Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 2,710 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 4,510 reviews
on August 4, 2016
Watched this gem and original ground breaking franchise film with the daughter.. it still holds up decades later (although the music really doesnt)... It's really a good lesson in global filmmaking.. There's very little dialogue for the first 30 minutes really.. and you can see how the genius of its production and marketing expanded upon a global market... Sure, there's a few logic plot holes in the story line.. but who cares... it was so clever and unique with the sci-fi... take away all that and its just a really good action crime drama.... Nice to see girls with big bushy hair dos again too... Linda Hamilton was is still such a babe
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2013
This Blu-ray is the new remaster of The Terminator. It's worth the upgrade for the picture quality alone--but I'm not getting rid of my older Blu-ray for two reasons: One-the older Blu-ray is grainier and rougher looking (exactly the way the film looked in the cinema in 1984) and Two-the new remaster does NOT have the original mono mix. I'm normally not so picky about audio mixes but the original mono mix is the only version where the metallic scraping can be heard in the music. All remastered audio versions of this movie's soundtrack have mixed the scraping out. The original mono should ALWAYS be offered! But the picture quality on this new disc is to DIE for! Sweet!!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2016
The Terminator never gets old. I saw the first time it came out and have probably watched in once a year on average since. This movie proved what films could achieve with good acting, good directing, and good make-up artists. They didn't need no stinking CGI. Compared to its successors, The Terminator seems crude. It's that crudeness that gives it the realism all the Terminator movies, sans T2, lack. Man against machine. The tension never lets up. 30+ years later, The Terminator still holds up as one of the most influential and potent sci-fi films of all time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2012
The Terminator has been one of those movies that I've been a fan of since the 90's, and it seems like with age, you end up loving it even more. With Arnold Schwarzenegger's movies, I consider this among his absolute best, second only to the mighty Total Recall.

It's also interesting to note that if you ask around a lot of Terminator fans, most will tell you that Terminator 2: Judgment Day is their favorite movie. If you would have asked me this question about 10-15 years ago, I would have concurred with the consensus on this. However, after some deeper thought about the two movies, I now consider the first Terminator my favorite because compared to the sequel, the first Terminator movie has a much stronger sense of tension and urgency.

STORY

In the relatively distant future (2029), a nuclear war has wiped out most of humanity. However, armies of anthropomorphic machines and cyborgs are dead-set on eliminating the survivors. The genocidal machines send a Terminator (Arnold Schwarzenegger) to Los Angeles circa 1984 to kill Sarah Connor (Linda Hamilton), the mother of human resistance leader, John Connor. The human resistance sends a resistance fighter named Kyle Reese (Michael Biehn) to infiltrate the Terminator and save Sarah.

CHARACTERS

What makes this movie such a great one is the characters. Sarah steals the show since she's very easy to relate to, since she feels like a real person. When she's faced with impending death by the Terminator, she understandably acts scared as hell and when she meets Kyle Reese, she initially thinks he's a maniac, even when he saves her from the Terminator at the Tech Noir club. Kyle is great as the "hero" of the movie because much like what John McClane would help establish in the mighty Die Hard several years after this movie, he's not unstoppable and is faced with grave danger that forces him to act creatively. He knows that the Terminator is much stronger than him, and in the beginning, is even doubtful that he can destroy it since he's restricted from the high-tech weapons he had in the future, and is forced to fight with sawed off shotguns and homemade pipe bombs.

Arnie did a great job as the Terminator. The Terminator lives up to his name, and is one terrifying entity that could easily make him among the best antagonists in film in the last thirty years. He has no emotion, can't feel pain, and is virtually unstoppable. It's also really menacing to see him murder people, especially unarmed women.

STORYTELLING

One of the things that really helps out this movie is how James Cameron has the story told. Through some scenes of exposition, such as when Kyle has to explain to Sarah what cyborgs are and what his life in the future was like, they didn't feel like the "designated spots" where exposition is done. Especially with Kyle explaining to Sarah what cyborgs are, he does so in a really cautious and quiet manner, since he knows that the Terminator is looking for him.

The logic behind time travel is not only established well, but like any good movie, the story and characters actually follow through that logic. An example would be with time travel. Only organic masses can travel through time, thus why the Terminator and Kyle arrive naked when they come into LA circa 1984, and when Kyle explains to a police psychiatrist why he couldn't bring back any advanced weaponry back to the past.

ACTION SCENES

With this movie being a sci-fi action/thriller entry, the action movies are top-notch.

Since the characters are developed well, these make the action scenes that much more tense. Among the best scenes in this has to be when the Terminator enters the Tech Noir club and finds Sarah Connor. You see Kyle emerge and fire many shotgun shells into the cyborg and it doesn't stop him. Also, this scene helps establish how much of a cold, ugly entity the Terminator is when he ends up gunning down a few people at the club during the firefight.

Let's not forget the iconic scene where the Terminator assaults the police station Kyle and Sarah are kept in. This scene marks how terrifying the Terminator is since not even over two dozen armed police officers could stop him, and shows how creative Kyle is when he's faced with danger and isn't in a position to fight.

The action scenes also show Sarah and Kyle as vulnerable characters, which make you root for them even harder as the movie runs. Kyle gets shot a few times and towards the end, gets worn down from all the combat to where Sarah has to push him into "snapping back into it."

The chase scene near the end also enhances the Terminator's characteristic of being unstoppable and of Kyle's creativity, since the Terminator survives a head-on collision with an 18-wheel tanker truck and Kyle has to see if one pipe bomb can stop a cyborg driving a tanker truck.

CINEMATOGRAPHY

Adam Greenberg's cinematography for this was perfect. The shots of at the time current day Los Angeles look gritty and claustrophobic, helping to enhance the feeling of dread and tension in this movie. I thought it was perfect to have the final fight take place in a factory loaded with robotic assembly machines, helping to further the feeling of industrialized, metallic terror.

SPECIAL EFFECTS

While some special effects have shown their age (such as the walking Terminator skeleton near the end and of the Terminator's face when one of his eyes are damaged), other effects still look good today. I though one of the best-looking effects in that movie is when the Terminator does some self-surgery on his arm after getting in gun battles with Kyle, and you see the inner workings of his cyborg arm. This was simultaneously gross and impressive to look at. Even with the effects that could have aged better, the special effects overall help the movie greatly than harm it.

SOUNDTRACK

Brad Fiedel's soundtrack for this movie is one of the best I've ever heard in cinema, whether it be live-action or animated. Some may complain that the music is "dated," but I think it matches the tone and style of the movie perfectly. Most of the music on here is made from keyboard synthesizers, and all of it is instrumental. The soundtrack perfectly shows that a genius with minimal resources can make something brilliant. The mechanized, metallic beats and dread-laden synth-layers are superb, especially in the scenes where Kyle has a flashback to when he fought giant war machines and automated gunships and during the end fight in the factory.

MATURE CONTENT

This is not a movie for the kids, since there's quite a few scenes in the beginning with male nudity, some scenes of nasty gore, and a tastefully-done sex scene between Kyle and Sarah.

FINAL WORD

The Terminator is easily among James Cameron's brightest jewels in his filmography. If you don't have this movie in your collection yet, get it now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2016
I love the terminator that is all and for you guys to have it like this and I can watch it any time. I love it. I only wish your server wouldn't cut or shop or jerk the image to bad, but other then that I have it in Blu-ray if I want quality. Just saying that Netflix is not the only one doing it. I thought it was my network, but YouTube come in clear. Weird
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2017
Loved this DVD. I saw the first Terminator years ago and loved it. Now, I have this DVD and can watch it often. It still is the greatest movie I have ever seen as far as science fiction is concerned. Never get tired of it. Arnold Schwarzenegger is awesome!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2012
This movie is awesome, and if all you want to do is to watch the movie this edition is just fine. The picture and sound are great, and you can choose between the theatrical and extended special editions, as well as a third cut that has two more deleted scenes (including a different happy ending) if you enter a code (82997) in the menu.

Where this edition fails is with the special features. The packaging advertises 8 hours of features, but it's a complete lie. Those features are not on the disc, they're on the internet. If your player isn't connected to the internet, you'll never see them. From reading other reviews, however, it seems that disconnecting your player from the internet does give you a better experience with this Bluray, because it prevents the painfully long loading process as "Skynet" takes control of your player.

Despite the low cost of this edition, if another Bluray edition is available with the extended cut of the film and with special features actually on-disc and in the box, then that other edition would be the version I recommend.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2016
After all these decades it still stands up well. The story, with it's thread of humor, and sparkle to the dialogue is unlike the sequels and almost any other action film. That's probably because of how much work went into the screenplay. I read in a magazine that the writer worked on the screenplay for two years, because of delays in the budget by financiers. That's a long time for a screenplay. The result is a really stand out movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2017
I think the point of these reviews for physical copies of films or TV shows is really for packaging and possibly the different (special) features that may come with different "prints" of said movies or shows.

Why else would you give anything less than 5 stars for something that you spent time/money watching and are now spending more money to watch over and over again almost indefinitely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2014
I bought a previous version of Terminator on Blu-ray, and it was awful. It looked no better than the muddy old DVD. This updated version, however, gets an unqualified recommendation. The picture typically looks just about brand new, with a cooler color scheme that pulls back on the pinks/ reds from previous versions and matches T2. The red and blue Tech Noir encounter still looks less than stellar, but new detail can be found everywhere in the film, and the print is pristine. There's no saving the optical effects (they'll get around to it eventually if the elements still exist), and that latex Arnold head isn't any more convincing in HD, but it's safe to say Terminator looks better than it ever has before. I'm giving this disc 4/5 because a) all the special features are in SD and were in the older versions, and b) you can bet that a new disc with new HD extras is just around the corner. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse