Amazon Business Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Luxury Beauty March Birthstone Shop Popular Services westworld westworld westworld  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Trade in and get paid instantly Shop Now STEM

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 21 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 22 reviews
VINE VOICEon March 5, 2013
"Terminator Planet" by Nick Turse and Tom Englehardt is a good introduction to America's secret drone program. The book consists of twelve articles published between April 2009 and May 2012 with light editing and postscript. This eye-opening book should interest everyone concerned about America's military-industrial complex and its stranglehold on our democracy.

Mr. Turse and Mr. Englehardt provide excellent background material about what is known about the program. We learn how drones were imagined to play a significant part in supporting America's strategy for global hegemony. We begin to understand the sprawling complex of bases, training facilities and command-and-control centers that keep the drones in the air. The authors discuss how these Terminator-like machines have proven useful in projecting power in the Middle East and other flash points deemed critical to American empire.

The authors pull no punches as they critique this highly dubious enterprise. Fundamentally, drones represent the latest in a long line of high-tech solutions that to date have failed to cure America's fatally flawed foreign policies. Death and destruction by remote control tends to alienate populations and thus causes more (not less) socio-political instability. As the current generation of drones are not as advanced or reliable as commanders wish they should be, the authors fear yet another costly international arms race. Regrettably, the drone program appears likely to remain with us for years to come inasmuch as drones represent the kind of low-cost, ultra-controllable option the military establishment desires.

I highly recommend this important and timely book to everyone.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2015
Great (in an awful way) information about a subject not well understood by, oh, 99.99999% of the population (including me). We can choose to accept what we're told as truth, which it is, SORT OF, but take away the picture of the real situation that we're fed by the a) government b) press c) politicians d) et. al. and there's a "lot left over". That is, we're given a partial view of a sliver of the truth and told that's all there is to it. Then we spend time arguing whether that partial story is to our liking or not. The REAL story is MUCH more complicated, and MUCH different than the public version, and is, really, the ONLY one that "counts". If EVERYBODY knew what was really happening, the discussion might take a completely different turn, and decisions by OUR "elected officials" COULD be very different (or we'd have different "elected officials", in an ideal world). We should ALL read this book and then decide if this is the world we want.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2013
The USA has been carrying out "targeted killings" of "terrorists" using drone aircraft piloted by airmen sitting safely in a building halfway around the world from where the drones are striking. These are touted as "surgical strikes" implying that they kill only the person or persons at whom they are aimed. It isn't so and this book explains why not very accurately and concisely, and how we are creating the next generation of terrorists by killing women and children as well as terrorists with them.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2016
The first thing to understand is that about 30% of those who came back from Afghan and Iraq frontline alive were due to drones operations. Old men start wars, and young with young families have ti fight them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2012
Terminator planet tells it like it is...
It provides great information,is fact filled.
Refreshing to see facts presented & their sources named,for a change!
If you want to see the future, read Terminator Planet - the future is now...and looks like it's only going to get worse for those on the receiving end of the Drones....
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2016
The definitive study of a troublesome topic. For anyone tired of the military mantra and so-called law and order, this book provides a wakeup.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2013
Watch the T.V. and you're suspposed get the feeling that Obama Invented Drones...WRONG..Read this Book and get caught up on the History of Drones...A must read if care anything about our Killing Machines..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2015
The author is definitely in the anti-drone camp, and spends way too much time making movie references and not enough on the history of drone development, which he totally skipped. Don't waste your money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2013
The two prolific authors have compiled the most detailed and pointed blog entries from TomDispatch.com in the last two years, or so, edited and revised in this POD volume for cohesive and salient reading. While the Terminator analogy is apt, Turse and Engelhardt emphasize that, despite the difference between the technology's reach and its grasp, a lot of human misery and political damage can still result in the arrogant attempt at closing the gap.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2012
This is a great write-up dealing with the buildup of US drone warfare. Really, this issue is not being discussed enough in most media circles.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here