Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Look Park Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports
Listen for $0.00 with
Join Amazon Prime now
You get unlimited access to over a million songs, curated playlists, and ad-free stations with Amazon Prime.

Tenacious D [Explicit]

September 25, 2001 | Format: MP3

Join Amazon Prime to get unlimited streaming of this album.
$9.99 to buy
Song Title
Popularity Prime  
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: September 25, 2001
  • Release Date: September 25, 2001
  • Label: Epic
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 50:35
  • Genres:
  • Format: Explicit Lyrics
  • ASIN: B003YOASY2
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 323 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #8,150 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

By Chris Peters on February 17, 2002
Format: Audio CD
I haven't laughed this hard in a long time. Jack Black and Tenacious D are definitely a beautiful thing. Witty, insightful, sometimes rude but always talented - kinda like Barenaked Ladies with some bite. This album is mostly some tight, 3-minute songs intermingled with short comedy skits, all from TenD's HBO specials. The humor is definitely dark and twisted, with lots of nasty words and black situations. I personally love it, and the band certainly shows that they can make some jokes without the nastiness. One skit has Jack and guitarist KG going through the drive-thru - Jack makes an impossibly long order, then berates KG for taking 30 seconds to order 2 things. Jack then asks KG to pay for it, and when they don't have enough money, Jack tells them to "cancel the last two things in the order." Hilarious.
Yet hiden behind the humor is some outstanding music. I don't understand what problems people find here - Tenacious D has no problem moving from 80's metal to rock opera to love ballad, all in a single 3 minute song. Their technique is rock-solid, and their writing is amazing. One song even had a snip of Bach on the classical guitar! Jack Black's vocals are crystal clear with an amazing range, almost like Jewel in that JB can twist his voice into sounding like 3-4 different people, and KB can absolutely wail on the guitar, and play any style you can think of.
Most of the songs were produced for Tenacious D's HBO specials, and if you haven't seen them, some jokes won't make as much sense. For example, the song "Lee" refers to an obsessed fan who hangs out way too often and knows more about the band than they know themselves. So, they decide to turn the tables on Lee, and start obsessing about HIM, haha. "Skinny-dipping in a sea of Lee/I proposed on bended knee" is the line that I always lose it on, and the video definitely shows some wackier stuff, liking invading Lee's house at 3am to discuss socks. Check it out.
Comment 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
Even before this CD came out, I was a big fan of Jack Black as an actor. But when I heard about this comical rock album coming out, I was a bit reluctant about buying it. But I mustered up the courage to pay for it and was pleasantly surprised with the CD. In fact, it's one of the best CDs I own. JB and KG (Kyle Gass) are brilliant rock geniuses that sing songs of love, heroes, politics, and none other than; Satan. And although the two main guys are Black and Gass, other popular musicians do appear (i.e. Foo Fighters' Dave Grohl, Phish's Page McConnell, Dust Brothers, and Steve McDonald). Here, for anyone who doesn't believe, is a short overview of the 21 tracks (14 songs, 7 skits).
1. Kielbasa - starts off the CD with the line 'dude we gotta fxckin write something here'; letting us know they're singing without a care in the world. The song is hilarious, and very catchy.
2. One Note Song - it's not really a song; it's more of a skit, as JB devises a plan for a song containing only one note (with a bendy).
3. Tribute - aka "the Greatest Song in the World". Here's an excellent tale of JB and KG on a hitchhiking trip in which they run into a demon who asks them to play a song for him. It was a single, and with good reason.
4. Wonderboy - this song kind of sounds like a comic book story. Two characters are introduced: Wonderboy and Young Nastyman, two enemies who later form the band Tenacious D. It was the first single, although not the best.
5. Hard Fxcking - here's a skit about hard fxcking. Pretty funny intro to...
6. Fxck Her Gently - this is a 21st century love song that talks about what women really want during sex. It's very good, and as JB says: 'fellas, listen closely'.
7. Explosivo - this one is a short song with some catchy lyrics and music.
Read more ›
2 Comments 81 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
I bought Tenacious D on the basis of one track that I listened to off my friend Mike's CD. It made me laugh myself sick and wake up my parents. A few months later, my faithful service as a customer to the BMG Music Service allowed me the chance to order it for free. So I did. I popped it in, and heard one lyric before I was laughing so hard I couldn't hear the rest of the song. I knew that I'd got my money's worth... well, you know what I mean... I did pay for shipping and handling, after all.... Bah... backed into a corner....
Well, needless to say, if you check my record, I don't review much music on this site. I mostly stick to movies and occasionally books. I could probably count on one hand all the albums I've reviewed, most recently James Newton Howard's score to "Signs," which goes back to movies ultimately. I never stray too far from my chosen profession. But I decided to make the exception for Tenacious D. This is one of my absolute favorite albums. A collection of songs, satire, and humorous musings put together simply for the purpose of good old fashioned entertainment that makes you laugh. And if you understand who Lee is, and Dio is, you laugh even harder; you're in on the joke. But make no mistake about it: This music isn't for everyone. It's rude, crude, vulgar, profane, and totally hilarious. The satire is there for us to find, but you kinda have to look around a bit for it. It's sly, except for the last track, "City Hall." But to simply call it satire masked in rude obscenities is to completely miss the intelligence of the album, which uses its satire very wisely and uses very well done music to communicate the humor in the lyrics even better. Anyone can write lyrics that are good, but without the music to accompany it, they suffer in the translation (i.e.
Read more ›
Comment 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?