Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$23.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 16 reviews
on August 14, 2015
Great recipes
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2011
I bought this book in conjunction with a Le Crueset Stoneware terrine as a Christmas present. The book arrived in excellent condition. I love the photographs and the recipes look simple and delicious. I love that it's an up-to-date reinvention of a classic technique.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2015
Great ideas
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2010
I bought this book just to have all of Reynauld's materials. I now have a couple of terrine pans and a frezer full of fantastic leftovers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2014
nice beautiful book!
love it so much!!!
good recipes.
This book is my inspiration in the kitchen.
best recommendations for people who fond of cooking!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2008
I love the rustic feel of M Reynaud's previous book (pink gingham anyone?). The pictures make me feel like a friend invited to a boucherie and his recipes are extraordinary. Along with the River Cottage Meat Book and the Fergus Henderson books, this counts as one of my favorite charcuterie books.

Terrine explores all types of terrines.. cheese, vegetable, meat, sweet.. The pictures are clean and beautiful and the recipes are brilliant. I've had the book for a little under a week and I've had the chance to cook several of the recipes with my restaurant staff. I am impressed once again with the simple and rustic look of some of the recipes and have been inspired by what M Reynaud is presenting.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2014
From rustic to elegant, this book is a home run.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2012
Beautiful book, with inspirational recipes and photos to explore and try. A few criticisms though.

I just scanned through the entire book and all the recipes said "fill a terrine." Little more. No mention of what size of terrine, and no mention of terrines in general (is cast iron more advantageous than porcelain, for instance, and what about lining the terrine with plastic film or tin foil before cooking, and so on -- things I've learned about from other recipes on the Net and in books that can be applied to all).

Finally, all the way on page 167 at the back under NOTE, I see, "Unless otherwise stated, all recipes are suitable for a standard 25 x 10 cm rectangular terrine" (about 9 3/4" x 4"). Problem is, this isn't a common size for terrines, and there's no mention of capacity. The ONLY terrine commonly available in the U.S. that meets this dimensional relation roughly is the Revol Belle Cuisine 35.25 oz Terrine With Lid, which has a capacity of about 1 quart, so why didn't he also say 1 quart terrine and make it easy on everyone? (Several terrines hold about 1 quart but few if any other than the one I cited fit those dimensions/proportions, and in fact Staub and Le Creuset 1 1/2 quart terrines are shown in some of the pictures but would be 1/3 too big for the recipes.

This is really important stuff to know unless you own several terrines in various sizes and can then size up which best fits your ingredients, but even then it's just simpler for books on terrines to state at the beginning which size fits the recipe.

This is pretty important information that should have been at the front of the book in a general introduction that also included some text on equipment, and maybe even a little on the history of terrines, but you won't find that here.

If you're looking for the best book on terrines to date, try to find a clean used copy of Patés & Terrines.

Perhaps before buying this book you might want to make a few recipes using online recipes from Saveur or America's Test Kitchen, and then invest in some actual terrines if you choose to.

Based on the sizes stated for recipes in Saveur's terrine recipes over the years the common sizes to buy would be:

* .6 quart / 2.5 cup / 20 ounces (or double the recipe to use a 1 quart terrine)
* 1 to 1 1/4 quart / 4-5 cup / 32-40 ounces
* 1.5 quart / 6 cup / 48 ounces
* 2.5 quart / 10 cup / 80 ounces (cut recipe in half and use a 1 quart terrine)

But from all my sources collectively, the most common sizes you'll need are about:

* 2.5 cup (Staub, Revol, Emile Henry)
* 1 quart / 4 cup (Pillivuyt, Revol, Emile Henry Vegetable Terrine)
* 1 1/2 quart / 6 cup (Staub and Le Creuset)

Unfortunately the Emile Henry terrines (which streamline the classic shape from Apilco and come in colors like red, yellow, "nougat" [off-white], and "figue" [purple]) aren't imported into the U.S. but can be bought overseas and shipped, or sometimes found on eBay at about double the price they sell for in France. The smaller size can also be bought in Canada, but not the stretched version called the "Terrine à légumes" (vegetable terrine). Same exact thing just about twice as long, and both with a nice press with a vertical handle unlike the flat press in Le Creuset's 3-cup stoneware (ceramic) terrine easily available in the U.S., if a bit dowdy looking.
22 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2015
Don't waste your money. Subpar pictures and recipes. Nothing new and invented- nothing old, classy, & cool.... Very boring.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse