Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 194 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 687 reviews
on July 24, 2016
2003's Texas Chainsaw Massacre is jaw droppingly incredible. It blows the original away in my opinion (which is already incredible). Everything about it is perfection. The performances and direction are top notch which is the key. This movie is so intense and terrifying with absolutely no let up that it will stay with you for days. Unfortunately this movie started a chain of remakes that pretty much all suck. If you're going to do a remake this is how its done. Some remakes have surpassed the originals. John Carpenter's The Thing, the 1988 The Blob, The Fly and even Zack Snyder's Dawn of the dead if you can believe that. This Texas Chainsaw massacre ranks with John Carpenter's Halloween. That's how great it is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2017
I dislike horror movies. But it was Halloween. And my boyfriend likes this movie. Well made, good suspense. Made me angry at the characters, though there were a few with good heads on their shoulders (at least until they died.)

I will note, my boyfriend fell asleep and only woke up when I'd jump/yell at the stupid people. But he falls asleep in almost every movie soooo...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2014
This film goes back to the dark, realistic roots of the franchise and delivers an original and refreshing take worthy of bearing the title of the original 1974 horror classic! I definitely enjoyed this film all the way through! The acting is phenomenal and proves how you can have a main cast of young, good looking fresh faced actors without sacrificing talent, charisma, or effectiveness. The story, while different from that of the original movie, is very well written and orchestrated, keeping you interested and on the edge of your seat from the very beginning! I highly recommended this movie to TCM fans and horror fans alike! A solid 4 out of 5 stars!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2017
A classic story that can be a part of any small town that is off the beaten path. Great deal through Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2017
Great Product. Great Price. Recommend again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2017
Not bad good for a little spooky night
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2004
While I fully appreciate and respect the tastes of others, let me just say I have no idea why the original is held in such high regard. It was truly one of the worst films I have ever seen. Nothing happened in it. There was ZERO suspense or excitement, the dialogue was barely audible and it felt like another half of it was missing. I hated it and I am so puzzled why so many people love that film.
Granted, back in 1973 it may have been easier to scare audiences and the low-budget nature of the original may have contributed to the ugly look of the film but I see no reason to credit the original director (Tobe Hooper) with any of the film's so-called qualities. The man's career fell flat on it's face soon after and I think his most famous movie was something of a fluke. It would not have succeeded today. Obviously, as I just said, audiences today are exposed to a larger number of movies and can choose and discriminate more easily. There are some who will say the only people who can enjoy this will be degenerate teenagers who don't know what real horror is. And some who will call the film to glossy. But none of this I find fair criticism.
I am, in no way, a fan of Michael Bay or any of his movies. But he had the right idea in keeping the budget very low for this movie ($8 million) and seems to be more skilled in packaging and producing than directing. The film is not 'glossy' or 'clean'. The equipment use to make the film is more sophisticated than that on the original but this is not 'The Rock' or 'Armageddon' and there are no hundred-shots-in-a-second and flashy camera tricks. They all tried their best to pull of a nervous, raw horror film that stands on it's own and I think they have.
This was sooooooo much better than the first. The characters actually HAVE character this time. I got on their side, I got involved in the action (yes, there is action this time, and a LOT of it) and the acting was done well. Plus Jessica Biel is VERY hot.
So many new dimensions and situations occur is this remake that elevates to something a zillion times what the original was. Don't automatically think that because Michael Bay is the producer that it's going to be some kind of sanitised and fashion-shoot Hollywood production. It is still a very edgy and intense film. It's rare that a Hollywood film manages to horrify and offend these days, so I'm very glad the new TCM went for a hard R-rating. The tone is so filthy and depraved that you will definitely need to shower soon afterwards. THAT'S how close you get to the action.
Even the character of Thomas 'Leatherface' Hewitt has a lot more to do this time. He's not quite Jason Voorhees but he's still an incredibly mean bad guy you'd NEVER want to mess with or come within 10 miles of. And in case you're wondering, he's played by the same dude who played Butterfinger, the big, dumb blonde guy from Hudson Hawk. Only this time he's not so cuddly.
Not since 8mm almost 5 years ago have I seen a film where the bad guys (there's more than one) are nothing but the blackest of all evil. R. Lee Ermey was terrific (as usual) as the disgusting Sheriff and any fans of him should only expect the most badass of performances.
Second to Dawn of the Dead (and tying with House of 1000 Corpses) this is one of the best horror movies I have seen in a long time.
The Platinum Series DVD is just awesome. The 1.85:1 anamorphic picture is superb and the Dolby 6.1/DTS ES soundtracks are incredible. You'll really think Leatherface is chainsawing his way into YOUR living room. There are also a massive load of interesting extras including a 75-minute documentary, deleted scenes, a documentary on serial killer Ed Gein (who was 'supposedly the inspiration for the original but Tobe Hooper denied these rumors) and screen test footage. The packaging is awesome with a metal plate stuck on the front cover and 'crime scene' photos in a little envelope tucked into back. It completes a great package of a great DVD of a great movie. Buy it!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2015
The serial murders of Ed Gein inspired several movies including The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, making the film a graphic depiction of Antisocial Personality Disorder. For more, check out our 52in52 blog at https://www.mededportal.org/icollaborative/about/initiatives/52in52 or follow me @ATobiaMD.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2016
Pretty good remake
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2008
i personally dont look at this movie as being a remake. because if youve seen all of these chainsaw movies youll know they often times use a different sick and demented family of cannibals to tell the same basic story of some unlucky people getting stranded or whatever in the middle of nowhere and crossing paths with these familys. then it becomes a disturbing terror fest of screams blood and gore while they try to escape. so basically they all could be called remakes in a way with the exception of part 2 which kinda carries over from the original with some of the same family members and the beginning which is a prequel to the remake obviously with the same family members. but anyway i personally love this one. in fact i love every chainsaw movie so far with part 3 being my favorite. i love how they portray these crazy familys. and with that being said r lee ermys character sheriff hoyt just rocks hes so sick but so funny at the same time. if you like this one and havent seen or heard of the beginning check it out he plays him in it to where he is also sick and funny. id recommend watching it first giving the name obviously you get to see how the family got that way and a disturbing look at how leatherface was born.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse