Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $59.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$14.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 169 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 314 reviews
on September 28, 2015
The book is good, an enjoyable read and I'm powering through it fast. Racks up the tension and then doesn't let go, but has that wonderful slow start that establishes everything that this guy is known for.

Only problem I have so far is the Kindle version is atrociously edited. Names, and even random words, change spelling, are randomly hyphenated at one point and then spelled normally the next, dialogue gets bunched together awkwardly when it's clear there should be breaks or indentations, random spacing occurs between words where it has no place, and entire sentences get seperated mid sentence into 2 seperate paragraphs.

The book is a great read, but get a paperback if you can. Don't download the Kindle variant unless you can't find a physical copy, like I had to.

I'll rate the book 4 stars because it deserves it, but don't buy the kindle variant. I almost feel like it detracted a little bit from my overall enjoyment.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2017
Lincoln Child, half of the famous writing pair of Preston & Child fame, crafts a great pseudo-science monster story here. Interesting characters (though perhaps not terribly deep) matched with a historical X-Files style mystery lead to a great page-turning read. I love these two writers and I think Child handles monster stuff more adroitly than Preston but both of them have their strengths. Child's ability to vividly describe the Arctic setting really brings the reader into the story. If you're looking for a fun one-off book to read and love horror or science fiction/horror, you'll enjoy this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2017
And i liked that it took over half the book before the reader got a glimpse of the.monstrous creature. The slower place was a relief after all those books in which activity happens every few seconds.

It gave me time to get to know characters and the landscape.

I will read more by this author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2017
I just recently discovered Lincoln Child and am so glad I did. His books are very interesting, and so creative. I am now reading the Third Gate. Terminal Freeze was very enjoyable. Editing was a little rough - though I alway attribute that to the transition from the written page to digital. At one point a character is in a very suspenseful situation and we are told that he put his ears over his hands - sorta broke the mood for a moment while I laughed out loud. He is a wonderful author, totally enjoy his work and look forward to reading more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2015
I love this author and this is another great story. It keeps moving and keeps you wondering. I really like that he references characters from his other novels as well as from the Pendergast series. In this case, he references Frock from the Relic and his Calisto effect theory to explain what is happening at Fear Base. The character of Logan in this novel also goes on to two other novels. Using characters across stories gives the reader some continuity and makes it seems like they are one story, but just different scenes in the character's life. The ending was left kind of open for interpretation by the reader about what happened to the monster and how it came to be.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2017
Thanks s an intriguing story, somewhat believable, somewhat fiction. Left me wondering what might be frozen in the wasteland of the arctic.

Well written, consummate story teller. Keeps you on the edge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2017
It was an okay book.I just needed some light reading for vacation travel and it fit the bill. If you want a fast read that doesn't challenge your brain, this is the book. If you want a deep, thought provoking read, this isn't it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2015
Like a high-tech movie, this book had great effects, but was predictable. One minute, a person is petrified with fear, watching a monster kill a friend, and 15 minutes later, the person is having a normal conversation. Unrealistic, but a fun and fast read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 4, 2009
I continue to read Child's material even though it does get formulaic at times but can't that be said about many of our favorite authors? Isn't that how they hook us in the first place with a character or style? In "Terminal Freeze", Child combines a number of weird elements in an inhospitable and isolated environment with somewhat predictable characters from central casting that somehow unite and coalesce to create an entertaining and suspensful thriller that can be riveting at times.

A small scientific expedition is studying the effects of global warming (what else?) in the desolate and inhospitable arctic region at the top of the world when they discover a large dangerous looking prehistoric beast encapsulated in an icy glacier. Almost instantly, the large media conglomerate that is sponsoring the research team sends a number of quite predictable media types to the scene to film a docu-drama by cutting the frozen beast out of the glacier and thawing it before a nationally televised audience (can you spell Geraldo Rivera).

The obsessed director, Emilio Conti, his stuffy corporate lawyer, and a diva media star soon make life miserable for the scientists and the handful of guards stationed at the base. Suddenly, plans go awry when the beast disappears and everyone is accusing everyone of the theft until visciously destroyed bodies begin to pile up around the labyrinthian base along with "sightings" of something so fantastic as not to be believed.

Evan Marshall, a paleoecologist, guesses the truth and ultimately enlists the aid of an old and mysterious Native-American shaman to help solve the mystery. Along the way, there is a lot of scientific mumbo-jumbo, characters becoming fodder for the beast,and credible suspense all within an increasing atmosphere of claustrophobic foreboding. A parallel thread opens as a large group of the survivors attempt to escape across the desolation atop a frozen lake in a huge truck pulling a large trailer full of people--all the while that Marshall, the scientists, a few soldiers, and a handful of the zealous film producers remain behind to confront and kill(or film)the beast.

"Terminal Freeze" is a fun uncomplicated read that at times becomes a suspensful page-turner. Of course, as always, it requires a modicum of suspension of disbelief but if the reader is looking for a relaxing well crafted novel that builds creepy suspense and features characters lost in an isolated wilderness, stalked by the unknown, and utilizing every resource to protect themselves, then "Terminal Freeze" should do the trick.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2016
Jeremy's roll in the story is much more reserved than future novels such as The Forgotten Room so if you're anticipating a Logan lead investigation of this North Pole mystery don't buy this book. On the flip side, Child works a lot of very cool things into the the ebb and flow of this thriller, some great history, science and mysticism, along with a very disdainful look at "documentaries" and reality shows. All and all a satisfying read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse