 2)
Lips That Touch Mine (Grayson Brothers, Book 3)
Justin (Tales of the Shareem, 7)
Hidden Crimes (Hidden, 3)

My Take
I believe, however, that the stated idea for this "novel" of excerpts is to provide the hottest bits from those novels. Like I said, the ostensible excuse provided. It's really just an enticement to get you to buy the actual novel/short story.

I don't recommend this book. Either buy the individual novels outright or borrow the actual stories from the library to see if you would like it. There just isn't enough in these to persuade me into buying more than a few.

The Excerpts
Shelly Thacker's "His Forbidden Touch" is an historical romance from the 14th century and pays no attention to mores of the time. This was a real turn-off for me.

Then there's the dorky inconsistencies: "fur had parted just enough to reveal the soft curves of her breasts, their rosy peaks taut." Okay, points for knowing the difference between "taut" and "taught", but if only her breasts' soft curves are visible, how can he possibly see those rosy peaks? And there are just too many of these idiocies.

Kathryn Shay's "After the Fire" is a contemporary romance about a pair of firefighters whose past romantic experiences have left them shellshocked. They have a child together, they live together, but they have made pact to not sleep together.

The little bit available to read was so melodramatic, although the sex scene was good. But it doesn't entice me into wanting to read more.

Patricia Ryan's "Heaven's Fire" is a twelfth-century romance with conflict over a teaching priest's attraction to a persecuted young woman in Oxford.

If it fell into my lap, I'd read it.

Julie Ortolon's "Just Perfect" is a contemporary romance about a doctor attracted to her ski instructor/head of Search and Rescue while she's on vacation. It's an interesting twist as both are attracted to each other and it's the man who slips up and confesses to love, although he does retrieve his position quickly.

It appears to include some rope bondage. I'd pick this one up. No, not because of the ropes. I like the twist.

Patricia McLinn's "The Games" is a contemporary romance between a biathlete and a hockey player. Ehhh.

Julianne MacLean's "Taken by the Cowboy" time-travel romance is kind of cute with Jessica Delaney unexpectedly taken back in time where she tangles with an Old West sheriff, Truman Wade.

This one's going on my check it out further list because it's about time travel. What can I say, I'm a sci-fi geek.

Wendy Lindstrom's "Lips That Touch Mine" is an historical romance also set in the Old West and presents a romantic conflict between a saloon owner and a woman on a temperance campaign. Only, she wants to know more about this vice she's against.

I did find Grayson's explanation of why a man goes out to a saloon quite believable, that when he's at home, he's thinking of all the undone chores and the family members or neighbors he should be helping whereas, at the pub, none of that is niggling away at him.

Allyson James "Justin" is a paranormal romance about male sex slaves. It is an interesting twist in that the women are the dominant gender. And, hey, it's Allyson James!

Emma Holly's "Hidden Crimes" is a paranormal romance from her Hidden paranormal romance series. I've already started reading this series and am enjoying it very much.

Lori Devoti's "Trust Me" is a vampire romance in which a dhamphir is hunting down the last member of a female vampire's bloodline. She's been feeding off her bloodline to increase her power and Henry Bisson intends to trap her and kill her in revenge.

Sounds interesting.

The Cover
I can't get excited about the underwear the girl is wearing, although that is all she's wearing...other than the boxer-wearing guy she's wrapped her legs around!

The title is to the point, for there are Ten Shades of Sexy in the ten excerpts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2016
It was an okay book. Not the greatest book. It is not really ten short stories it is more like ten different scenes from ten different authors. I believe just over half of them were well written, in my opinion the others were not very sexy or well written. If you are bored this might be an okay read, but it is not a highly recommended read by me. I believe they could have made them a little longer and added more details. Some of the scenes were a little dry as far as drama. I kept reading it hopefully the big middle or the big finish was coming. it would have been easy to put down though, I was just being more hopeful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2013
I thought this was an okay sampler, but I have to admit that I have raunchier tastes and I'm not turned off by a little vulgarity and smut. I think this stuff is okay for people who might like to get their toes wet in the erotica genre, but all but one of these stories weren't steamy enough for me. Some simply had too much backstory for it to purportedly be the steamiest scenes of the parent stories they came from.

I did like the one by Allyson James and did so so much that I actually purchased the first book in her Tales of the Shareem series - even though the one sampler came from the book Justin. But the rest of them just didn't have enough edge for me.

This one is free so if you like softcore erotica without all of the trash talk, this one is for you. While there had been a story or two that might have used more choice words, they were still pretty mild compared to the stuff I love reading from Ms. Violet Blue or even Rachel Kramer Bussel. Of the stories they came from, unfortunately none but Allyson James' appealed to me, hence the three-stars. There were ten stories in this sampler. For only one story to make me want to read the rest - that's a bit of a let down.

After seeing all of the one-star ratings, it bares reminding everyone that this is a sampler, people. It says it right in the introduction. It was supposed to cut straight to the chase. I understand that some people might feel let down assuming these stories ended so abruptly and mid scene. But that's the point, isn't it? They want you to buy the full-length story. Either way, this is free so no harm done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2012
This is basically ten romantic sexy sex scenes taken from ten different books and placed into one. Now if it was someone looking for ideas for a sexual encounter, then sure, this is your book, but apart from that, it was just not great moving from two different characters in one shade of sexy to two different characters in another chapter. Just wasnt a worth it read for me. I would rather a whole book with a proper storyline from beginning to finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2013
I gave up reading these excerpts after the third entry. These stories come from ten established authors from across the spectrum in romantic fiction. All the excerpts include one or more sex scenes designed to make the reader want to find out more. In general, the scenes were tamer than 50 Shades, and most were better-written efforts, but I did not leave this book wanting to read more by any of the authors. I am not generally a lover of romantic fiction, and don't pretend to know the genre or authors of the present-day field, so I'm not a great one to judge. However, I wrote several scathing reviews of "50 Shades of Grey," and received quite a few demands that I look at other authors of erotica to see how the good ones do their work. It was a fair recommendation and I followed it. I read several books and found that "50 Shades" was a freak phenomena and much of erotic fiction is very well written and entertaining. In my opinion, as a non-convert, none of these excerpts presented narratives compelling enough that I'd want to go out and purchase the full book. But again, as I said, I'm not a devotee of the genre and may not be the best judge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2013
If this is a review of a cross section of a variety(10) different soft porn / romance novels then it also reflects what is also common in the industry available in video form . . . probably not as poorly done but barely making the grade. Literature like this is dime a dozen and does little to improve the quality-- Quality being a measure of an author's ability to draw in the reader and hold attention without resorting to teenage mores and idioms. If a "romance" author really is interested in high quality that will result in big sales he / she must do the things only one or two of these authors strive for: lead into a scene with considerable word foreplay that creates the mood but surprises the reader with a voluptuous love scene all while not using curse words, obvious artificial circumstances, or contrived emotions. These 10 stories / excerpts range from ultra poor to fair in quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2013
As a brand new Kindle owner I was looking for something FREE to download for the first time and chose this. Forty or fifty years ago this would have been largely considered as "pornography." Now with changing mores it is more "art." It is ten episodes of men and women swept up in passion with "shadowy swirls of light moving across the bedroom ceiling" and "throbbing bodies crying out for each other" and characters "taken down to the ultimate depths of desire." Nothing more. Little plot, admittedly and purposely. I would characterize it as syrupy sex of vague depiction, perhaps written for the unloved reader who's seeking something similar in life. Ten great examples of sexual activity flying just below the editors' X rating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2017
Haven't read yet so can't give a good review
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 31, 2012
As explained in the synopsis, this is a compilation of 10 excerpts from steamy romance novels. I thought they did a good job of telling you where the novel/characters stood in preview to each excerpt so everything made sense. I also liked the idea of just skipping "to the good parts" to get a feel for whether you liked a given author's style - kind of an easy preview if you're shopping for a new romance author to read.

As is to be expected, some of the chapters I enjoyed, others weren't to my taste, and couple I thought were rather terrible. Altogether though, it was fun to skim through and a great way to get a feel for who might be worth reading in the future.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2017
Wonderful product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here